Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Long Beep During Acer Aspire 5741 Boot

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Long Beep During Acer Aspire 5741 Boot within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have not dismantled any part of the laptop but did connect my mobile via USB during bootup and now


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2012, 02:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7 64 bit Home Premium SP1

My System

Question

I have not dismantled any part of the laptop but did connect my mobile via USB during bootup and now always get long beep on boot. Continuous beep can only be silenced by pressing power button. (Similar symptoms to solved tread of same title.) If I repeatedly do Ctrl-Alt-Del it will then continue boot sequence.
Laptop is encrypted with SecureDoc FDE so next step in boot sequence is to login SecureDoc. This works OK.
When presented with Windows User Login the password is filled with hidden characters. If they are all backspaced then I can enter password and login. This suggests a stuck key but when check by opening Word all keys function correctly.
What is likely solution to resolve long beep at login?

__________________
Topflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:14 PM   #2
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello Topflyer and welcome to TSF,

The keyboard contains many keys that do not create characters in a word document. Were you able to test these keys for functionality? (shift/tab/F-keys/WinKey/etc)

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7 64 bit Home Premium SP1

My System


Thanks gavinzach for the suggestion. I have now checked every key on the keyboard and they all work as expected (except the Insert function of course - there is MS Support tech solution for that but I do not want to have overwrite function.)
I have removed SecureDoc boot login screen and also decrypted the whole disk to eliminate that as a source of problem - no change.
I have also accessed Win tools (Ctrl Alt Del on start-up brought up boot options repair etc. I ran boot repair twice and no fault found but not solved the long beep on start-up.
The password still fills with chars when I come to Win login. Backspace them and enter password works.
Is there any possibility that there is a software problem that generates chars like a stuck key?
Is there any utility that I can run to test k/bd?
__________________
Topflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:26 PM   #4
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Well, any software issue will not affect POST/pre-boot. If I read the initial post properly, then you are getting the beeping long before Windows loads, no?
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:46 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7 64 bit Home Premium SP1

My System


Yes. Beep is sounding as soon as power is on, before any boot sequence appears on screen. The screen is blank at that stage.
It does still look like a sticky key. Is there any way that I could eliminate the laptop keyboard i.e disable ist totally and rely on a USB keyboard to enter details on boot up?
__________________
Topflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:19 AM   #6
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

You can remove the keyboard from the system I am not 100% certain with your system, but with other Acers I have worked on, they usually have a removeable button panel/hinge cover and the keyboard fasteners are just underneath it.

Be careful when removing the keyboard, there is not much play in the cable and you will need to release the ZIF connector on the motherboard to remove it.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 11:11 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 4
OS: Win 7 64 bit Home Premium SP1

My System


Hi, thanks for the suggestion but it appears that I have resolved the problem. The SecureDoc security software has a boot control. Having removed encryption and the boot control and then reinstalling it the problem has been resolved. I conclude that the SecureDoc boot control had become corrupted. The problem first occurred when I plugged my phone in via USB just as the PC was booting up and that is probably what caused the corruption.
Thanks for you comments and encouragement .
__________________
Topflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 11:12 AM   #8
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

You are welcome, thank you for letting us know what the problem was!

Glad you have it sorted!

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Music and videos take too long to buffer
I use to could be able to watch videos and listen to music, and download at optimal speeds, I could even watch HD if I wanted to, but now all of a sudden (starting at least 3 weeks ago) videos, downloads, and music seem to run super slow no matter what quality I have it on. It takes 5 minutes to...
talion2595 Networking Support 98 04-04-2012 11:29 AM
[SOLVED] Help please - Windows Explorer has stopped working right after boot up
Hey everyone, I would appreciate some help! Right after I boot up my computer, I get this message: Windows Explorer has stopped working (I use Windows 7 32bit) Problem details Problem signature: Problem Event Name: APPCRASH Application Name: explorer.exe Application...
Xul666 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 03-06-2012 10:45 AM
Gateway Laptop won't boot past gateway logo
I have a gateway w350I laptop with windows vista 64-bit. When i turn on the computer, it starts to boot but then stops at the gateway logo. It says press F2 to enter bios and F10 to enter boot menu, but both do nothing. I tried inserting the Windows Vista Recovery Disc, but still nothing. I...
peterd611 Hard Drive Support 2 03-06-2012 03:30 AM
aspire broken sceen using monitor
hi could you help please? i have a acer aspire with a broken screen and i have been using a monitor, i have just recovered my system and now the monitor is not working, i cant do anything as i cant see anything, is there anything i can do??
dannyxj220 Laptop Support 3 03-05-2012 03:42 PM
New Motherboard Boot Issues.
Hey guys, I thought I would make a post on here to see if there are any computer whizzes that browse and help people on here, I keep my hopes high. Anyway, onto the problem. I recently purchased a HP Comaq DC7100 CMT Motherboard for my new case. Anyway, so I connect everything up and it powers...
DarylJones92 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 15 03-05-2012 03:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts