Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Packard Bell Easynote won't boot

This is a discussion on Packard Bell Easynote won't boot within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok I'm new to this, but completely stuck. I'm comfortable with taking my laptop appart if I need too, but

Old 11-11-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
Registered Member

Ok I'm new to this, but completely stuck. I'm comfortable with taking my laptop appart if I need too, but I'm a bit stuck on what to be checking first.

Laptop has been fine and switched of as normal (via the windows 7 shut down option) and it all looked fine. Switched on this morning and the DVD drive whirles around as does the HDD and sounds like a fan (not sure about the fan though). after 5-10 seconds everything is quiet.
The screen stays off and no other lights, other than the power light and battery ligh, light up. Holding the on/off switch switches the power light off again as if i was holding it in after a crash or freeze (not that i ever done this that often and not for a while)

The only thing I can think of is a ruined motherboard or the CMOS battery.
My Superantispwyware did find a trojan 3 days ago and not sure if any virus could cause this much damage or if that was just coincedence.

Any advise would be great.

Old 11-11-2012, 09:52 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking

have you tried
removing the adapter
removing the battery
and holding the power switch on for at least 60 seconds

etaf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:12 AM   #3
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by etaf View Post
have you tried
removing the adapter
removing the battery
and holding the power switch on for at least 60 seconds
Yes, sorry should have said, that was the fisrt thing i did.