Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

HP Pavilion dv6000 will not connect to internet

This is a discussion on HP Pavilion dv6000 will not connect to internet within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an HP Pavilion dv6000 that will not connect to the internet. The computer says that it is connected


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2012, 06:14 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Vista



I have an HP Pavilion dv6000 that will not connect to the internet. The computer says that it is connected but will not work. If the internet is opend it it says 'Internet explorer cannot display webpage'. I have tried resetting the internet settings, disconection the modem. Nothing works. Please someone help me!

__________________
coolry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
MD_Reptile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 44
OS: Win 7

My System


if your wireless it could be that someone entered the wrong wireless password, or maybe its your router - can other wireless computers connect?

__________________
MD_Reptile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:11 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Vista



Yes. Two laptops. The wirepassword is enterd correctly.
__________________
coolry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 03:57 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
MD_Reptile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 44
OS: Win 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by coolry View Post
Yes. Two laptops. The wirepassword is enterd correctly.
As long as other devices connect no problem, it means it must be a problem with the computer then, perhaps the driver is just having problems, try going to your wireless adapters website, probably like belkin, or maybe atheros, just depends which brand yours is, and look for a driver to use for it, download that, then once its installed you might need to re-enter wireless pass, try to get online -

if that wont work tho, maybe if its a wireless "card" of some kind (on a laptop you usually can remove some panel on the bottom, then unplug a couple little wires from the WLAN card and reseat them) you could reseat the card, and see if that helps at all...

another thing to check, is in your device manager (right click "my computer" then on "hardware" tab, hit device manager) check if there is a exclamation point on the icon for the wireless device....could show that there is a problem with hardware itself or the driver...

let me know what happens and if I can think of anything else I'll let ya know
__________________
MD_Reptile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Trouble Reverting Back To Factory Default
Yeah i have a computer using Windows XP Home Edition. Its a pretty old desktop, about 8 years old. I want to revert my desktop to the factory default settings but im having some trouble. I press F8 at the startup and when i get to the Advanced Boot screen, the factory default setting is not...
brandino3 Windows XP Support 35 05-13-2012 06:48 PM
unable to access certain websites
Hi people! have been using Chrome for ages but all of a sudden it won't let me access certain websites? can't access them either with IE7 & FireFox so not sure if it's a browser issue. The Website: it won't let me go to www.cn4life.com, it just says "connecting ..." then says "Oops! Google...
imissme2 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 12 03-15-2012 03:44 PM
Can't connect to Internet.
Hey Folks, I fear I may have screwed my computer up. Here's my problem: I have a functioning wireless network at home, but I can't get my computer to connect to the internet. I bought a new wireless usb adaptor (Netgear N-150, WNA1100VC) and tried to install it. The computer at first connected...
woodchuck3 Networking Support 8 03-14-2012 06:14 PM
[SOLVED] Cant connect to the internet on my laptop
Hi, I can't connect to the Internet on my laptop, it connects to the network but says no Internet access, others can connect to it fine, I think my settings are wrong, Please help
Kwells492 Networking Support 18 03-11-2012 07:31 PM
Cannot connect my Xerox phaser 6140 to my new modem
Hi, I recently changed to optic fiber by my internet provider (telmex). i live in mexico. I have a xerox phaser 6140 that i have to connect through a lan cable. My modem is a alcatel-lucent i-240w-r, but i cannot get it to print. I seems like it doesnt see it. As you can see i don't know much...
willdpo Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 0 03-11-2012 05:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts