Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Easynote SJ51 DVD drive problem

This is a discussion on Easynote SJ51 DVD drive problem within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have a Packard Bell Easynote SJ51. It comes with the dvd drive Mashita UJ-870. One day the DVD


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2012, 10:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Hi, I have a Packard Bell Easynote SJ51. It comes with the dvd drive Mashita UJ-870. One day the DVD stopped working. It wasn't even recognised in Bios. On the CD ROM entry in the bios it was None, and i couldn't change it. Although the Bios doesn't detect the device it is detected in device manager in Windows but with an error code 10. I have tried all the scenarios about uninstalling iTunes or recording software (neither was installed), deleting upper and lower filters in registry (neither was there) but nothing. One hint is that the drive's name in device manager isn't correct. It has some random characters like @$#$%... This usually happens (on desktop pcs) if on an IDE channel you mess up the master and slave devices. But here there isn't such a thing. Only one device on Ata, two Sata disks, and no configuration option either. Also,it happened all of a sudden so no option was changed. Finally I can assure you that it isn't the drives fault, because I tried it on an other computer, and it worked perfectly, with also the correct name recognised.

__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:24 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF see if this applies to you FIX: The DVD drive is not recognized after you install Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2 read and do not install anything if it is not a match to your issue

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Hi, thank you for your answer. No, unfortunately, this is not my case. The drive isn't even detected in bios, so there's something else wrong
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:34 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi have you tried going to device manager and right clicking on the device and choose uninstall then reboot windows should reinstall
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Yes, already done that, installation doesn't complete and comes with the same error code 10.
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:37 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Was this a upgrade to win 7 if so did you run the win 7 compatibilty check
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:38 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



No, Windows 7 isn't installed. The factory os is WIndows Vista, and I also installed windows xp as dual boot
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:40 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Ah ok your os is listed under your sig as win7 so is this vista that is giving the issue
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:44 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Same thing happening on Both Vista and XP.
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:45 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Try the fix it centre Microsoft Fix it Solution Center: troubleshooting software issues failing that and seeing as it is in both os the drive may have just plain failed and needs replacing
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 11:52 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



No, as I said I have already tried it on an other Laptop and it works completely.
UPDATE: I found that If I have a bootable cd rom in the drive, and then keep the drive spinning, the drive is detected in the bios boot menu...????? What could this mean?
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:02 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Sorry I missed that for some reason,Have you reset the boot order in your bios or had a issue with it recently
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:04 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Nope, nothing messed with. Just out of the blue!
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:11 PM   #14
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



It is firmly seated and recognised in another computer no bios glitches what about infections and did you notice if there is any driver or firmware update on the makers support site
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:43 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1


Cool

UPDATE: I Solved it! In device manager in windows when I browsed the IDE/ATA Channels I saw two devices connected with Ultra DMA Mode 6 transfer modes, and one device with multi Word DMA. So i guessed, these were my 2 disk drives (DMA 6) and the dvd drive (multi word). So I figured out that there has something to be as to how the dvd is recognised in master or slave settings. Unfortunately the bios doesn't offer such settings. At post, there is an option to press F3 for disc tray open. I tried that and found out that if I open the tray this way, and immediately enter bios the DVD was recognised successfully! So after that I logged into Windows and saw that the third device (the dvd) was now with an Ultra DMA mode 2 transfer mode, and the name appeared correctly and the DVD worked just fine. I then saved the bios settings and turned off the computer.
Even turned it on again and rebooted a couple of times just to be sure.
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:46 PM   #16
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Good work well done
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:48 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Thank you for your help and time
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:49 PM   #18
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Not at all your welcome
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 04:10 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Unfortunately, the problem is back. Although I tried shutting it down and a few restarts and everything was ok, I turned it on this morning just to find out that the problem was back.
__________________
mitsos1os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 11:14 AM   #20
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,599
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi is the same naming in device manager

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dvd Problem
Good day to you all. This is a dvd problem but I posted it in the Windows 7 support for some reason, I wish you could fix it. I cannot trace when the problem started but on some random day I just had the feeling that I needed to eject my dvd rom. So I did, but suddenly it didn't eject. It...
zafrius93 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 08-30-2011 02:40 AM
USB Flash drive crazy problem
I have windows XP and everything is running smoothly except for this problem. I have a new flash drive I've used about 8 or 9 times. It has been working fine until 2 days ago. I inserted the flash drive in the USB port. My PC reorganized the flash drive is in the port because it comes up as...
newlife Removable Media Drives 1 06-25-2011 06:36 PM
[SOLVED] Replacing exsisting SATA hard drive problem
My external hard drive recently stopped working. I have found that this due to a problem with the USB chip, so I have removed the hard drive from it's casing and am trying to find out how to get the information from it. My thoughts were to try and connect it to my desktop PC internally where I...
grantrough Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 01-03-2011 02:19 PM
Dvd Drive Making Computer Restart
My Specs Advent 7109B 120 GB Hard-Drive Windows 7 Proffessional (32 bit) Intel Celeron M CPU 410 @ 1.46GHz 1.50 GB Ram Dvd Drive (DVD + RW DL) = TSSTCorp Cd/DVDW TS/L632D Hi there i have been trying to solve this problem for month now. My laptop works fine without my dvd drive installed,...
mcgawn Other Hardware Support 5 01-02-2011 12:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts