Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Loading PBR for descriptor 2...failed

This is a discussion on Loading PBR for descriptor 2...failed within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an Inspiron 1000. I accidentally left a disk in my external 3.5 floppy drive when I started up


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2007, 07:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP


Cry

I have an Inspiron 1000. I accidentally left a disk in my external 3.5 floppy drive when I started up my computer. I got the message "Loading PBR for descriptor 2...failed" and it stopped. I tried removing the disk, and even the drive, but that did no good. I tried going with F2 (setup) and setting it back to previous settings, and even factory settings, but none of that is helping. What can I do to fix it? I'm using my desktop to ask this question, but I can copy a file onto a floppy if I need to. (I don't have a CD/RW on this computer, so I can't copy really large files.) I would be grateful for any help I can get.

__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 12:51 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi,
I take it you cannot get into windows? If that's the case....
Set your bios to boot from cd.
Boot-up using your XP disk, you will see an option to enter Recovery Console, log-in to windows and run chkdsk r/f/p.
Post back if this helps or not.

__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 05:37 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Thanks, I'll try that.
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:46 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



I tried what you suggested. I tried to restore it and that got rid of the message, but then when it tried to reboot, it would turn on, try to start windows, and then reboot and try again over and over again. I could use F2 and get to the setup screen, but every time it tries to load windows it shuts down and starts over. I had to unplug it and remove the battery to get it to stop. I tried the restore disk again to reformat from the beginning, but that did no good either. Is this a hardware problem? Or am I doing something wrong?
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 07:29 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi,
Please try pressing ctrl & F11 during boot.

I do not think it's hardware problems; the PBR is the partition boot record.
That has been corrupted, so windows doesn't have a starting place on the disk. You may not be able to recover your files.
It's further compplicated by Dell having a partition on the drive for restoring the system.
If ctrl & F11 does not work, then we cannot access that either.
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 02:16 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Are you still with us?
When you try ctrl & F11 on your keyboard, release both together, or it doesn't work properly.
I forgot to mention, remove any peripheral connections you may have before doing this.
If you'd like to check what I'm instructing you to do and just go ahead and do it yourself, the step-by-step instructions from Dell, can be found here.
http://support.dell.com/support/topi...71438DA0E20ADD
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 05:47 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Thanks, I'll try that, too.
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 05:37 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Thanks for trying. I tried what you suggested. I went step by step with Dell support, and it's still not working. I give up. Thanks for trying, but I think it's just time for a new computer. I'm too frustrated to keep hassling with this one. But I do appreciate you trying to help.
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 05:49 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi,
If you can afford to lose the data already on the hard disk, Set your bios to boot from cd.
Boot-up using your XP disk, you will see an option to enter Recovery Console, log-in to windows and run fixmbr.
That's fix master boot record.
Then reinstall windows!
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 01:17 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



I have backups of everything I need. So I'll try. Thanks.
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 06:47 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



I tried your suggestion. Now when I turn on the computer it says "invalid partition table". I think it's beyond hope. This is not the first trouble I've had with this computer. I'm tired of hassling with it. I'm just getting a new one. But thanks for trying.
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 12:39 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi,
Don't give up yet!
Insert your Windows XP CD in the CD Drive and reboot your computer.
Boot from the CD and follow the instructions.
The setup menu will appear and you should elect to delete all the existing partitions, then create a new primary partition, then format to NTFS and proceed to install Windows XP.
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 07:12 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Ok. Thanks, I'll give it a try.
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 07:47 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Well, I finally got Windows up and running. Thank you very much for your help. Only for some reason it didn't load the sound card driver, so now I have to figure out how to load that. The computer has all the same equipment it did when I bought it from Dell, so I figured the sound card driver should have loaded with everything else. But it didn't. Any ideas? (I think I need computer repair lessons.)
__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:02 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi, glad to hear you're winning.
Download the sound drivers from here.....
http://support.dell.com/support/down...&catid=&impid=
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 03:23 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Well, it looks like everything is working again - finally. I am so grateful for your help in getting me through it. I was getting so frustrated and would have given up completely without your help. Thank you VERY much.

__________________
zekepeverell is offline  
Closed Thread

« Stickies | Acer dvd »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!! CPU running slow, yellow triangle w/ exclamation pt and constant pop-ups
Hi, Lately my computer has been running very slow (start up is also very slow) and I've been bombarded with constant pop-ups. I've also been experiencing strange icons in my system tray (yellow triangle with an explanation point in the centre of it as well as a red circle with an X through it)....
angelgirl30 Resolved HJT Threads 30 05-11-2007 10:35 AM
cannot find scvhosts.exe
ERRORS: windows cannot find C:\WINDOWS\system32\scvhost.exe could not load or run C:\WINDOWS\system32\scvhost.exe specified in the register cygwin command prompt and safe mode command line: cammand line disabled by administrator must boot to administrator in safe mode or use the windows...
tdwebste Inactive Malware Help Topics 16 12-30-2006 10:28 AM
Significant decrease in performance
Recently I've noticed a significant decrease in my computer's performance. I've already gotten rid of ismini.exe, but I still notice lagging when performing small tasks. Even opening a folder sometimes becomes slow. I also notice a dock icon that says I have been infected, but I think it is part of...
Notoriety Inactive Malware Help Topics 18 12-03-2006 12:17 PM
Multiple Viruses :(
I know I should be more specific, but I simply can't. I've dealt with many of them in the past, but this one has beaten me badly. It started ~70h ago when my system crashed and never got up properly. Since then, I've formatted Drive C: couple of times, re-installed WinXP few times and even tried...
jarekexe Resolved HJT Threads 190 07-02-2006 05:29 PM
Various Malware - Downloaders
Please help i have been trying unsuccessfully for the past two weeks to remove the various malware that has infected my other computer. It all started when the computer involved which is running Windows 98SE accidentally downloaded the drsmartload.exe virus. Since then i have had constant pop-ups...
Rabbit77 Resolved HJT Threads 14 03-28-2006 06:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts