Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] BSOD: XP install on Vista Laptop

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] BSOD: XP install on Vista Laptop within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. HI again guys... im in the process of instaling XP onto a new laptop which came with Vista. this is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2009, 08:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



HI again guys...

im in the process of instaling XP onto a new laptop which came with Vista. this is actually my 2nd time doing it, purely because the 1st time around things didnt go so well, and i want a perfect running Audio system.
heres my problem..

im installing XP PRo onto a partition using an XP disc with slipstreamed SATA drivers. it worked ok 1st time around, but 2nd time around it gets to about 70% installed, does the usual reboot.. and then Blue Screens right after the system boot.ini page.
i should also point out that on the boot page it mentions all older versions of XP for some reason..

just to reiterate, heres the timeline of what ive done..

1. laptop with Vista preinstalled
2. XP installed, some driver problems causing messy audio
3. Full Vista recover, with Asus disc. to get rid of all the crap
4. XP install, including partition format, BSOD after reboot about 70% into the install..

im guessing its a driver problem, because of the nature of installing XP with the slipstreamed drivers, however the install process begins, so it must be recognising everything ok.
same result in Safe Mode btw..

any ideas on where i could start to sort it out? i can post the error details if need be
thanks for any help.
r

__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 10:54 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Are you using XP SP2 or higher? If not, try slipstreaming SP2 also. I got less problems with my XP SP2 install CD.

Also since you are slipstreaming anyway, try to add the chipset and video drivers for XP.

TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 07:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



thanks for the reply TriggerFinger..

The version of XP is SP3..
ill try slipstreaming those other drivers thanks and post back details.
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 07:32 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


HI,
What is the make and model of this laptop?
What is the error you are receiving?
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 10:19 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

And if you can run HDD diagnostics and RAM diagnostics just to rule them out the better.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 04:43 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



hey thanks for the replies.
the laptop is an Asus G17V.
i got the Xp drivers from here:

http://www.croftophile.fr/index.php?...6&os=1&x=7&y=2

can i ask, ive extracted the files from the Chipset installer, but i really have no idea which one is the right one to slipstream. any ideas which one would i use?

the chipset is Intel Pm45..

im in the process of slipstreaming
ACHI: iaAHCI.inf
Chipset: IntelCPU.inf
Video: nv4_disp.inf

im not so sure the last 2 are correct..
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 05:44 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



ok, so i received another bluescreen at the same point:

im not sure how to get the error details, as its during an OS install. it could still be a driver problem, as i said in the previous post, im not exactly positive on what files i should be slipstreaming.

Vista still works perfectly so is there still a need to run RAM and HDD diags?

thanks again for the help.
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 06:23 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


HI,
Is this the driver you are using:
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...ition&lang=eng
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 06:27 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



yes within that download, ive been using the aAHCI.inf file there..
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 06:39 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Slipstream ALL the contents of this folder to your XP CD.
These driver are for XP 32bit.
I would not recommend slipstreaming any other drivers to your OS (Chipset Video). You can install these drivers after the OS is installed.
Is your XP a 32 bit OS?

Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:01 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



same problem !! grrr..

ive tried both the 'single driver' and 'multiple driver folder' option in Nlite.
its weird because it has worked before.. by just adding the one driver.

thanks tho for your help so far BCCOMP

XP is 32bit yes.
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 04:01 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Are you Slipstreaming these files to a "NEW" CD (XP qwith SP2 and the Sata Driver)

Are you following this program?
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...-installation/

I would also not use SP3 as TriggerFinger pointed out.

Do you have the option in the BIOS to set the SATA drive to IDE or non ACHI mode?

Are you trying to Dual boot Vista and XP?

Nine times out of Ten either you are not slipstraeming the driver correctly or the file you are slipstreming is corrupted

Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 07:52 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



thanks again for the reply.
i have been following the steps outlined in that tutorial exactly as he did it.
and yea i am hope to dual boot Vista at some point..

ill keep toying with it anyway thanks.

edit: i should point out that the boot page after XP install shows all the past XP install attempts... does that sound healthy? or should i have to do something about that?
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 08:18 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



apologies for noobness here.. but im not so sure if im looking at the right place in the BIOS, but its the only place that mentions SATA..these are my only options..

Advanced>IDE Config>

HDD Free Fall Protection : [Enabled]
SATA Operation mode : [Enhanced]

AHCI Port0 [HardDisk]>>
SATA Port0 : [Auto]
S.M.A.R.T : [Enabled]
AHCI Port1 [ATAPI CDROM]>>
SATA PORT1: [Auto]
AHCI Port4 [HardDisk]>>
SATA Port0 : [Auto]
S.M.A.R.T : [Enabled]
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 08:21 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Yep it sure looks like it. Why?
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 08:23 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



who what when? :D

that random BIOS post was in reply to
"Do you have the option in the BIOS to set the SATA drive to IDE or non ACHI mode?"

i guess i posted hoping that something meant something there!!
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 08:35 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

If you have the drivers needed for SATA, you don't have to change anything. You only change these (if you can change them), if you do not have the XP drivers for the SATA controller.

EDIT:
In post#6 you said you slipstreamed the following with XP..
Quote:
ACHI: iaAHCI.inf
Chipset: IntelCPU.inf
Video: nv4_disp.inf
I am not sure if those are the correct files but I believe they lack some other files as well.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 12:27 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by BCCOMP View Post
Nine times out of Ten either you are not slipstraeming the driver correctly or the file you are slipstreming is corrupted
and you wouldnt be wrong!! ive sorted it out..
the disc i was installing from had a bunch of included drivers already, that was causing a conflict.

so there was a different installer option that had just barebones.. and it worked with just that installer and SATA drivers.
thanks again guys for the help.

im sure we'll talk soon ;)
__________________
stjohn is offline  
Old 04-02-2009, 05:25 AM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi stjohn,
I am glad to hear the Sata drivers worked for you!

Be sure once XP is installed you install the drivers correctly with the Chipset Driver installed first!

If you need more help just let us know.

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 04-02-2009, 05:30 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
OS: XP



yep...Laptop working at 22 uSec latency on DPC checker. soundcard not even flinching with loads of midi and audio tracks...

im a happy camper!!
cheers guys

__________________
stjohn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts