Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Compaq Presario V5000 notebook. No sound

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Compaq Presario V5000 notebook. No sound within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have no sound, and " No Audio Device " is displayed in ... sound ... control panel. I have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2012, 08:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: XP 3



I have no sound, and " No Audio Device " is displayed in ... sound ... control panel.
I have recently reinstalled the operating system. I have tried lots of things with no luck. Any help please.

__________________
Rodneyb333 is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 08:20 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Have you went to the HP website look for the model number for your compaq and Windows version for drivers for the audio?

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: XP 3



Quote:
Originally Posted by JackBauer_24 View Post
Have you went to the HP website look for the model number for your compaq and Windows vnd cardersion for drivers for the audio?
Yes, though they don't actually list my model. Any nearest driver downloads produce a message ' No Media Device found ' I am wondering about the sound card. Grateful for any help.
__________________
Rodneyb333 is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:30 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,677
OS: windows 7

My System


have you tried windows update? their should be a sticker on the bottum of the laptop for the model number. putting v5000 brings up 21 results. here
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 03:12 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: XP 3



Yes I have done that ... widows is fully updated. Wondering about the sound card. Many thanks though Still getting ' No Audio Device ' in Control Panel.
__________________
Rodneyb333 is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 03:14 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,677
OS: windows 7

My System


could you give us the full model number of the notebook?

To open "Device Manager", right click on "My Computer" (Computer in Vista/Win7) select Properties, On the Hardware tab Select Device Manager, if you see any yellow question marks, right click on the device and select properties, on the Details tab select Hardware IDs copy the PCI/VEN and DEV numbers
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 03:08 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: XP 3



Thank you but I have already done that. Compaq Presario V5000 Notebook.
I had reinstalled a Legacy Operating Systen. Sound drivers come as Legacy in Device manager and says they are working okay Still says no .'Audio Device ' in Control Panel I do appreciate your attempts to help.
__________________
Rodneyb333 is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 09:33 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,677
OS: windows 7

My System


run everest and post the first half of the report. can get it from my signature. then paste it here.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 07:52 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
OS: XP 3



Many many thanks for all your help, but it has now been fixed. Apparently a problem with the sound card. maybe not seated properly. A friend here helped.
__________________
Rodneyb333 is offline  
Old 03-18-2012, 07:59 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,677
OS: windows 7

My System


glad you got it sorted

__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Wireless Connection on One System
Or some reason my desktop can't connect to my wireless network at all. Every other device in the house will connect just fine but this desktop either won't connect or will only connect with a very slow, intermittent speed. I don't know how I would be able to post an IP Config because I'm having to...
RedSwirl Networking Support 81 04-25-2012 05:20 PM
Used to be able to play BF3 on HIGH with no problems, now stuttering even on low
Hi, I bought a Lenovo y570 about a month ago, and I had been playing BF3 off and on since I bought it. It ran smoothly on all high settings with no problems. I didn't play for about 2 weeks, and then tried playing again. Now, on auto settings, the play will be perfectly fine and then the...
zdecke PC Gaming Support 16 03-31-2012 02:54 PM
HELP..Chevy S10 pu have no power
I have a 2001 Chevy S10 PU 4.3 liter engine. I am only getting gas in injectors 3 & 5. I have replaced injectors and still no power! any thoughts??? :banghead:
Jeff shaw Automotive Support 1 03-16-2012 06:57 AM
No power to Desk top Computer
I have installed a new power supply and still nothing how do I test my on off switch can you re boot it without this
harpur 1 RAM and Power Supply Support 2 03-16-2012 06:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts