Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] clevo m761su bios recovery?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] clevo m761su bios recovery? within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have a clevo m761su that his bios was badly flashed/upgraded and it didn't booted anymore.. any trick to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2012, 03:39 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Hi,

I have a clevo m761su that his bios was badly flashed/upgraded and it didn't booted anymore.. any trick to boot from usb stick or cd in a phoenix bios recovery action? i don't own a usb diskette..
i can't get it to boot from usb stick or cd. it seems to boot from cd, or maybe only read from it, but then it just stops. problem is also that bios comes in 2 parts, EC and BIOS. in a recovery action should i just use BIOS file? from what i've read around this issue might be caused by flashing bios without flashing EC before. But previous owner couldn't give really specific details on flashing procedure.. furthermore i dunno where i can get previous bios version to recover.

help appreciated. thanks.

__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 12:24 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



See the info here please read through Clevo BIOS thread - Page 99

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:08 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Yeah, i already read through that. His solution was de-solder BIOS and re-program it.
That's exactly what i'm trying to avoid. It's cheaper for me to buy a new board.

Thanks anyway.
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:11 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi no it does answer yor question on which part you do first ec then bios can you access anything to do with the bios (just making sure )
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 11:07 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Hi,
My guess is that BIOS was flashed without EC, already based on that thread.
I can't access anything, even caps lock doesn't work, but like i said before, the laptop seems to boot from CD, i tried burning a cd with FULL bios update, and obviously nothing happened cuz there are 2 files to flash. According to phoenix recovery you should just use one file, the bios ROM file and rename it BIOS.WPH.

But i can't find earlier bios versions, or any other, clevo ftp site is not opening any files, and when i try to access from root i can't even find ALLBIOS directory..

Thanks.
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 08:17 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Have a look here Clevo motherboard BIOS updates downloads
it may prove fruitless as I'am sure you know a bad bios flash can brick the machine and be carefull I only found that site never used it
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 08:56 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Thanks for taking the time to search, but the link provided has no download links available.
If it does, I'm sorry, but i fail to see where.
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:57 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi sorry about that so far anything I find is either fake or leads to websites which set off my antivirus
even trying it a Sager\Clevo or Clevo M761su sis 671DX 1.00.11
and I cannot see a bios update on the clevo site anywhere
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 10:11 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



That makes 2 of us.. lol
I decided to buy a used board, and in the future, i was also thinking of buying another, but broken, to remove the bios and replace it in this board.
Can you help me identifying the BIOS chip? It's not easily identifiable in the board.

Thanks for trying to help me with the recovery mate.
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 10:13 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi from what I saw it was sis as in my last post I did see intel mentioned on a couple of threads in the earlier link
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 10:37 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



I didn't understood your answer. SiS is the chipset, intel is the processors supported on the board. Your earlier link also refers to award, and the bios is phoenix.
All i want to do is identify the chip on the board.

Thanks.
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 11:32 AM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



The bios is phoenix as to the chip on the board you might check the manual or look for a service manual CLEVO - Download
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 12:20 PM   #13
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



did you try with these Clevo BIOS thread - Page 94
EDIT clevo - 6-71-m74s0-d05a ou w76xs - 6-7p-m74sa-001 - esquema e manual de serviço - positivo z85
see if this is the correct service manual,if not search scribd.com
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:05 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Can you download from those links? Cuz i can't..
Quote:
EC firmware 1.00.18 for M74xSU and M76xSU only :
ftp://usftp.clevo.com.tw/ALLBIOS/M7xxSU/746SU_EC18.zip

System BIOS 1.00.12 for M74xSU/M76xSU/M77xSU :
ftp://usftp.clevo.com.tw/ALLBIOS/M7xxSU/BIOS_12.zip
As for the board manual, it's similar, but not the same, although it would suit perfectly to identify the BIOS, if it was identified, but it's not. lol

I'm gonna be honest with you friend, i'm a close friend with some of the staff that works in a re-branded clevo laptops (similar to Sager) re-seller/supplier, and even their technicians can't identify the bios chip.. But then again, they don't need to, they have replacement boards supplied to them.. In my dictionary those aren't technicians, they're simply parts replacement operatives.. No wonder they all call me for the real challenges! I'm not bragging I'm so good, just stating, i try harder.. lol

Thanks.
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:20 PM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi links work fine so the issue is at your side as to the chip I will try my level best to try to get info any way I can but sometimes it is just not there and the days of me going to dodgy sites is long past,Maybe someone else will look in with some suggestion
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:33 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



Thanks for all the effort mate. 1 more favor..

If it's not too much bother, can you download me a couple of latest and earlier versions from ftp://usftp.clevo.com.tw/ALLBIOS/M7xxSU/ (all for M761SU, M746 won't work (SiS GPU vs nVIDIA GPU from 761)) of BIOS and EC, and upload it for me?

Thanks again.
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:41 PM   #17
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



I will try
Attached Files
File Type: zip 746SU_EC18.zip (538.9 KB, 79 views)
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:49 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Learn2day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,962
OS: Win7x64 SP1



that's not compatible friend. 746 won't work, it needs to be 761
__________________
Galaxy Note - Nexus7(2013)
Samsung NP530U3C-i5 3317U|HD4000|8Gb|128GB SSD+24GB iSSD
Samsung NP550P5C-i7 3610QM|630m 2GB|16GB|180GB SSD+1TB HDD

Try Harder!
Learn2day is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 04:45 PM   #19
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,089
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello...

I cannot access the site from here (work) but there is a generic Phoenix Recovery method outlined on BIOSMAN. (at least it used to be there). If not, I will check when I get home or can leave detailed Phoenix recovery steps.

:: BIOSMAN Inc ::BIOS Recovery
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 06:56 AM   #20
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,859
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Can I point out you asked for that one also have you check scribd.com for schematics that may help with your other question

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] getting into bios
hi ya all ..hope some one can help...ive dug out an old computer from the loft to use on my new smart tv so i can streem movies etc ..ive just fitted a new cpu which is better but i cant find the right button to get into the bios.. system specs AMD ATHLON 64...
rustyweasle Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 02-23-2012 03:27 PM
Computer keyboard Not working in bios and ubuntu
my keyboard works well with windows 7 but on bios and ubuntu it work like rubbish. when i press spacebar it types "zxcvb" when i press up button it response with other buttons +enter button when i press backspace it highlights what is written and do other commands. it takes time for me just to...
Jibarah Laptop Support 5 02-21-2012 09:07 AM
PC Stuck in the BIOS
Hello, I have an NVIDIA i695 motherbord, Intell core2 duo, bios= phoenix-AwardBios v6.00pg, etc. The pc will not finish post. The first page displays, and shows the bios version, cpu etc. and recognizes the hdd and dvd drives. "press DEL to enter setup, esc boot menue, alt+f2 AMD flash" are...
michaellbb Motherboards, Bios & CPU 12 02-20-2012 08:52 PM
GA-990FXA-UD3 rev. 1.1, bios settings and heate problems
So here is my problem. i have a ga-990fxa-ud3 with an 8150. I've been having heat issues on the northbridge and the cpu. running any torture test causes the temps on both to rise FAST. the one thing i noticed was that my voltages are set to auto in the bios (everything is pretty much where it was)...
toki891 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 9 02-20-2012 11:01 AM
cannot factory restore- cannot get past windows error recovery
I am just about at my wits end with this. My computer will not load past windows error recovery page and I have read and tried all of the options i can find. I just want to to get my laptop to factory restore but when i try to do that i cannot get past the repair your computer button without it...
VictoriaChaplin Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 02-20-2012 09:50 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts