Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Acer Laptop Connected to Network yet no Internet Access

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Acer Laptop Connected to Network yet no Internet Access within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Acer Aspire 7720 that has had no problems connecting to any wireless network until about 2 weeks


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2008, 11:15 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 3
OS: Vista Ultimate



I have a Acer Aspire 7720 that has had no problems connecting to any wireless network until about 2 weeks back. It is running on OS Vista Ultimate SP1

What changed? I bought a Dell Inspiron 1525 (what I'm typing on). I also bought several licenses of NetNanny to install on both my laptops (and two desktops). I also use Network Magic on all of my laptops and desktops.

This Dell connects fine to all of my networks (at home and other places). My Acer won't connect anywhere. I'm actually out of town visiting my Dad and connecting to his network.

Here are a few more facts that might help clue somebody into what might be my problem:
  1. Looking at "Network and Sharing Center" on both laptops shows both connected to the "myhome" network and to the Internet.
  2. Pinging a URL from Acer results in message, "Ping request could not find host www.acer.com. Please check the name and try again.
  3. Pinging a URL from Dell works as expected.
  4. The Acer's AV software (NOD) will update the virus definition file and Windows Update will download and update from the internet.
  5. It is simply the browser and pinging that won't work.
  6. From Acer, when I do a "Diagnose and Repair" from "Network and Sharing Center", it tells me that "Windows did not find any problems with your Internet connection."
  7. From Acer, I have turned off NOD, Windows Firewall to no avail.
  8. From Acer, I have uninstalled Network Magic and it didn't help.

There is a utility called "Intel PROSet/Wireless Tools that I used to "diagnose" the wireless hardware and connection. It tests hardware, drivers, radio, scan, association, authentication, signal, and ping and they all "PASSED".


I ran an ipconfig /all and got the following from the Acer.

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JCWS-laptop1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-E8-D3-AE-53
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2954:ebf3:a95:8e40%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.103(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 24, 2008 11:35:20 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 24, 2008 4:39:29 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{174D3BA7-63BD-4E03-B7C4-52309A1A0
367}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{2F870103-CE95-4E06-A951-FDADC2B30
35B}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

If there is additional information that I can provide that will help, please let me know and I'll try to provide it. I've spent about 20 hours on this problem and can't think of anything else to try.

__________________
JamesCoste is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:52 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

hi,

does this happen when you are connected directly to the router (wired)?

at first glance this looks like a firewall problem because NOT ALL connections are stopped (antivirus update works).

you can also try the following commands (Start-> RUN -> enter CMD):
  1. netsh int ip reset reset.log
  2. netsh winsock reset catalog
  3. Reboot

TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 06:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 3
OS: Vista Ultimate



TF,
I haven't tried directly connecting to the router, but will this afternoon. I think you are on to something with it being a firewall problem. If I disable Windows Firewall and NOD (my AV), how do I know if there are any other firewalls present? I have not specifically loaded anything that I know of.

I'll try the commands in a minute. I'm going to google them to see what they do so exactly. I'll post back with the results.

Thank you for the input!
__________________
JamesCoste is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 06:39 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

try this doc.. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 06:54 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 3
OS: Vista Ultimate



TF,
You solved my problem in 2 minutes!

Thanks so much!

Once I entered the netsh commands and rebooted, my connection was restored.

James
__________________
JamesCoste is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 06:57 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

that's good news... i am so glad you got it connected again...
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 12:54 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7


Roll Eyes

i am haveing trouble with my acer laptop i just bought it and i followed the inst. as it said and i have full strnght intrnet but it says no intrnet access with a (!) point on it and i cant access the intrnet not even when i plug in the intrnet cable to the laptop. i still dont get intrnet! can anybody help me???

__________________
lanena1214 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts