Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

My Acer Laptop is Running Way too Slow

This is a discussion on My Acer Laptop is Running Way too Slow within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys. I have an Acer Aspire laptop. I bought it last May 2009. I am not too technical, but


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2010, 11:09 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 34
OS: Vista/SP2



Hi Guys. I have an Acer Aspire laptop. I bought it last May 2009. I am not too technical, but I run Malwarebytes on safe mode now and then. I have Microsoft Security Essentials taking care of Anti Spy. I run Superantispy twice a week. I defrag during the night every Sunday. I have everything known to man, updated.
So, could anyone tell me why my laptop is running slowly? I can hardly bring up two browser windows at a time.
If I have the internet radio on, every other page loads so slowly. I have asked my pals about start up programs. That's okay. I have nothing running on the task bar, except my MSE and VW connection. My VW is giving me the right speed etc.
But this laptop is running way to slow. Any ideas guys? Thanks.

__________________
Flasetta is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 03:13 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi try doing a clean booot to troubleshoot http://support.microsoft.com/kb/331796
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 03:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 34
OS: Vista/SP2



Thanks Joeten. I just got home and am reading the first instruction. Again, t/y. Will let you know. :)
__________________
Flasetta is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 04:07 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 34
OS: Vista/SP2



Mhh, I would say there's not a lot of difference after that JoeTen. I even ewnt to my programs and deleted all those silly ones which I don't use. I just also checked. I have 55% free space. So, I haven't a clue :(
__________________
Flasetta is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 04:08 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
night_shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,307
OS: Win8.1~Win7~Ubuntu



Hello Flasetta

I'm more of a hardware man than a software man, but I have heard that MSE can cause performance issues just as you have described.

Try disabling MSE and see if it makes a difference. Malwarebytes and Superantispy, I'm going to assume they are the free version and like you run whenever possible (good free version tools, I'm a manual but regular kind of guy) . If they are the full version with real time protection, try disabling them see what happens.

My money will be with MSE.
__________________
Please Post Back
It's nice to know if the Forum has helped or not
night_shift is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 04:14 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
WanderingDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 49
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3


Send a message via AIM to WanderingDawg Send a message via MSN to WanderingDawg Send a message via Yahoo to WanderingDawg

This is my best free solution to start:

#1 Take off Malwarebytes. IT DOESN"T WORK
#2 Take off all spyware and antivirus programs
#3 Update all updates
#4 Uninstall Mozilla Firefox
#5 Download Eusing Free Registry Cleaner and Run.
#6 Download CCleaner and run.
#7 install AVG Free Edition
#8 check for updates again

I am willing to bet that will speed up your computer 3-10x
__________________
WanderingDawg is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 05:21 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
night_shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,307
OS: Win8.1~Win7~Ubuntu



Flasetta

WanderingDawg has some good suggestions, but.....theres always a but!

#1 Take off Malwarebytes. IT DOESN"T WORK. (This is a personal choice.)
#2 Take off all spyware and antivirus programs (MSE definitely for test and the rest for test purposes only)
#3 Update all updates (completely agree)
#4 Uninstall Mozilla Firefox (if it conflicts with IE)
#5 Download Eusing Free Registry Cleaner and Run. (Registry cleaners can cause more harm than good sometimes, registry is very small and if lappy defragged it won't cause performance issue unless registry is corrupt. I would then reinstall or restore OS)
#6 Download CCleaner and run. (recommend this)
#7 install AVG Free Edition (I have used it for years, no issues)
#8 check for updates again (Cant go wrong here)
__________________
Please Post Back
It's nice to know if the Forum has helped or not
night_shift is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 05:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
WanderingDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 49
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3


Send a message via AIM to WanderingDawg Send a message via MSN to WanderingDawg Send a message via Yahoo to WanderingDawg

The reason for Eusing is that it just cleans the obvious problems. I don't recommend as a full fledged solution, but it is the nicest little quick and dirty program I've found to eliminate the "little things" that cause problems.

But, thanks for backing me up on most of my recommendations. I've been doing this for 20 years and sometimes I get stuck in a rut with my solutions and ignore new fixes out there.

As for Malwarebytes. I have worked on about 10 computers in the past two months that it was supposed to "fix" and/or "protect, so you can call me a little prejudice on that one.

Firefox with the latest updates seems to do some strange things lately. I'm wondering if anyone else is seeing this trend. I have switched over to Google Chrome because of this which I like much better.
__________________
WanderingDawg is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:00 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
night_shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,307
OS: Win8.1~Win7~Ubuntu



Respect to your experience, cos thats what this game is all about. Some things work for some and vice versa.

I find having all the freeware stuff on your rig costs nothing and one will find something the other cant....... we win.

About the registry, I am confident to dable manually and I always believe....if it aint broke dont fix it. Again if it works for you time after time then, hey what the hek!

Can't comment on Firefox but IE is years ahead now (shame cos I like alternatives to Windows) you have the experience there then.

Flasetta take what you can out of joten, WanderingDawg and myself's experiences and let us know how you get on
__________________
Please Post Back
It's nice to know if the Forum has helped or not
night_shift is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:10 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
WanderingDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 49
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3


Send a message via AIM to WanderingDawg Send a message via MSN to WanderingDawg Send a message via Yahoo to WanderingDawg

Try Chrome. I was skeptical at first, but I have fallen in love with it.

The registry is a very scary place. I will go into it if necessary, but it is not something I like doing.

Freeware and Open Source Rulz. The only paid program I have on my system at the moment is Windows XP and I would get rid of it if Umbuntu was compatible with more things.
__________________
WanderingDawg is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:39 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
night_shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,307
OS: Win8.1~Win7~Ubuntu



On your wave length Dude.

I hope your a Dude, cos I got an ear bashing from a sweet 60 year old woman whom I assumed was a Dude, but was as she said a Dudie.....oops! We don't get out much in Scotland
__________________
Please Post Back
It's nice to know if the Forum has helped or not
night_shift is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:43 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
WanderingDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 49
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3


Send a message via AIM to WanderingDawg Send a message via MSN to WanderingDawg Send a message via Yahoo to WanderingDawg

lol

Ya'll need some PC techs in Scotland? I've been looking to relocate.
__________________
WanderingDawg is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 08:13 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 34
OS: Vista/SP2



(too funny, I am also from Scotland! Ayrshire, to be exact! Live in AZ now) (lol)

Anyhoo, I have uninstalled, Mwbytes and MSE. I haven't had FF for ages. I have IE8 and Chrome. Love them both. I have some stuff I use for IE8 and some stuff for Chrome. I also have had CCleaner and Clean up forever on my machine. That's done daily, daily...lol
But also, thank you guys so much for replies here. It means a lot that someone is LISTENING to your problem, and willing to help fix it - somewhere on this planet. That means so much to me, so thank yous all.

I will restart my laptop and install AVG after I type this post up. I do have a clean machine. I did a safe boot Mwbytes just b4 I came in here and again, it was clean. I even deleted my desktop icons and replaced them withnew ones. So, there's defo something slowing this wee beauty down. I tried to listen to Radio Clyde from Glasgow (the Scottish guy will know what I am talking about) and I have listened to it for years. I have always been able to download, listen and browse at the same time. But this last week ot two, it really chug, chug chugging along on that. So, I only DL now when I have work to do and not using the machine. I will be online for another hour or so, so I should be around the place for any questions any of you may have for me.
Again, guys, thank you all. :)
__________________
Flasetta is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 08:21 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
WanderingDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 49
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3


Send a message via AIM to WanderingDawg Send a message via MSN to WanderingDawg Send a message via Yahoo to WanderingDawg

Did you run Ccleaner?
__________________
WanderingDawg is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 08:34 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 34
OS: Vista/SP2



Yes, Dawg, I do that every day. I am DLing AVG as I type right now. I think it's a tad faster. But, I'll DL something and bring up another broswer when AVG finishes. Again, thank you for this help.

You know when I can tell how slow this is? When the blue/green bar at the bottom takes ages to load up to 100%. You know the one that tells you it's loading in that little box on the task bar? That one. It really chugs sometimes. Then, I get a time out on IE especially.

How's them Georgia peaches tonight (lol) Is it a "Rainy night in Georgia? (lol)
Were you happy with the N.O. Saints?
__________________
Flasetta is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:04 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
WanderingDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 49
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3


Send a message via AIM to WanderingDawg Send a message via MSN to WanderingDawg Send a message via Yahoo to WanderingDawg

Peaches are being difficult. It's actually clear for the first time in a while. I don't keep up with pro football, I am into college, but I didn't even know the super bowl was going on until someone said something about it yesterday.

Let me know if it is any better or do we need to go a step further. The steps I outlined were meant to isolate most of the variables. Although they do sometimes fix the problem, the main purpose is to make the problem stand out.

Just to make me feel better try going to www.testmy.net and see if your internet speed is in range. (I'm sure it is. But it just eliminates one more silly variable that can make a simple diagnosis a mindbender.)

I've seen problems like this a million times and no two seem to have the same solution or the same error.
__________________
WanderingDawg is offline  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:23 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 34
OS: Vista/SP2



Thanks Dawg. Just ran an update and a scan on my new AVG. Clean again. I don't much understand the speed test thingy. I'll do it and cope the results in here? Would that be okay? :)
I do think I'm running faster with out all of that gung.
__________________
Flasetta is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:06 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
night_shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,307
OS: Win8.1~Win7~Ubuntu



Quote:
You know when I can tell how slow this is? When the blue/green bar at the bottom takes ages to load up to 100%. You know the one that tells you it's loading in that little box on the task bar? That one. It really chugs sometimes. Then, I get a time out on IE especially.
Flasetta

Use the startup tool from the Tools menu in CCleaner and see what things are loading up you dont need at start up.
__________________
Please Post Back
It's nice to know if the Forum has helped or not
night_shift is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:25 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
WanderingDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 49
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 3


Send a message via AIM to WanderingDawg Send a message via MSN to WanderingDawg Send a message via Yahoo to WanderingDawg

The testmy.net should just show you a bar graph that shows your computer and how it compares to others. If the line that says "You" is a lot different than the rest of the lines you see, then we have a reference point to start looking for a problem.
__________________
WanderingDawg is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:46 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 34
OS: Vista/SP2



@NightShift: There's only two at start up on CCleaner. The AVG and my VW.

@Dawg: I can't find the link to click to start the speed test.

(ps guys) things are definitely faster and I feel it's sharper loading up pages...



Thanks X a billion to you guys for helping me. Way too awesome, you are :)

__________________
Flasetta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts