Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Compaq Presario V3000 No display, 2 Beeps

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Compaq Presario V3000 No display, 2 Beeps within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I left my laptop on overnight and in the morning it appeared to be in standby mode except it won't


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2008, 07:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP


Exclamation

I left my laptop on overnight and in the morning it appeared to be in standby mode except it won't load back into windows. When I turn on the computer, the lights come on, i can hear the fan, and I can open the CD-ROM drive, but there's no display and no startup. I also hear two beeps. Anyone know what this could be?

__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 09:36 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

hi laka777,

2 beeps AFAIK when going into Suspend/Resume is normal. do a power cycle and see if you get the beeps. check your power settings (suspend/hibernate).

TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 10:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



hi trigger,
Thanks for the reply. Can you be more specific? I tried holding the power button to shut it off, taking the battery out, unplugging the power, then putting hte battery back in, plugging it in, and powering it up. It still had the same result of 2 beeps, LED on, no screen, can't get past POST it seems. And how do I check my power settings?
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 10:40 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
hi trigger,
Thanks for the reply. Can you be more specific? I tried holding the power button to shut it off, taking the battery out, unplugging the power, then putting hte battery back in, plugging it in, and powering it up. It still had the same result of 2 beeps, LED on, no screen, can't get past POST it seems. And how do I check my power settings?
regarding the power settings/power options in the control panel, you need to have screen first. if you do not see anything on the screen, i do not think you can make the changes. hook it up with an external monitor and see if you get something on.

about the beeps that you get is it a one long beep and one short beep or 2 short beeps?
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 11:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



its 2 short beeps.

and i've tried hooking it up to another monitor. I don't think that the screen is broken. I think it's just having trouble loading windows.
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 12:04 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
its 2 short beeps.

and i've tried hooking it up to another monitor. I don't think that the screen is broken. I think it's just having trouble loading windows.
so you mean you got a screen on another monitor? the 2 beeps may point to a video card going bad. so if you get a screen on an external monitor then your video card could probably be good.

working on that assumption that it has 'trouble loading windows', you can validate this if you try to boot using your CD drive. Insert your XP installation CD on the CD drive and boot from there. if you get something on your screen, then it could be on the hard drive. however if you still do not get anything on the screen (LCD or external monitor), then may be you have a dead video card on your hands.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 12:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



ah i see... i dont get anything on the external monitor. so what are your recommendations? should i go to best buy and look for a laptop video card?
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 12:48 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



and do we know that its the video card for sure, with the assumption that i did all those steps correctly?
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 12:53 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
ah i see... i dont get anything on the external monitor. so what are your recommendations? should i go to best buy and look for a laptop video card?
check your laptop specs if the video card is integrated. if it is, then you are looking at a motherboard replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
and do we know that its the video card for sure, with the assumption that i did all those steps correctly?
all symptoms indicated point to a video card. it would be best if you have a similar laptop that you can swap parts with just to be thorough.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



i do have another laptop... my moms but i dont want to mess anything up. would you be so kind to walk me through the process? hers is an hp with vista tho.
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 03:09 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
i do have another laptop... my moms but i dont want to mess anything up. would you be so kind to walk me through the process? hers is an hp with vista tho.
i really doubt if the video cards are exactly the same or if they would fit. the same is true for the motherboard. btw, have you checked if your laptop has an integrated video card? if it is integrated, you cannot just remove it and swap with another one as it is soldered on the board. you will need a new motherboard if that is the case.

in the absence of a similar laptop to swap parts with, the best option is to bring it to a repair shop. they may have the tools and extra parts that they can use to identify the failing component.

EDIT:
looks like you have an integrated video chip. you may need a motherboard replacement after all.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 03:10 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



alright ill bring it to the shop first thing monday
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 03:18 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
alright ill bring it to the shop first thing monday
just have them diagnose it first (some shops offer free diagnosis, others charge a minimal fee). they will tell you their conclusion and i think will match ours in this thread. they will also tell you their estimate (which most likely is pretty expensive), so before jumping in to let them do the repair, consider getting a new one.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 07:59 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



It might not be the videocard... After fooling around with it, I remembered that the computer shut off because I forgot to plug the power cord the night before. When I gave it power, it'd give me the symptoms: 2 beeps, led on, fan spinning, but no display and can't come back from standby. In order to turn it off, I'd have to power down by holding the power button for 5 secs. The funny thing is if I unplug the power cord from the laptop and plug it back in, it'll start up automatically. I'm really puzzled ........
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 08:50 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
It might not be the videocard... After fooling around with it, I remembered that the computer shut off because I forgot to plug the power cord the night before. When I gave it power, it'd give me the symptoms: 2 beeps, led on, fan spinning, but no display and can't come back from standby. In order to turn it off, I'd have to power down by holding the power button for 5 secs. The funny thing is if I unplug the power cord from the laptop and plug it back in, it'll start up automatically. I'm really puzzled ........
it's good news then if you were able to narrow it down to something else. could it be the RAM perhaps? it really depends on what BIOS is used (AMI, Award, Phoenix, etc.) for your laptop as each one has its own meaning of the two beeps. it may mean a bad video, a bad RAM or who knows .

if it is not the video card, it would be best if you can replace/reseat the RAM modules or test them in another laptop so you will know if they are causing the 2 beeps with no screen at boot up.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 12:12 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



i think i need to do a CMOS reset for the laptop, do you know how to do that?
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 12:44 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
i think i need to do a CMOS reset for the laptop, do you know how to do that?
i am not really sure because it depends on the laptop. check the user guide or the service manual for your laptop model may be you can find info on that topic there.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 01:08 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



Basically the new symptom that is probably the most informative is that as SOON as I plug in the power to the machine, it boots up by itself. But i doesn't appear to be booting... I think it's just failing to come back from standby or something like that.
__________________
laka777 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 01:13 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by laka777 View Post
Basically the new symptom that is probably the most informative is that as SOON as I plug in the power to the machine, it boots up by itself. But i doesn't appear to be booting... I think it's just failing to come back from standby or something like that.
if i remember you said previously that you would bring it in for repairs. did the repair shop give any diagnosis on the problem?
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 01:16 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western MA
Posts: 69
OS: Vista / 7 / XP



they're closed on weekends. i will first thing tomorrow...

__________________
laka777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts