Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

need to replace keyboard controller chip

This is a discussion on need to replace keyboard controller chip within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi there I have got compaq presario v4000. my keyboard is not working. I replaced the keyboard but still same


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2008, 04:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp




hi there
I have got compaq presario v4000. my keyboard is not working. I replaced the keyboard but still same problem. keyboard connector is fine. I found out that it could be the keyboard controller chip on the motherboard but I could not locate it on motherboard. it could be IC MAX1999 OR MAX1907.
CAN SOMEONE CONFIRM THAT PLZ?
REGARDS

__________________
gogagogi is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 07:13 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 152
OS: win xp pro



Those two ic's are power controller ic's the keyboard control is built into the io chipset on the motherboard it would mean replacing the io chip i do not believe you could replace that your self you would need special equipment to do so, your best bet would be to replace the motherboard,you can most likely find one on ebay.

__________________
loudnproud59 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 08:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp



hi
thanks for the information about those ic's. but why both ic's are on the same motherboard if they both are power controller ic's. I mean why they need two ic's for one job?
and where can I find the input put chip which controls keyboard? plz help
__________________
gogagogi is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 08:08 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 152
OS: win xp pro



This is the link to the chipset that is used on your laptop motherboard.
http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets...ded/915gme.htm
There are companies that can replace the io chip but it could be quite exspensive,it might be cheaper to just replace the motherboard.
__________________
loudnproud59 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts