Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Laptop's display works randomly, external screen always

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Laptop's display works randomly, external screen always within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have this problem which drives me mad for some time already. Hope you know more than I. (And


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2010, 07:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Win7 32bit


Arrow

Hi,

I have this problem which drives me mad for some time already. Hope you know more than I. (And sorry for my imperfect English.)

I was using my laptop Lenovo T61 (1440x900) with an external monitor Dell 2209WA (1680x1050) and everything worked just fine - all the combination of primary/secondary screen, only external, only laptop's monitor, both the same picture, or a wide screen over the two monitors.

Suddenly, this problem appeared. Laptop's monitor does not show any picture in 90% of cases. Sometimes it works fine, but just occasionally. Usually it shows neither the first bios splash after turning on, nor Windows 7 running afterward. On the other hand, external monitor works always - sometimes omitting the splash screen but always showing Windows running.

I read a lot already. Back light seems ok, inverter too - as I said, the monitor is working sometimes. And even when it is not, I can seen it is on. I tried BIOS update, without success. Then in BIOS, I checked the display options and could see that it is set to External VGA, so I changed it to Thinkpad LCD, restarted but the External VGA is there again.

In Windows, I installed the newest drivers for Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M, installed the driver for laptop's display, without success. On FN+F7, it is switching, but only from "only external" to "only external" - I can see it switching but nothing changes. Screen settings in Windows is correctly detecting the external screen, but for the laptop's screen most options are disabled. Before installing drivers it said it was a non-pnp monitor. Now it says it is a "mobile PC display".

Hope I wrote everything necessary. Please help.

Martin

__________________
martas is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 08:02 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



next time the screen goes off shine a torch onto it and see if you can see the expected screen dimly in the background

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 01:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Win7 32bit



Thanks for the answer. I used the torch, but there is nothing. I can see the backlight shining a lot, certainly enough to backlight the display. But the screen is set to show only black color. I am not a hardware professional but I suppose the screen is ok. It is just receiving a wrong signal or no signal at all.

Btw I forgot to tell you that I reinstalled Vista with W7, hoping it will solve the problem. And it worked, only for a few restarts, unfortunately. Now it is as it was before.
__________________
martas is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 12:34 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try it with just this one installed

Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 04:40 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Win7 32bit



You mean just after the installation of windows? Tried, but without success.
__________________
martas is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 05:44 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
Do you have this installed?
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...cid=MIGR-67364

See the Summary of Changes.
I think it descibes your issue.

Also please see the Installation Instructions as you need to install other applications prior to this one.

Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 02:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Win7 32bit



Thanks, I doubted the result, but tried that. And again, for the first turn on, it worked, then it did not.
And these partial successes are what puzzles me. It tells me: it is not hardware. But the rest, that I reinstalled windows vista with 7, and flashed bios, rules out the software cause.

It seems one part of the hardware - nvidia chip, display electronics or something else - is somehow sensitive to the software changes (which causes the short successes).

Let me know please, if you have some idea. At least, I would like to understand.

Thankfully, there is still some warranty remaining so I will have to have it repaired (and wait for it). Then I will report what was the cause.
__________________
martas is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 01:43 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Win7 32bit



The cause was the motherboard. The guy told me he could not track the problem more specifically. It was replaced and everything works just fine.

Thanks for your advice!
__________________
martas is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 02:53 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Martas,
Thanks for letting us know and posting what was done!

Bill

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts