Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

laptop not recognizing my headphones

This is a discussion on laptop not recognizing my headphones within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hello. my first post here.. i just got my new acer aspire 7735ZG, but it does not recognize my headset


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
OS: vista home premium sp1



hello. my first post here..

i just got my new acer aspire 7735ZG, but it does not recognize my headset when i connect it, and keeps on playing from the speakers. when i go to audio devices it only shows the realtek HDMI output, the speakers, and the realtek digital output under playback. when i pull the headset inn and out the "line in" symbol under recording turns on and of. in device manager it says that all my drivers are working properly. when i configure speakers in audio devices form stereo to 5.1 surround i get sound in my headset, but it is very uneven and "far away". i have tried different headsets, with the same results. i also tried windows update, to see if it would find any missing drives or updates, but it didn't.

help!

__________________
bajsglad is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 11:25 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
OS: vista home premium sp1



bumping in hopes of a reply...

__________________
bajsglad is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:01 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
night_shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,307
OS: Win8.1~Win7~Ubuntu



If as you say you are connecting to the Line-in jack, then this is the wrong place to put your headphones . Line in is for external devices, mp3 players etc.

You should be connecting your headphones into the Headphone/speaker/line-out jack .

This is a list of the connections on your model ;

4x USB 2.0 ports
1x external display (VGA) port
1x Headphone/speaker/line-out jack
1x Microphone-in jack
1x Line-in jack
1x Ethernet (RJ-45) port
1x HDMI™ (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) port with HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection) support
1x Modem (RJ-11) port
1x DC-in jack for AC adapter

Please Post back on your progress. It’s nice to know if the forum has helped or not.
__________________
night_shift is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 12:30 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
OS: vista home premium sp1



.... that did it! now it works. thank you for the answer. great forum!
__________________
bajsglad is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:55 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
night_shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,307
OS: Win8.1~Win7~Ubuntu



Your welcome. Glad we could help.

__________________
night_shift is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts