Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

My Acer Laptop is Running Way too Slow

This is a discussion on My Acer Laptop is Running Way too Slow within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys. I have an Acer Aspire laptop. I bought it last May 2009. I am not too technical, but

Closed Thread

Old 02-08-2010, 11:09 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi Guys. I have an Acer Aspire laptop. I bought it last May 2009. I am not too technical, but I run Malwarebytes on safe mode now and then. I have Microsoft Security Essentials taking care of Anti Spy. I run Superantispy twice a week. I defrag during the night every Sunday. I have everything known to man, updated.
So, could anyone tell me why my laptop is running slowly? I can hardly bring up two browser windows at a time.
If I have the internet radio on, every other page loads so slowly. I have asked my pals about start up programs. That's okay. I have nothing running on the task bar, except my MSE and VW connection. My VW is giving me the right speed etc.
But this laptop is running way to slow. Any ideas guys? Thanks.

Old 02-08-2010, 03:13 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager

Hi try doing a clean booot to troubleshoot http://support.microsoft.com/kb/331796
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135

Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
Old 02-08-2010, 03:20 PM   #3
Registered Member

Thanks Joeten. I just got home and am reading the first instruction. Again, t/y. Will let you know. :)
Old 02-08-2010, 04:07 PM   #4
Registered Member

Mhh, I would say there's not a lot of difference after that JoeTen. I even ewnt to my programs and deleted all those silly ones which I don't use. I just also checked. I have 55% free space. So, I haven't a clue :(
Old 02-08-2010, 04:08 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast

Hello Flasetta