Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Laptop Audio "Skipping"

This is a discussion on Laptop Audio "Skipping" within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I could not decide where to post my question so ended up here in Windows 7 forum. Also, I have


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2011, 05:55 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Vista



I could not decide where to post my question so ended up here in Windows 7 forum. Also, I have searched the forums and nothing that has been suggested works.

For about 6 months now my computer audio has been making a "skipping" or stuttering noise about every minute or sooner. It does this whether I am watching a DVD, MPEG, or any other type of video. It will do the same when listening to any audio file.

I have tried updating all of my computer's drivers from the manufacturer's website but no luck. I am using a very lightweight media player (it "skips" on any media player) and have plenty of CPU and memory available when the problem occurs.

Today I ran across a post in a different forum that may make some sense of things for someone that has some computer knowledge. It definitely isn't me.

"This problem was driving me nuts for weeks. I had to stop myself from throwing this thing out the window and getting a free one under dells accident coverage I was so upset with them, but I figured it out.

It actually has nothing to do with the sound, it's the cpu and its power save feature. One of the cores will drop to half clock speed (for me it drops from 2ghz to 1ghz) when it isn't in use. Apparently, things don't work smoothly when that happens.

You can see that it isn't just the sound by opening notepad, turn on wordwrap and hold down any letter. Follow it across the screen with your eyes and you'll see it pause for a moment every second or so.... at the same intervals that you get audio problems. It's like the cpu just stops for a split second and starts working again.

The solution I've found is to adjust your power management settings so that the frequency of both cores will always stay at max clock speed, you can check it in notepad after you change those settings and you'll see the letters move across the screen like butter, and of course... the audio problems will be gone.

I wonder what causes this... I know it happens every time the core transitions from high to low and vice versa, but why isn't it smoother. Is this a problem with all core duo processors or just the cpu/mobo combination in the e1505 and 6400?"

Posted by User "cantoes" from: Audio keeps skipping on my laptop


Sure enough notepad hangs at the same time the "skip" occurs. I went into power options to try to do what the person said and the best I could come up with was the Max and Min CPU usage when plugged in or only on battery. Playing with these settings had no affect on the audio.

Your help would be greatly appreciated. I have been trying to get this fixed for a while now.

Thank you for your time,
Mars

__________________
mars24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 04:33 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check your temperatures

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 11:01 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Vista


I am going to check into that now.

Thank you for your reply
Mars

i dled a program to check and help regulate temps. b4 the program program the processors were holding about 54 degrees c. It is keeping them below 50. It is still skipping however though but maybe not quite as often. Are these temps normal?
__________________
mars24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 08:07 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



they are not high for a laptop

try with this player

VideoLAN - Download official VLC media player for Windows
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:53 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Vista



Yep that's the one I use. I've also tried others. Windows Media Player and Quicktime do it as well.
__________________
mars24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:41 AM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


What make/model laptop is this?

Did you try to set the CPU to max performance to see if the issue persists?

In Power Options set it the plan to High Performance to test.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Vista


Yep. I've tried that as well. I have a dell inspiron 1525.

Edit* I've changed the computer to a high performance power setting. Is there a way to change CPU performance too?
__________________
mars24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:28 AM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Usually when you select the High Performance profile the CPU Power Management is set too 100%

Once you make the changes and apply restart the laptop.

Making these changes will cause the laptop to run hotter.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Empire:total war HELP
Dear whoever i have just downloaded both napoleon total war and total war. when i play the games i go into gamplay all of is stretchy and skippy. Empire: Total War System Requirements Lab Analysis Congratulations, your computer passes the minimum specification required to run this...
jabojoshua PC Gaming Support 12 05-28-2012 06:00 PM
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
Windows 7 freezes at startup (HiJack This Log)
Out of the blue my Windows 7 x64 laptop started having problems. Every time I boot it will get to the desktop and LOOK fine, but if I try to open anything it is completely unresponsive. Eventually it will notify me that Windows is not responding and offer to restart or wait. If I restart the...
slhaas Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 08-01-2011 12:29 PM
[SOLVED] configure my laptop audio for tv
I have my laptop connected to my tv using SVGA cable connections with audio plugs. I still cannot get sound. I believe I need to configure my laptop to accept audio, but I'm unsure what I need to do.
gailmm Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 04-07-2011 09:46 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts