Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Dark Screen on Acer Aspire 5734Z

This is a discussion on Dark Screen on Acer Aspire 5734Z within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, Just wanted to check what I think I already know with someone a lot more knowledgeable than myself


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2011, 01:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 starter, Mac OSX



Hi there,

Just wanted to check what I think I already know with someone a lot more knowledgeable than myself who will likely be on this forum.

Last night as I went to enter the password on the log in screen The screen went very dim. From where i was sitting i could not see clearly anything on the screen however after sitting further back you could just make out the login screen. After entering the password the computer logged on as normal just on a very dark screen. Here are some key pieces of info:

1. I did not touch the screen before i entered the password. The laptop had already been on for a few hours before hand and had just sent itself to sleep.

2. After using the Fn and arrow buttons to increase/decrease the screen brightness nothing happens. There is no increase OR decrease.

3. After using the Fn and F6 key repeatedly the screen will turn bright for longer periods of time but only for a 5 seconds maximum. However when bright there is no dimness what so ever and it appears as normal.

4. When pressing the Fn and F6 key once it will flicker on and off very quickly.

5. I am 99% sure that if connected to an external monitor that the computer would run 100% fine.

I thought it may have been a backlight problem however I am not 100% sure anymore as the backlight is staying on for longer periods of time. Is there any chance it could be a software problem?

Any light to be shone on this (lol) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Bill

__________________
billywilliams is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 05:57 AM   #2
TSF Emeritus
 
Poyol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Greater Manchester
Posts: 733
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


1) Do you have the power cable plugged in?

__________________
BSOD Posting Instructions
Malware Removal First Steps
Expecting a reply? Not received one in 36 hours? Feel free to PM me.
Poyol is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 10:03 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check this
Black Screen Issues and Troubleshooting
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 12:17 PM   #4
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

The backlight is probably not at fault here. Usually, once they go, they are gone. The most likely culprit is your backlight inverter. It is a small board that converts the DC power into a high frequency AC that the backlight works. Sort of like the ballast in a fluorescent lamp.

The first thing you will want to check is the cable connections from the board to the inverter and from the inverter to the LCD panel. To do this you will need to remove the button panel and the screen bezel to access the wires. You should be able to remove the bezel on this model without removing the hinges.

The inverter will be located on the bottom of the lcd panel and will have two sets of wires attached to it. One will be a group of 6 to 8 wires that run into the video cable or to the motherboard and the other will be two wires in a connector that is shaped like a U. Check to make sure these connections are securely attached to the inverter.

If this does not resolve your issue, you will need to replace the inverter board.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 9410 horizontal lines on screen
For about a year I have a problem with the screen of my laptop. The problem is increasing and is so annoying by now, it's time to see if I can fix it. When the screen is at a normal working angle (about 90 degrees) it is often showing white, horizontal lines, especially on black parts of a screen....
Guust_Flater Laptop Support 6 01-15-2012 10:25 AM
Black Screen - Acer Aspire 5100
Hey, My Acer Aspire 5100, without previous warning of trouble, doesn't boot anymore. I press the power button, it goes green, the fan works, but nothing more happens than a black screen. I've searched the forum and the web and it seems a bios issue. I've already tried to remove RAM,...
MMestre Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 04-02-2011 09:59 AM
Acer Aspire 5920G Screen Problem
Hi, Tried starting up my Acer laptop today and the screen has horizontal lines all over it, cant make out anything. When it gets to the winfows start up screen it just stays there, and the lines twitch off and on...I can vaguely see the wibdows start up message. is this the end of my laptop?!...
toukibouki Laptop Support 3 03-13-2011 08:52 PM
Acer Aspire 5600 Screen
Hi TSF! I have got an Acer Aspire 5600, and it has a broken screen. I am not actually sure if it has a broken screen or if it is just a loose connection. The top quarter of the screen works, but the rest does not. When I press on the side of the screen, the three quarters that is not displaying...
Ooudestomp Laptop Support 27 02-07-2011 11:54 AM
Acer Aspire 6920 Blue screen during format!?
Ok the blue screen error is 0x000000E3 and was happening in windows 7 & vista before it, so I had booted from disk to format and half-way through the format it blue screened!!!! I always thought it was a windows problem to have a blue screen but now I'm thinking it could be the bios???any ideas?...
gc28 Laptop Support 9 01-11-2011 06:51 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts