Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

No bootable device error

This is a discussion on No bootable device error within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I have a fault on my laptop Spec: Toshiba Satellite L650D, Win7, AMD Athlon II P320, 3Gb RAM When


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2011, 07:10 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Tiridhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 258
OS: XP, Vista SP2, Win7, 2003 server



Hi

I have a fault on my laptop

Spec: Toshiba Satellite L650D, Win7, AMD Athlon II P320, 3Gb RAM

When I try to power on I get the following error:

Check cable connection!
PXE-M0F: Exiting Intel PXE ROM
No bootable device - insert boot disk and press any key


ok, so it can't see the hard disk, and in the BIOS it says:

HDD/SSD None

I have used a sata adapter to try to connect the disk to another laptop but it doesn't install the disk and alocate a drive letter.

Is the disk completely useless? Anything I can try?

Many thanks

Gavin

__________________
Tiridhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 08:02 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,208
OS: Windows 7 SP1



So re-seating it doesn't help, and putting it in another laptop does not have it show up. Is this correct? Check to see if on the other laptop it shows up in Disk Management (right click Computer then click Manage).

If the adapter itself works fine, and it's solely the drive that has problems, then you have a bricked hard drive, and you'll have to end up tossing it out.

__________________
VirGnarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 08:42 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Tiridhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 258
OS: XP, Vista SP2, Win7, 2003 server



Hi

Yes, I've reseated the drive - made no difference. When I plugged the adapter into the other laptop it installed the driver and told me a usb data storage device was installed, but when I went into Disk Management it showed only as 'unknown disk' not initialised. Obv it hasn't allocated a drive letter.

Would initialising the disk wipe any data?

Thanks
__________________
Tiridhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 08:55 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check if a linux disk sees anything on the drive
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 08:58 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Tiridhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 258
OS: XP, Vista SP2, Win7, 2003 server


you mean boot up the good laptop using a ubuntu disk, then plug in the usb adapter with the duff disk?

ok, will do

Ok, nearly had a fix then . . .

Ubuntu couldn't see the faulty drive so switched back for one last attempt to Vista. This time Windows spotted the drive and added it to my laptop as drive F:

I thought at least I could copy the data off it but though it lists the files whenever I try to copy any I get a msg that says:

/Filename/ is not accessible
Access is denied


Typical.....is there any way I can copy the files?

Many thanks
__________________
Tiridhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 07:31 PM   #6
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


try putting the hdd into a 2.5 ide / sata external case and plug it in to another pc / laptop through the usb port . see if it detects ,

and in my experience when you get the access is denied prompt error it might have something to do with security , make sure you are using the admin account , the default admin account that comes with the os is the best one i think. D:
__________________
tyza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:37 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



take ownership of the drive and files
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 12:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Tiridhe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Scottish Highlands
Posts: 258
OS: XP, Vista SP2, Win7, 2003 server



Hi

Spent the day trying to get a good laptop to detect the faulty drive.....no luck. Presumed dead?

Anything I can try to recover data?

Thanks
__________________
Tiridhe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 06:22 PM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try this one

Recuva - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Compaq NC6230 chipset problem
hello, i have a problem with my HP compaq NC6230 notebook. i`m trying to fix it since a week, i`m going to describe what i actually did: 1 it did`nt want to work with the HDD (i think its got a very picky motherboard) and its always showed an error message "1782-disk controller failure" and...
Zs0lt Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 07-18-2011 02:02 PM
Roller coaster Tycoon 3 Platinum - No ingame sound/music
hay everyone, lately about every second game I buy has no ingame sound... i dont kno if im just having bad luck but it would mean so much if someone could help me out.. the games i struggle to get ingame sound + music are *star wars unleashed 2 *Bully and now rollercoaster tycoon 3 id like...
Rodrigo.Carter PC Gaming Support 4 04-22-2011 12:06 AM
100++ 0x7f (0x0,,,) BSODs - ati2mtag.sys
Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.12.0002.633 X86 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Loading Dump File Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available Symbol search path is: SRV*c:\symbols*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols...
victory89 Windows XP Support 26 04-02-2011 05:27 AM
BSOD Mayhem
Windows 7 64bit Dual boots with Vista (win7 is priority). Vista was original OS. Both OEM editions but not pre-installed. System is 4 years old. Current windows 7 installation is from release. Intel q6600 cpu with a Galaxy Nvidia 8800 GT videocard, Antec 550 watt PSU (since build), and...
Ceiltsei BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-20-2011 01:42 PM
IE cannot display the webpage - occurs only with Windows Update
Hello, I had (or have, as Geekgirl suggested when directing me to this forum) a virus. It started when a scanner popped up and kindly offered to find and delete viruses on my computer. I was certain it was a virus itself, but I could not stop it without doing a hard shutdown, not to mention...
misha.spisok Resolved HJT Threads 27 01-10-2011 11:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts