Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] HP g62 restore factory image problem

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] HP g62 restore factory image problem within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an HP G62-107SA notebook, when I press F11 on startup it takes me to the recovery options page


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2012, 11:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
hamishgillan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London (Bangkok)
Posts: 298
OS: XP pro service pack 3, Vista Home premium, Windows 7 home premium.



I have an HP G62-107SA notebook, when I press F11 on startup it takes me to the recovery options page but the option to restore factory image is 'greyed out' only microsoft system restore is an option. I want to restore to factory settings what can I do....

Hamish Gillan, Thank you for any help2.

__________________
hamishgillan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 11:48 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 48,569
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Did you bother to make a recovery disc today all manuals give the advice and instructions on how to do it if your answer is no can you do it now the other option is to contact HP who will send you one for a small fee

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 12:33 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
hamishgillan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London (Bangkok)
Posts: 298
OS: XP pro service pack 3, Vista Home premium, Windows 7 home premium.



thanks, have ordered disks from hp, did not make recovery disks as i did not know it was an option. strange though the recovery partition seemed to 'evaporate', think this computer was a refurb though .
__________________
hamishgillan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 10:28 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 48,569
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Glad your getting sorted if refurbished some one could have reinstalled the os and not considered the recovery partition and formatted everything, personally I think it a very dumb move but there is no accounting for folks
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 03:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
hamishgillan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London (Bangkok)
Posts: 298
OS: XP pro service pack 3, Vista Home premium, Windows 7 home premium.



well the recovery partition used to work but but the partitions seemed to be empty, perhaps the data was deleted by mistake while i was not around, not to worry.

when i receive the dvds from HP i plan to rip the files and put them on a thumb drive as they do not scratch like dvds. Do you think windows will load from a thumb drive to reinstall windows I wonder.....

thanks
__________________
hamishgillan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 03:03 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
hamishgillan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London (Bangkok)
Posts: 298
OS: XP pro service pack 3, Vista Home premium, Windows 7 home premium.



still lamenting a little though because re installing from a recovery partition is the best.
__________________
hamishgillan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 06:53 AM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 48,569
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi you can check if the model you have is set up to boot from a usb drive look in the bios and see if usb is listed under boot device or boot order
this may also help Install Windows 7 From USB
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 09:05 AM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,205
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


There really is no real difference in using HP Restore disks vs Recovery Partition except the dvd drive takes longer. But that will also rebuild the Recovery Partition as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamishgillan View Post
still lamenting a little though because re installing from a recovery partition is the best.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 03:32 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
hamishgillan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London (Bangkok)
Posts: 298
OS: XP pro service pack 3, Vista Home premium, Windows 7 home premium.



Thank you for the help.
__________________
hamishgillan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:36 AM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,205
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Quite welcome!

__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Asus G53jw-3de Factory Restore
Hey guys I very recently started encountering some performance issues with my Asus and I was wondering if I could get a little help. I would like to do a factory restore but I can't figure out how to do it. When I searched in google for answers I was told to press F9 on startup and select...
posdrums Laptop Support 8 08-01-2012 08:59 PM
How to Factory Restore your Computer
How to Factory Restore your Computer This tutorial will guide you on how to do a system restore on your Windows computer. Below make sure you read and follow only the tutorial that matches your computer. If an error occurs during the restore process, stop the process and post in the appropriate...
Masterchiefxx17 Windows XP Support 0 03-24-2012 08:11 PM
For Ried
Hi there is a attachment ark.zip with 'dds' and 'ark'. . DDS (Ver_11-05-19.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_13 Run by Owner at 22:01:08 on 2011-05-29 Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600.3.1252.1.1033.18.959.243 . AV: McAfee Anti-Virus and...
Nela09 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 78 06-09-2011 07:32 PM
factory restore
Hi I have an emachine 4685 windows XP. How can I restore to original factory settings? Any help would be appriciated. I lost my cd to the computer but it does have factory restore partiton.
julie8548 Windows XP Support 1 01-24-2011 03:24 PM
How do i restore my desktop to factory settings?
My SONY VAIO has numerous amount of viruses on it. Its a PCV-7762 and i cannot find anywhere how to restore the system to factory settings. I do not have recovery disks either. pressing f8 doesn't give me an option to restore it and f10 or f11 does not work. please help me if you can :wave:
danele91 Windows XP Support 1 01-14-2011 08:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts