Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Laptop plugged in not charging

149K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  shivo 
#1 ·
Hi I bought a Dell Inspiron 1525 just over a week ago. I have only used the laptop when it has been plugged in but the battery charge is slowly going down and is now showing only 61% charge.

The battery icon says - 'plugged in, not charging'

Can anyone tell me how I get the battery to charge.

I am new to the laptop scene, sorry if I sound a green!

Cheers

#3 ·
I'm having the exact same problem with the exact same model. If I were you I'd take it back for a full refund. Dell's customer care is trash and it's always one problem after another.

My Laptop only runs on AC Power (Dead battery)
It freezes up even after I've formatted it and re-installed windows. I think it may be a video card problem.
When it freezes the only way I can get around it is by shutting down and when I do that it brings me to a black screen that's gives me these options:

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Start with last known working configuations
Start Windows Normally

I've tried each option and it goes to this Black Screen. You see the Windows XP Splash screen with the bar and then it just goes black and refuses to load. So I re-install everything all over again until I press turn it off manually again because it freezes and...

Same prob. I'm sick and tired of this laptop. I didn't mean to de-rail your thread.

#4 ·
i have problem with the `needle` part that is located at the back of the laptop and that ac charger `sits on` when pluged in...after 2 years it just fell off so now i lost the contact between ac charger and laptop itself ..it just cant charge no more...is this something hard or expencive to fix considering that i do have same computer that doesnt work for some other reason and i may use it for parts (mecanical damage)...it is acer aspire3010 computer

#5 ·