Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Help with Lenovo ThinkVantage Tool

This is a discussion on Help with Lenovo ThinkVantage Tool within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I ran the diagnostic tool and it came up with multiple errors (see below) that included "problems" with the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2011, 06:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 49
OS: xp



Hi, I ran the diagnostic tool and it came up with multiple errors (see below) that included "problems" with the "C" Drive which I realize is NOT a good sign and would appreciate help (interpretation) of the report. Is my system in BIG trouble, that is do I need to replace it or are the errors nothing to worry about?

Thank you for your help,

Bob

=============================================


Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox Log File
12/24/2011 9:30:34 PM
Overall Result: Failed
Name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2180 @ 2.00GHz


Multicore Test
Test Started 12/24/11 7:16:11 PM
Warning Message: The processor speed may have been affected due to other applications consuming CPU resources. Shut down any other applications and run the test again. 12/24/11 7:25:31 PM
Warning Message: Calculated CPU Speed:Core: 0 Speed: 2.00 GHz, Core: 1 Speed: 2.00 GHz 12/24/11 7:25:32 PM
Test Finished: Warning
C:
File System: NTFS
Volume Serial Number: 0CB4-A339
Volume Capacity: 148.45 GB
Volume Free Space: 57.79 GB
Volume Used Space: 90.66 GB
Targeted Read Test
Test Started 12/24/11 8:17:02 PM
Error Message: Error while reading sector 4964059. 12/24/11 8:17:08 PM
Error Message: The test found 1 sector errors. 12/24/11 8:17:09 PM
Test Finished: Failed (Error code: WHD20-PQQ) 12/24/11 8:17:11 P

Surface Scan Test
Test Started 12/24/11 8:21:58 PM
Error Message: There was an error reading sector 4960256. 12/24/11 8:23:18 PM
Test Finished: Failed (Error code: WHD08-LHW) 12/24/11 8:26:25 PM

__________________
boblink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 07:57 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



looks like your hard drive needs replacing

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 09:33 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 49
OS: xp



Thanks Dai, it would be a GREAT relief if it's only the HD!
I thought that it might be the processor which would be catastrophic but being that the system has 2 500GB HDs, I can back EVERYTHING up and remove the faulty drive and replace it with the "working" drive.
Unfortunately the faulty drive is the "C" which means that I will need to reinstall Windows along with all my programs, apps, files,......... which is a pain in the &^%$ but it beats LOSING all my data.
I understand that this is a personal choice but if you don't mind, I would appreciate your thoughts/suggestions/advice/.......... for the following question. Being that the system is 3+ years old and I have to basically (re)install W7 along with ALL my personal data and the cost of a new (replacement) system is relatively not "that" expensive (<US $400), what would you advise me to do? I have listed a brief description of my Lenovo K210 system for your convenience?
Thank you again for your help,
Bob

Operating System Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition (32-bit)
Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2180 @ 2.00GHz
Memory 3.00 GB - 0 remaining DIMM slots
Hard Drive (C:) Capacity: 148.45 GB, Free space: 57.05 GB
Network Card Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
Video Card Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family
Sound Card High Definition Audio Device
__________________
boblink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 09:00 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



as far as i can find you only have 1 500g hard drive
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 03:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 49
OS: xp



Hi Dai, the original system that I purchased was defective and Lenovo replaced it and allowed me to keep the HD to make the transition (setup) easier so I have two 500GB HDs. BTW, the ThinkVantage program doesn't pickup the model number or serial number from my system either but trust me trust me when I say that I have dual 500GB HDs. I have having problems with the Multi (memory) Card Reader, which is a minor glitch and the system (usually when I use Mozilla or IE) crashes way TOO often, which may be a W7 not a system issue but that's the reason that I am considering a new system.
Thanks,
Bob
__________________
boblink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 05:20 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



run
d/load and run the h/drive makers diagnostic utility on the h/drive

Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.

on both the hard drives

see if you have any mini dumps

C:\Windows\Minidump\Minidump.dmp

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lenovo Thinkvantage & home network
Hi I've a Lenovo laptop that is from my workplace that I'm not able to surf with on my home connection. I can see that it connects to the home network but that's it. is the thinkvantage is blocking any other connection then my firm's? and if so' is there a way to change the setting that prevent me...
atr Networking Support 5 10-29-2011 08:10 AM
Lenovo Z370, Lenovo Z470, or Asus K43SJ?
Hi. I'm based in the Philippines and I am looking for a laptop to purchase--would be primarily using it for video and image editing as well as basic uses of a laptop such as utilizing Microsoft Office, Internet, etc. I'm confused which of the three models of laptops should I purchase. I...
wisecracx Laptop Support 1 09-11-2011 11:18 AM
External disc folders dispay as shortcuts
I think something must be wrong with my external disc folders and folders on my external HDD. They show up as shortcuts. When I open them a new window is opened and I can access the content. However that seems very strange. Also, I noticed that the update of my Antivir Software does not work...
armbroke Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 2 08-31-2011 08:25 PM
Beware Fake Google Security Tool
Security firm Symantec says it's found a new and very fake Google "security program" designed to install malware on Google Android smartphones. Called the Android Market Security Tool, the fake software is actually a repackaged Google-built tool with origins in the Far East. Symantec discovered...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 03-14-2011 12:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts