Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Laptop battery shutdown issue

This is a discussion on Laptop battery shutdown issue within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Is there a way to set up a laptop where if it detects it's running on the battery, that it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2008, 12:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
OS: Ubuntu



Is there a way to set up a laptop where if it detects it's running on the battery, that it automatically shuts down? (meaning I ONLY want it to be running on its power supply).

Is there a way to do it in Linux as well?

Thanks to any replies.

__________________
goldark is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:43 PM   #2
Security Team
Visiting Trainee (247)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,066
OS: XP



well, you can turn the laptop upside down and un clip the battery. you can remove the battery and just use ac if you want.

__________________
jimmy is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
OS: Ubuntu



Yeah that would work, too, but I'd prefer maybe a clean shutdown, instead of it just powering off.

Is there another way?
__________________
goldark is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:01 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldark View Post
Is there a way to set up a laptop where if it detects it's running on the battery, that it automatically shuts down? (meaning I ONLY want it to be running on its power supply).

Is there a way to do it in Linux as well?

Thanks to any replies.
Try Power Option properties in Control Panel... select ALARM tab. Tick Activate low battery alarm. Set the slider to 100%. Set Alarm Action to SHUTDOWN.

May be the same is true if you set for Critical Battery Alarm... I have not tried this though.

Guess what... I tried it just now but I used this statement in Run a Command 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\tsshutdn.exe 0 /DELAY:0'
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:30 PM   #5
Security Team
Visiting Trainee (247)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,066
OS: XP



it is a good idea because if you remove the power socket then the laptop will automaticall shut down.
__________________
jimmy is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 06:37 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
OS: Ubuntu



Hmm I can't find the tsshutdn command in Vista. Is there a way to do this in Vista? Thanks!
__________________
goldark is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:34 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

i am not sure about Vista but you can try this.

TriggerFinger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts