Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Laptop Shutting off Randomly - Not Overheating

This is a discussion on Laptop Shutting off Randomly - Not Overheating within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an HP Pavillion dv9000 notebook. Yesterday morning it just shut off randomly and when I tried to turn

Closed Thread

Old 01-11-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have an HP Pavillion dv9000 notebook. Yesterday morning it just shut off randomly and when I tried to turn it on again, it shut off immediately. It has become a major problem and now does this after the computer has been on for as little as 3 minutes. Please read on if you think you can help.

I was playing Warcraft 3 on my computer yesterday morning when the computer just shut off. I have been playing the game for a couple years on the laptop so it seemed odd. The Nvidia graphics card is definately good enough to run it. I immediately tried to turn it back on only for the computer to shut off again. I had to wait an hour before the computer would boot up correctly again only to have it turn off after about 20 minutes while watching a youtube video. When I turned on the computer next, I downloaded SpeedFan and saw that the computer turned off when it got up to 65C. I went online on a different CPU and a lot of people on these tech forums said it was common for a laptop to overheat. I went out and bought a cooling pad for my laptop. This cooled it down, but it still turned off, this time at 55C. More people online suggested cleaning the heatsink / fan with compressed air, so I did that. It has not fixed the problem and now the laptop turns off after about 3 minutes no matter what. The last couple times it has cut off at 25C while in safemode. It doesn't seem to be overheating, although all the symptoms match that of an overheating laptop. People online have also suggested unscrewing the bottom of the laptop and whipping away the dust from