Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

HP Latop randomly "disconnects" from wireless network

This is a discussion on HP Latop randomly "disconnects" from wireless network within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok, so this is an HP dv6-1050 running Windows Vista. It's brand spankin' new and has had this problem from


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2009, 09:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Vista, XP, ArchLinux



Ok, so this is an HP dv6-1050 running Windows Vista. It's brand spankin' new and has had this problem from the get go. I'm not sure if it's something with Vista, or flakey with the hardware itself. I use the word "disconnect" in the title quite loosely as the network itself never appears to go down.

I'll be on the internet browsing along with no issues, and all of a sudden, BAM, page load errors... the kind that typically indicate you are disconnected from the network. You know like when IE says "Internet Explorer can't display the current page". The odd thing, is that I can pop open the command line and ping sites like google, etc and by "hostname", so name resolution is working fine. The only fix I have found is disconnecting and reconnecting to the Wireless Network. Then it will work for a while... then yeah... ready to stab my eyes out.

Here's a few facts that will answer some initial questions:

1) I have 2 other laptops on the wireless (running XP SP3) and NO problems
2) I have 2 wireless routers I have swapped out. Exact same issues.
3) I have tested IE8, FF3, and Chrome and once again, same issue them all

This is what leads me to believe it's some issue with Vista (either Vista itself or this particular pre-installation) or perhaps the hardware. I haven't spotted an obvious rash of this anywhere else, so I'm not sure if it's a common thing or not. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Swill

__________________
Mr. Swillis is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:58 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Vista



Hey...

Had this problem and couldn't really figure it out.

I tried putting windows defender off...

And now it seems to work out...

Let us know if this helps you out
__________________
eddiefunky is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts