Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Dell Inspiron 14R N4010

This is a discussion on Dell Inspiron 14R N4010 within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Dell Inspiron 14R N4010: Nothing happens everytime I try to press the special keys in the keyboard My laptop suddenly


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2010, 07:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
OS: win7, Mandriva Linux 2010 Spring


Confused

Dell Inspiron 14R N4010: Nothing happens everytime I try to press the special keys in the keyboard


My laptop suddenly black out and when I surrendered it at the repair shop, I found out that the hard disk overheated and melted the parts. (AGGHHHHHhhhh.. >_<)

After it has been installed with a new OS: Windows 7 Ultimate and other drivers needed,
1) I can't find the Bluetooth.
2) The screen resolution can only be 1024x768. The screen is so stretched. Supposedly it should be 1024x800(around 800s)


ABOVE ALL,
3) When I press the keys 'Battery Info', 'Brightness down', 'Brightness up', 'Enable/Disable Touchpad', 'Sound on/off', 'volume up', 'volume down', 'pause', 'stop/play', etc, Nothing happens! WHAT'S WRONG??????? O_O

I AM SURE that the keys aren't broken or something because it still can use the Fn Keys. (The Fn keys and the special keys are on the same row of keys.)

example,
two options in ONE key:
1) brightness up
2) F5(as function "Fn")

If I Fn + (Brightness up/F5) == it will still refresh the desktop and browsers


__________________
dobidobz is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 04:15 PM   #2
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

This is a relatively new model if I'm not mistaken. As for your graphics, I'd go to the ATI (probably AMD) site and download the driver directly from them. I think that system has discrete Radeon graphics; the Mobility HD 5470, I think. Go check out the following web site and install the driver right from there. You should be able to get 1366x768 for resolution if you have the right driver.

amd.com

If that doesn't work, go right to the Dell sight. Here is the link:

Dell graphic drivers

As for your function key issue, I do believe you can fix that in your BIOS settings. Boot into your BIOS and look around for keyboard related options.

I hope this helps. Good luck.

Mike

__________________
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 03:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
OS: win7, Mandriva Linux 2010 Spring



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepfreek View Post
This is a relatively new model if I'm not mistaken. As for your graphics, I'd go to the ATI (probably AMD) site and download the driver directly from them. I think that system has discrete Radeon graphics; the Mobility HD 5470, I think. Go check out the following web site and install the driver right from there. You should be able to get 1366x768 for resolution if you have the right driver.

amd.com

If that doesn't work, go right to the Dell sight. Here is the link:

Dell graphic drivers

As for your function key issue, I do believe you can fix that in your BIOS settings. Boot into your BIOS and look around for keyboard related options.

I hope this helps. Good luck.

Mike


Thank you so much for your help! I managed to solve #2. Above all, THANKYOUUUU so much for your reply and sharing your knowledge.

BIOS? I guess I'll have to research on that. It's kinda complicated.

And by the way, In addition to my question #3 regarding the function keys, supposedly if i press them (brightness up/down, volume up/down, battery information, etc) there will be something that will appear on the screen. Just like you are in a menu in adjusting a monitor brightness, etc. There will be a small gray box and will display the info of whatever button i pressed. Such as the Battery Information key in the function key, it should display for a small amount of time the RANGE of my battery lifetime.
__________________
dobidobz is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 07:09 PM   #4
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Michael_Larsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 644
OS: W7 Pro, W7 Ultimate, Vista Ultimate, Windows XP Pro, Linux (Ubuntu)

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to Michael_Larsen

I'm glad I was able to help; even if just a little. To get into your BIOS, press the DEL key when you computer starts booting (you may already know that). Once in there you should be able to cycle through the various screens and perhaps find an option to activate those special functions.

Best wishes!

Mike
__________________
Michael_Larsen is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts