Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

HELP! Sony Vaio laptop goes to black screen directly after Vaio logo

This is a discussion on HELP! Sony Vaio laptop goes to black screen directly after Vaio logo within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I have a Sony Vaio laptop model number VPCCW13FX. It is a little over a year old. The other


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2011, 04:23 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7



So I have a Sony Vaio laptop model number VPCCW13FX. It is a little over a year old. The other day I had to reformat because I accidentally deleted the wrong file and computer would not start normally. After about 3 attemps I got it up and running like new. Today I was on google chrome and could not figure out how to bookmark a page so I tried pressing crtl+b. Immediately after doing so the computer shut down and when it restarted all it showed was the VAIO logo and then a black screen with a blinking underscore in the top left. I proceeded into recovery tools [restarting and pressing f10] and ran diagnostics on both C and D drives. The both came back with no errors and nothing wrong. I proceeded to restore C drive. After the restore process it attempted to restart as it should but once it powered down and back on the same thing happened, logo then nothing. So I,again, went into recovery tools and decided to "restore complete system." Once again it was working fine until the restart. So I powered down in order to get into the BIOS screen [pressing f2] but all the settings and everything was exactly as it should be. I have checked all over the internet and have yet to find any help. Only thing I haven't tried is someone suggested waiting and hour and a half to see if the underscore goes away and I get an error message. If anyone can offer any advice please please don't hesitate.

Additional Information:
Computer is no longer under warranty and I have no money to purchase the recover disks. Which is why I went through the recovery tools menu

__________________
bunnie143 is offline  
Old 05-27-2011, 04:46 PM   #2
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,097
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello bunnie143 and welcome to TSF,

It sounds like you may have a HDD issue.
  1. Download UBCD (Ultimate Boot CD - Download the UBCD)
    • Scroll down to the bottom of the page and choose a mirror site.
  2. Create a CD from the image file (.iso)
    • Windows 7 - Double click on the image file to launch Windows Image Burner
    • Vista/XP - Download/install ImgBurn (The Official ImgBurn Website) then use it to create the CD.
  3. Boot the computer to the CD.
  4. From the menu... Select HDD > Diagnosis > Drive Fitness Test.
  5. When prompted, select ATA only.
  6. Run the quick test and note the result and code.
  7. Run the extended test and note the result and code.
  8. Post the results in your next reply.

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 05-27-2011, 08:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7



So I used the UBCD. Did as you said, chose HDD, then Dignosis, then Drive Fitness Test, then ATA only but then it would come up with no devices for me to run a quick test or extended test on... The device box just said empty
__________________
bunnie143 is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 01:57 AM   #4
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,097
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Okay, try ATA and SCSI

Also, check your BIOS to see if the drive is being recognized.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 10:08 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7



So when I choose both ATA and SCSI I get 4 options and I'm not sure which one to chose. Also how can I be sure BIOS is recognizing the drive?
__________________
bunnie143 is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 10:10 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you will see the drive listed in the bios
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-29-2011, 02:32 AM   #7
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,097
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

List the four options DFT gave you.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:09 PM   #8
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,097
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

This thread has been closed due to inactivity.
If you are the Original Poster and require more assistance with this issue, please contact me or any HW MOD and we will reopen the thread.
Thank-you,
~GZ

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Screen Black & Not Working
iI have a Dell Inspirion 1525, about 2 and a half years old. The problem is the screen is black as if it has no backlight. When I turn on the computer it works for a split second then flickers out with a faint clicking sound. If I put it into the light, I can very faintly see that the screen is on,...
Thebigrussian Laptop Support 7 01-12-2012 07:40 AM
My Sony Vaio VPCEB2F4E with Black Screen Display on start up
Sorry for my English. I see only black screen on start up and can't enter in BIOS, working 30 seconds and then shut up VGA port not working with another monitor. I had try some I saw in this forum but result is 0 .
MarcuZZ Laptop Support 14 05-23-2011 01:33 PM
After Windows XP logo, Screen goes black. SafeMode doesn't work.
I just restored the computer this morning, manually deleted viruses, etc. Computer then worked fine for several hours, and I was in the process of freeing up space on harddrive when computer shut off on its own without warning. When I went to turn it back on, after Windows logo displays, screen...
hxscene27 Hard Drive Support 1 03-08-2011 05:19 AM
Sony Z BSOD and black screen every couple hours
My laptop (Sony Z series VPCZ112GX) has been having BSODs and sometimes just completely stopping with a black screen and some white flickers every couple of hours. It happens at anytime - when I'm playing a game, browsing the web, or just listening to music. There are no triggers that I can tell....
theobvious89 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 01-10-2011 02:31 AM
Bro's laptop only shows a black screen when powered on.
My bro's laptop, an HP Pavilion dv6700, only has a black screen when powered on. The only test we've done so far is that it isn't the monitor because we connected it to another monitor and still nothing. We're going to use a hard drive enclosure to save the data off the hard drive. As for the...
andrewset Laptop Support 1 01-01-2011 01:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts