Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

my asus k53e won't turn on / boot

This is a discussion on my asus k53e won't turn on / boot within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. I recently (a month ago) bought an Asus k53E which is a really good laptop, but i got an


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2011, 08:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
OS: 7


Cry

Hi. I recently (a month ago) bought an Asus k53E which is a really good laptop, but i got an issue with it today.

So basicly yesterday night I was watching a movie on it when a message came up from "asus live update" or whatever. it was suggesting me to flash the bios and it started itself. since i was watching a movie i didn't read carefully what was written, i only remember that the flash was at 18% when i stopped it and continued watching my movie. When i finished my movie, I turned off normally the laptop.

I don't know if its because of the BIOS flash but, today, when I woke up, I tried to turn on my laptop but it didn't work. There's a light on the powerbar that indicates me that it gives AC but the laptop doesn't seem to receive it. Plus, the light-indicator of AC or battery on the laptop is turned off. The only light that is turned on is on the AC bloc. I tried several things, like taking out the battery, holding the power button, trying to turn it on with or without the battery, trying another plug, etc. but nothing works. I live in toronto and I don't want to wait 3 weeks to get my laptop fixed :( I would like some of your advices please. thanks guys

__________________
algerino4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 08:12 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,883
OS: windows 7

My System


Hi and welcome to TSF

I would have to say you need to send it in for repair. If you try taking the laptop apart you would void the warranty. i would give asus a call and see what they suggest.

__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 08:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
OS: 7



Hi and thanks for your answer and your welcome. I know that the best thing would be to send it to repair but the thing is that I'm in med school and we got like 3-4 exams in the two next weeks, so I needed my laptop really bad to get me prepared. So I was looking for another solution, because if I send it to repair i would have to go buy a cheapy laptop at like 400$ for the 3 weeks that asus takes to repair my laptop. and 400$ when you're a student is a lot :S
__________________
algerino4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,095
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello algerino and welcome to TSF,

Does anything happen at all when you press the power button?

As Oscer already told you, anything you attempt yourself may void the warranty. The best action at this point is to contact ASUS for an RMA.

Instead of purchasing a laptop to use in the interim, possibly you could rent one. Here in the States, there are companies that will rent just about any appliance you need... One major chain is Rent-A-Center. A quick Google search turned up this company...

Laptop Rentals: Laptop Computer Rentals, Notebook Rentals & Netbook Rental From MCRRentals.com

I do not know what the terms are or min/max lenght of rental but it wouldn't hurt to give a call and find out if you decide to take that route.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP Boot Problem
Ok so this happened today in the morning. I got up and went downstairs to check on the torrent I was downloading for GTA SA to play multiplayer on, then when I clicked on my computer to see how much GB I had left, the whole computer just went super slow, the my computer window popped up and the...
DioWolf Windows XP Support 3 06-05-2011 06:00 PM
Gateway E-3600 can't boot from second hard drive
Second HD post I recently acquired a 2002-vintage Gateway E-3600 desktop PC. I added memory (going from 256 MB to 1024 MB) , changed out the CMOS battery, and installed a 160-GB WD Cavier Blue hard drive in the second HD bay. The original (first) HD is a 40-GB Maxtor HD with Windows XP...
Setpoint Hard Drive Support 2 06-05-2011 10:56 AM
[SOLVED] Win 7 wont boot with external drive
I have a Windows 7 with an external 500GB drive that I purchased a while ago and have had no issues. I recently removed my old 500gb Vista HDD from my old computer with the intentions of using it as an additional data drive. When I installed into an enclosure and plugged in via USB, my Win 7...
goat1202 Removable Media Drives 2 04-27-2011 05:53 PM
40 pin IDE = OK 80 pin IDE = reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot medi
Hey there guys and dolls. I have i strange problem. For about a month ago i had some problems with my pc which is a self build. I decided to clean the interior for dust. Everything was cleaning thourough. But when started up my pc loaded fine until the point where XP would start-up. Instead of...
LennoxReaper Hard Drive Support 2 01-07-2011 08:43 AM
Very odd issue concerning dual boot, mbr and swapped drives.
This is kind of convoluted and I'm at a loss for what to do. Short summary: I have 3 drives, let's call them A:, B: and C: My laptop has 2 hard drive bays, I used to have A: installed plus another drive for random storage. Windows 7 was installed on A:. I swapped out the random storage...
sqbsbear Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 01-05-2011 01:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts