Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Acer Aspire 3680 Vista Basic Won't boot

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Acer Aspire 3680 Vista Basic Won't boot within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Acer Aspire 3680-2633 running Vista basic, working fine last night, this morning, wouldnt boot. error on screen read: A disk


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2009, 08:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



Acer Aspire 3680-2633 running Vista basic, working fine last night, this morning, wouldnt boot. error on screen read:

A disk read error occured,Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

None of the f# buttons worked, only the F2 one. couldnt go into safe mode at all.

Overode the booting sequence to make it boot from my recovery cd's. Did that twice and finally something new happened.

Now it boots to the screen that allows me to pick safe mode. Only boots to that screen and will not boot normally. When choosing safe mode, it will not move past CRCDISK.SYS

In the process of reinstalling yet AGAIN.

is my hard drive screwed?

__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:08 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



After reinstalling for the 4th time, I now get:

Windows failed to load because system registry file is missing or corrupt.

Whenever I put in my recovery disks the only option it gives me is to do a full install. No option for recovery.

__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:29 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Looks like a bad hard drive. Run HDD diagnostics first (use HDD maker's diagnostic utility) to see if you have any hard drive errors. Also consider repair install or worse a operating system reinstallation.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:31 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by TriggerFinger View Post
Looks like a bad hard drive. Run HDD diagnostics first (use HDD maker's diagnostic utility) to see if you have any hard drive errors. Also consider repair install or worse a operating system reinstallation.
How do I run the HDD diagnostics?

my f buttons seem to be working now.

I have my recovery disks, isnt that reinstalling the operating system? It tells me its reformatting my c drive. Doesn't give me the option to recover. or repair.
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:42 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



Well its back to getting stuck on crcdisk.sys

first it said it was starting for the first time then rebooted to screen where it asks me to pick safe mode, normal etc....

i picked safe mode and got stuck on crcdisk.sys

aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:57 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

May be run PC Wizard or Everest Home and see if they give you info (brand/model) about your hard drive. Get the diagnostic util for that brand/model... (see HDD Diags link on my sig.).

EDIT:
HDD diagnostic utils come also CD based so you can run them without having to boot into Windows.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:04 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by TriggerFinger View Post
May be run PC Wizard or Everest Home and see if they give you info (brand/model) about your hard drive. Get the diagnostic util for that brand/model... (see HDD Diags link on my sig.).

EDIT:
HDD diagnostic utils come also CD based so you can run them without having to boot into Windows.
ok its toshiba, i hit f12 and got the boot screen. unfortunately toshiba doesnt make hdd for their hard drives. fantastic!
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:07 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Try Hitachi DFT or SeaTools. I suggest you get the CD based utility/tool so you won't need to boot into Windows to do the test.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:44 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



Ok ran it. and bad news...

PROBLEM DETECTED ON NON HITACHI DISK DRIVE
PLEASE CONTACT YOUR HDD SUPPLIER FOR SUPPORT
DISPOSITION CODE = 0x70
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:45 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



Is it possible to replace the hard drive on a laptop?

If not, I have an external one here, usb, can i install windows on that and boot from there?
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:59 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzypeach View Post
Is it possible to replace the hard drive on a laptop? -- YES. You may need to locate the hard drive so you can remove and replace. If you are not comfortable doing this, bring it to a a repair shop or contact ACER if you are still under warranty.

If not, I have an external one here, usb, can i install windows on that and boot from there? -- may be harder to do and would complicate things if laptop does not support booting from USB device
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 09:03 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



I can def handle removing and replacing the hard drive. I checked around and found some inexpensive ones that will increase the size and speed so thats a plus.

I can get the laptop to boot from usb and skip the hard drive. I just dont know how to install the vista onto the external hard drive.
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:34 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



OK, bought and installed new hard drive.

Do I boot from recovery disk to reinstall os?
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 04:12 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

I am not so sure about ACER but most that I know of boots from recovery CD to do a recovery of the whole system.
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 03:20 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
OS: vista



The recovery disks worked!

laptops working fine. FINALLY!

I lost all my files :( but I did get a much bigger and faster hard drive so thats a plus.

My old hard drive is still under warranty so I sent it back to Toshiba. With an enclosure i'll have extra storage!

Lesson learned... ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR FILES!
__________________
dizzypeach is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 06:01 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Thank you for the update. I am glad to know you got it working again.

TriggerFinger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts