Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Dell Studio won't start

This is a discussion on Dell Studio won't start within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a Dell Studio 1558 with Win7 OS, Core i5 . Computer will not start, first checked my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2011, 12:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



Hello,
I have a Dell Studio 1558 with Win7 OS, Core i5 .
Computer will not start, first checked my AC adapter with Volt Meter,
and it puts out 19V . LED light on adapter comes on when plugged in,
but goes out when connected to laptop. So, thought battery was bad, ordered a new one and came up with the same results when plugged in.
Is it possible the AC Adapter lights up, but under any load at all it shuts down? OR, what am I missing here, maybe it is internal in my laptop which
would require more knowledge than I have to fix? Computer was bought only 16 months ago.
Appreciate any help or comments.
Best regards,

__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 12:27 PM   #2
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello Ruudo and welcome to TSF,

Did you attempt to use a different power supply (AC Adapter)?

When testing with the voltmeter, the PSU is not under load. It sounds like it may have failed on you.

Most PC shops have spares for testing. I suggest calling around to see if any of them would be willing to check it for you.

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 12:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



gavinzach,
Thanks for your post, no I did not do that after I saw it putting out
the 19V. But I see your point regarding the load factor, and I will
see if a friend has a 19V adapter or hit some shop.
I'm no Geek, I assume any 19V adapter would be O.K. to try?
Best regards,
R
__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 12:52 PM   #4
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Is your adapter the wide style with the thin center pin, or is it the narrow style with no pin?
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 12:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



I assume you mean the plug itself? If so, it has a pin in that.
The adapter body itself is 1 3/4" wide by 4" long, came with the
Dell computer.
__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 01:00 PM   #6
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Yes. The plug itself. The thin center pin is so that the PSU and computer can communicate. The inside wall should be the positive and the outside wall would be negative.

Your best bet would be to test it with a Dell power supply with the proper spec.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 01:03 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



Thanks again, I will find a repair shop or maybe the guy at BatteriesPlus store can check it.
Appreciate your help very much.
R
__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 01:04 PM   #8
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

No problem. Keep us updated.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 03:34 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



On second thought, battery has about half power left in it,
and yet the computer won't start up.
So, not being a computer geek (expert), sounds to me like I have
a "internal" computer problem rather than battery or ac adapter.
Does that make sense to anyone or not?
__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 03:47 PM   #10
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Do you have a way of testing the power level of the battery without the computer being plugged in? The battery could be completely dead.

I am not saying that you are not correct. That is one reason I didn't suggest just purchasing a new power adapter.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 03:58 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



All I did, was to push the "button" next to the LED's on the battery,
and three lights come on. From what I read, this shows the battery has
some power in it. Wrong? The new one I ordered, also came up with
the three lights when I did that.
__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 04:07 PM   #12
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Okay. Your battery has a meter on it. New info!

You are not under warranty anymore, right???

You will need to disassemble the laptop. Look for burnt components on the motherboard and possible shorts. It could be as simple as a piece of foil bridging two solder points, or as complex as multiple ICs burning out.

Here is a link to the service manual.
Documentation

Let us know if you find anything or not.

Here are some troubleshooting tips
Black Screen Issues and Troubleshooting
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 04:38 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



gavin,
Ha, forget that my friend, I am NOT digging into my laptop when I don't know a darn thing about what I'm doing.
I't's goin to the shop where the boy's know what the hell they are doin'.
I did put more memory into our desktop though, and was real proud of myself for doing that! :-)
Hey thanks again for all your help!
Best regards,
R
__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-08-2011, 04:39 PM   #14
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

No problem and good luck! Keep us updated, if you will.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 11:03 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: Win7



gavin,
Well took it into the computer shop, had a call back shortly telling me
the "bad news". The Motherboard is shot.
So, new Dell only 16 months old crapped out.
Being a Studio model with the i5 , if felt it was worth $400 bucks to
get it repaired. Looks like my problem was not simple after all.
Thanks again for your help!
R
__________________
Ruudo is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 11:16 AM   #16
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

I wouldn't have thought so. If the adapter wasn't the issue, the motherboard was a definite.

Good luck with your computer! I wish we could have helped you through replacing your own board, but everyone has their comfort level.

Let us know how everything is when you get your PC back.

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Laptop Studio 1450 - Need Windows 7 Drivers 32 BIT
Hi Everybody, Pls advise me as I am really having tough time. I have got Laptop Dell Studio 1450 which came installed with Windows 7 64 bit edition. Recently I formatted and installed Windows 7 32 bit OS of my own. However I am unable to find Windows 7 32 bit edition compatible Drivers...
sunandoghosh Laptop Support 2 07-02-2011 01:43 PM
BSOD: BCCode 50
I'm experiencing bluescreens every 2 - 5 days with BCCode 50. I followed your recommendation using Driver Verifier and encountered a bluescreen on re-boot. Attached .dmp file was created. Will appreciate your assistance to resolve the issue. Thanks!
terrgood BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 06-04-2011 04:26 AM
Not Sure What the Problem Is
I ordered a few things on amazon, and I got an e-mail claiming to be from UPS. I clicked on the link that claimed to be my shipping information, and it began downloading a file. After it was too late, I realized that this was spam because tracking information is usually online, and not in...
MJPrudhomme Resolved HJT Threads 41 05-23-2011 03:09 PM
Need Help on startup listStartupList report, 11/04/2011, 10:10:33 StartupList version
StartupList report, 11/04/2011, 10:10:33 StartupList version: 1.52.2 Started from : C:\Documents and Settings\amy\My Documents\Downloads\HijackThis.EXE Detected: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600) Detected: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702) * Using default options * Including empty and...
leerobert Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 2 04-15-2011 08:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts