Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Restoring Aspire 6930 to factory default

This is a discussion on Restoring Aspire 6930 to factory default within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hold onto your chairs & wrap a leg around the table. You are going to love this one! ALT +


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2012, 12:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
rennyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
OS: win xp sp3



Hold onto your chairs & wrap a leg around the table. You are going to love this one! ALT + F10 doesn't work. I may have broken the key board in frustration. Neither ACER (laptop out of warranty) nor Microsoft (can't make out last 2 characters of product key label) were much help Operating system: Was apparently a bootleg copy of win7 x64 ultimate past the 30 day limit (Of course). Supposed to be win vista home premium x64. How much RAM? Honestly don't remember, too frustrated with the other issues. Same for the cpu. No back up / restore disks were made despite my repeated warnings. Here's the kicker. One of my cats decided to "hose down" the laptop when I left it on the table one evening. Help please!

__________________
rennyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:20 PM   #2
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello rennyg and welcome to TSF,

Unfortunately, when Windows 7 was installed, the recovery partition may have been deleted. Even if it hasn't the boot code required to allow access via Alt+F10 was overwritted with Windows 7 defaults.

Can you verify the Acer recovery partition is still present on the HDD?

If not, you can purchase recovery media for your computer from Acer.
Acer Store: Recovery Media Purchase Program

About the cats.... I suggest you IMMEDIATELY take the computer apart and clean all affected components with 90% isopropyl alcohol and let them dry completely. The chemicals in feline urine will wreak havok on the electrical components in the system.

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 12:11 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
rennyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
OS: win xp sp3



<P>Apparently only the C: partition was affected. The D:\PQService &amp; X: partitions are still there. There may be other hidden partitions. Oh by the way, I've been using the usb keyboard from my desktop.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>According to Acer tech support, after 3 years recovery media is no longer manufactored for that computer model.&nbsp; This laptop is more than 3 years old, of course.&nbsp; Tried to order recovery media from Acer &amp; ebay with no luck.</P>
__________________
rennyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 12:42 PM   #4
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

You can try to access the recovery partition by using GParted live CD to set the partition to boot. There is no guarantee it will work, though. I have had mixed success with it in the past.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 09:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
rennyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
OS: win xp sp3



Never heard of that one. Give a me a few days to play with it. I'll get back to you Monday or Tuesday. Have a good weekend.
__________________
rennyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 09:24 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
rennyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
OS: win xp sp3



Sorry, been busy past few days beating my head against wall. Last suggestion did not work (Gparted live). Friend gave me a set of eRecovery disks. Thought I was in heaven till I found the disks were for Win 7, not Win Vista x64. Reformatting C: drive. Back at drawing board. Thank for your help thus far.
__________________
rennyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 07:02 PM   #7
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Unfortunately the only option you are left with at this point is to nab a Vista OEM disc and use the numbers from your C.O.A. to activate it, or purchase a retail copy of 7 (which I highly recommend)
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 08:32 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
rennyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
OS: win xp sp3



Sorry. got distracted for awhile. tried mbrwrwin.exe install mbr.bin from command prompt. didn't work. please don't ask me how I got to the command prompt as I don't remember. So far, every other website has assumed (I hate that word) that the individual trying to fix this very problem has the install disk. I do have an install disk, it's just locked away on that blasted hidden partition.
__________________
rennyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 04:17 PM   #9
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

I am sorry... by "nab a Vista install disc" I meant to procure one. I am at a loss, I have only had spotty success accessing the restore partition. The most luck I have had is with HP.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 05:32 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
rennyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
OS: win xp sp3



SOLVED . Sorry for the delay, had a family emergency come up.
Found the following at www.fixya.com:

On a nonfunctional Windows system.

Download the Ultimate Boot CD (UBCD) run it.

Choose in the menu;
$3CP> </P>File System Tools

Boot Managers

I used GAG (what a name for a program)

Add different OS for the first partition. Please note, the partitions are not shown by letters but numbers. Just pick the first one (in*my case).

Install the boot loader, remove the CD and reboot.

Watch eRecovery start the recovery process.

By the way, I did break the keyboard. In several places, oh well.

Backup your data .

Thank you for your time and patience one and all, especially you, Mr. Gavinzach.
__________________
rennyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 05:14 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
rennyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
OS: win xp sp3



By the way, anybody know where I can pick up some of those little black connector caps for the keyboard. It seems I broke this one on the aspire 6930 .

__________________
rennyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
#1045 Cannot log in to the MySQL server
Hello! Me and my friends have rented a dedicated server to host a game for people to play. We access the database through phpMyAdmin and logging in works fine for both my friends. Although when I try I get the following error: #1045 Cannot log in to the MySQL server Connection for...
Ankz0r Web Serving and Management 1 08-09-2012 07:52 PM
How to refresh Windows Bloat without reformat ?
I have a PC that is very bloated and has gotten very slow compared to when I just got it, I have done lots of registry cleaning, Hard Drive defragmentation and uninstalled half of my third party programs but the computer is still has a bloated feel. Any advice,tips or guides that can clear the...
tehjacknoob Windows XP Support 5 03-09-2012 10:58 AM
Looking for Software to Backup iTunes &/or Outlook 2010 Files
Is there a very good freeware, or inexpensive software program, out there I could use to simplify the backing up (and restoring) of user files in iTunes and/or Outlook 2010 in Windows 7? Two separate ones are fine--that's what I would expect. This current chore of restoring both of these...
lochkelly Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 03-09-2012 10:39 AM
[SOLVED] GPU !!Time to Buy OR time to Wait
Hej....is this a good time to upgrade graphic card? With Kelper just round the corner (be that corner long or short--who knows?) the GTX 560 ti 1gb and the GTX 560 ti 448 are reducing in price. for ex.. ASUS GEFORCE GTX 560 TI DCII TOP 1GB PCI-E is 1663kr approx 245 US ...this being a...
REMA1 Building 7 03-08-2012 09:16 AM
Unable to set up static IP
Comcast Cable Internet Linksys WRT54G Router (using wired, not wireless) I've done this a million times over so I thought I knew what I was doing. I set my IP as 192.168.1.236 and get all of the information I need from ipconfig. When I put it all together though, it just doesn't work. I...
Phazed Protocols and Routing 5 03-07-2012 12:26 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts