Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Hard drive not detected. Can I retrieve my data?

This is a discussion on Hard drive not detected. Can I retrieve my data? within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I recently purchased a Dell Inspiron 6400 (working with Windows Vista) and since yesterday, the hard drive is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-03-2007, 04:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



Hello all,

I recently purchased a Dell Inspiron 6400 (working with Windows Vista) and since yesterday, the hard drive is not detected anymore. I don't understand what happened. I went to a computer store, and someone there told me the hard drive had crashed, and that the data was completely lost.

However, I did some research on the internet and all the website I found say that data is recoverable.

My question is: how do i do that?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

__________________
cendrine is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:07 PM   #2
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,742
OS: XP, Win 7



Easist way is to take the drive out and attach it to a working pc to see if you can slavage the data . . it works best if you attach it to the secondary channel, the one with the CD/DVD drives.

Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



Hi,

thanks for your reply. I am not a pro at all. How do I do that?
__________________
cendrine is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:48 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Before you do that, download & install the disk utility for the HD from the manufacturer's web-site. Not only will that tell you if the drive is physically bad or not, it will also repair it if it can be repaired.

Further, these companies require you to run this software anyways in order to verify that it is bad and get an error code which is necessary for RMAing.

My point is that data recovery can wait until you know for sure if it is bad.

If you can't find the utilities, post the model & make of the HD here and someone will link the utility to you.

DO NOT use this drive for anything not absolutely necessary. Drives fail slowly sometimes, and the more you use them the faster they die. You want to keep it alive long enough to get the data off, so no gaming, surfing etc...
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 05:13 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Girderman View Post
Before you do that, download & install the disk utility for the HD from the manufacturer's web-site. Not only will that tell you if the drive is physically bad or not, it will also repair it if it can be repaired.

Further, these companies require you to run this software anyways in order to verify that it is bad and get an error code which is necessary for RMAing.

My point is that data recovery can wait until you know for sure if it is bad.

If you can't find the utilities, post the model & make of the HD here and someone will link the utility to you.

DO NOT use this drive for anything not absolutely necessary. Drives fail slowly sometimes, and the more you use them the faster they die. You want to keep it alive long enough to get the data off, so no gaming, surfing etc...

Thanks! But I am not sure what the disk utility is. I'm not really sure what make and model the HD is, but this is the only info I'm able to get right now:
120GB 5400 RPM Hard Drive. I don't know if it helps...
__________________
cendrine is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 05:41 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Nope. Need at least the manufacturer. Model too.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 05:47 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



The manufacturer is Dell. The model of the laptop is Inspiron 6400. For the rest, I have no idea...
__________________
cendrine is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 06:17 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Search Dell for their Disk Utility program. I assume they will have one and it will not be based on the manufacturer of the HD. Missed that it was a laptop.

EDIT ***

This might be it. They don't explain much about what it does.

You might call Dell tech support to find out for sure what you need.

http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/format.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=gen&deviceid=3841&libid=13&releaseid=R133063&vercnt=3&formatcnt=0&SystemID=INSPIRONI6400/E1505&servicetag=&os=WW1&osl=en&catid=-1&impid=-1
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 06:32 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



I actually have a CD called Drivers and Utilities that is already installed on the laptop. The contents are Device drivers and Diagnostics and utilities. Should I use this CD?
__________________
cendrine is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 07:36 PM   #10
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,742
OS: XP, Win 7



If I valued the data, I would first salvage what I could before using it any more, then run diagnostics
Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 08:58 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Yeah, I'm partly inclined in this direction also, but the only indication we have that the data is in jeapardy is that one the disk crashed and two someone at a "computer store" said the data was lost.

Which seems silly and hysterical to me, as computer store people are not data recovery experts.

HD crashes happen frequently and most of those do not result in data loss. -AND- if the crash is "hard" the data is lost anyways, unless the OP wants to spend $$$ on professional data recovery.

On a new system, I have to wonder how much data is there and what it is worth.

But the point is well made. Depending on the value of the data, either do the utilities thing first, or get the data off the drive first.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:16 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



Ok, I get it. But you did not really tell me what I am supposed to do. I know nothing of computers...

What is salvaging? How do you do it?

Out of curiosity, I went to another computer store, and the guy told me right away there was no need of me to even try to retrieve the data, since the HD was not detected. He also suggested that I should see a data retrieval specialist, but that I had to pay at least 1500 dollars!!!!

I am very frustrated...
__________________
cendrine is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 02:14 PM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i have moved you to laptops where you should have posted to start with or you will get instructions for a desktop that could make the situation worse
is the computer under warranty,if you bought it with vista it must be and you need to contact dell to fix it
wait for one of the laptop experts to reply
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 02:38 PM   #14
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,742
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by cendrine View Post
What is salvaging? How do you do it?

Out of curiosity, I went to another computer store, and the guy told me right away there was no need of me to even try to retrieve the data, since the HD was not detected. He also suggested that I should see a data retrieval specialist, but that I had to pay at least 1500 dollars!!!!

I am very frustrated...
To salvage the data, if you can see it copy to the second pc or CD/DVD

The computer store guy may be right or may not . . the only way you will know is to try it.
Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 02:47 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



since my hard drive is not detected, how on earth am I supposed to see the data? That was the whole point of that post.
__________________
cendrine is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 03:22 PM   #16
Mentor Hardware Team
 
PanamaGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Panama
Posts: 1,240
OS: WinXP Pro SP2; Windows Server 2003; Windows Vista Ultimate; Vista Business



As dai said, you really need to contact Dell since it should be under warranty. They will tell you how to run a diagnostic on the drive, if it can be done. If the hard drive has not been removed and attached to another computer, there is no way of telling whether it is the drive itself or something else, like the motherboard. If it turns out the drive is bad, Dell will replace it and give you the opportunity to take or send it somewhere for data recovery. But you should start by calling Dell, regardless of how painful that is.
__________________

It is hard to fail, but it is worse never to have tried to succeed.
PanamaGal is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 05:55 PM   #17
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,742
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by cendrine View Post
since my hard drive is not detected, how on earth am I supposed to see the data? That was the whole point of that post.
The fact that the drive is not seen in the pc that is trying to boot from it, does not necessarily mean it will not be seen when attached as a non-boot drive in another pc. . . and it may not, but is your best shot right now at saving your data.
Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 10:05 AM   #18
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



contact dell
if you start pulling it apart you will most likely void the warranty and if it is not the hard drive and the motherboard,then you would be valueing the data above the value of the laptop
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 03:09 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
OS: n/a



Hello,

My name is Mike, I’m a Technical Analyst located at Dell corporate headquarters in Round Rock, TX. I’m part of an internet outreach team developed to interact with the online community regarding technical questions and issues that customers face with Dell products. I read your question and wanted to offer some help.

You can run a pre boot diagnostic from your system by holding down the <Fn> key and then pressing the power button. Release both buttons and the PSA diagnostic should begin. Just follow the on-screen instructions and record the sequence of beeps and make note of any error codes that appear. If your system doesn’t run the test then go into the system BIOS (F2 at boot) and see if the system recognizes the hard drive. If so, the data should be fairly easy to recover, if not then you may be looking at a physical hard drive failure (broken heads or failed platter bearings) which would require a data recovery service to get the data back. Either way, lets look at some ways to try and rescue the information.

In order to see if the data is recoverable you would need to find an external hard drive carrier for a notebook hard drive (2.5"). You can usually find these at any local computer shop fairly cheap. You basically put the hard drive in the carrier which can then be connected to any other computer via USB. This bypasses the need for the OS to be loaded and you should be able to go in to the drives files just like a USB key. It will be an added drive in the “My Computer” options of the host computer (the computer you hook the hard drive carrier to.) If it doesn’t automatically find the drive, once connected via USB, you may have to go into disk management (right click on “My Computer” and choose “Manage” and then “Disk Management”), locate the drive and then right click and choose “Explore.” This should bring up a window that will allow you to see the data on the hard drive in which case you can simply drag and drop the information to another folder on the host computer or you can burn a CD or DVD with whatever data you need off of it.

If the drive didn’t show up in the BIOS, and you can’t see it after connecting it to the host computer and going through Disk Management, then the drive itself may be physically bad and you would have to take it to a data recovery center to get the information off. This can be a VERY expensive process so you may want to weigh the value of the data VS the cost of retrieving it. You can get an idea of the cost by searching the web for “Data Recovery Services” and see if it’s something you’re interested in. Before you do that you may want to look at some software options like Get Data Back, Recover my files, or any other data recovery software programs you can find. I can’t officially comment on their functionality, but I’ve had customers tell me about the software working well for them so it’s at least worth reading about and considering as an option.

As for the hard drive itself, if the system is still under warranty we can certainly replace it for you, but data backup and recovery are areas that our technical teams don’t touch. At most they can recommend some services, but for the most part we can’t do anything about recovering your information.

They say hindsight is 20/20 so this next statement is a bit on the obvious side, but it’s a good reminder. It’s always recommended that you make regular back up’s of your information because as you, and I’m sure many others in this forum, have seen first hand a hard drive can go at any time and usually without warning. I hope this information is helpful and I wish you luck!

Thank you,

Mike
Dell customer advocate
__________________
Dell_CA is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 11:51 PM   #20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Mike,

I assume from your post that you are here not as a "normal" volunteer (like all the rest of us) but rather in your official, paid and professional capacity, and so this post is "aimed" in this regard.

We frequently get numerous requests from Dell Computer owners, which in and of itself says something.

As you are part of some sort of "customer outreach" effort, and this forum is dedicated to helping computer users solve their computer problems -and- the proprietary nature of Dell components and systems (in addition to the additional difficulties involved with laptops) make helping Dell (and other "pre-built") customers more difficult, it seems to me that "solidifying" a relationship here between Dell customers and TSF Members might be benefical for all concerned.

I am thinking of the possiblity of dedicating a section of TSF to deal with Dell customers, their computers and their problems. "Focusing" these customers in a defined area that is regularly (as in continuously) monitored by Dell Customer Servicepeople (such as yourself) will not only speed-up and increase the quality of service to those Dell customers, it will also free-up volunteer resources to assist other Members that have not paid for customer technical service as part of the "package" of their computer purchase.

__________________
Girderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generic Host Process error - no sound moved from xp
Running XP SP1. I loaded up bf2, and it crashed, forcing me to restart my computer manually. After i load back up again, it got that error that said 'generic host process for win32 services has encountered a problem..." and then i lost my sound. The message has only popped up once, so i can't...
SuperTyphoon Inactive Malware Help Topics 51 12-29-2006 08:13 PM
Asus P4P800-P4C800 Series: "RAID-Ready" Setup on Intel ICH5R
Hello everyone! Recently there was a question about the step-by-step procedure to create a "RAID-Ready" system using a motherboard (mobo) having an Intel ICH5R chip, such as the Asus P4C800-E Deluxe. Having a "RAID-Ready" system means the system has only one SATA drive now, but everything else...
clintfan Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 04-23-2006 10:07 PM
Hi i have a 3ghz computer and cant do anything
my girlfriend came down from europe and i left her home on my computer now i have a whole bunch of popups which i never had before and my sustem is running very slow can you please help? i know you guys seem hella busy and i hate bugging you with my problem but i dont know what else to do. here is...
necasiowalker Inactive Malware Help Topics 6 06-13-2005 08:32 PM
Adaware probs
Hiya All, After trying to use Morpheus I have discovered loads of malware etc with Adaware. However when trying to get rid of it, Adaware freezes on the 'deleting' action. I have left it running for hours just in case it is working away but to no avail. Can anyone help? The file log is as...
artdec0 Resolved HJT Threads 9 04-06-2005 11:43 AM
ME locks up when deleting (HELP PLEASE)
Attached in my log file, I tried everything, Adware worked for a long time, all of a sudden it started freezing up IN THE DELETING MODE, then i have to reboot the system by unpluging computer for reboot..I HOPE I PUT THIS LOG FILE IN THE RIGHT PLACE....please help Thanks Ad-Aware SE Build...
jefffrey metz Win 98 & ME Support 1 12-26-2004 08:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts