Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Compaq CQ50 Wont Boot

This is a discussion on Compaq CQ50 Wont Boot within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm a noob, first and foremost. On to my problem and hopefully some help? This laptop, my sons, has ALWAYS

Closed Thread

Old 02-18-2010, 10:04 AM   #1
Registered Member

I'm a noob, first and foremost. On to my problem and hopefully some help?

This laptop, my sons, has ALWAYS ran very hot, since day one. It can actually burn your skin of you tried. Thought I'd start with that. Also note it is rather dirty, sticky keys, soda spilled....etc. I know, I'm working with him! Also I have no recovery discs. Oh, running (or DID) XP.

It recently flashed a blue screen with a bunch of text, and disappeared. I gather thats the blue screen of death? Since then, it wont boot. I can enter the BIOS screens (again, noob) and tried to check the drive, it says "diagnosis not supported." I assume that meant the drive is bad and not recognized. (I can, however, run a memory test. That checked out)

Also note I cannot enter safe mode/recovery. It's the f11 key for this unit (even read about a alt+f11). Repeatedly hitting during start up and nothing.

So I bought a hard drive, and the same thing...Wont boot. It ends up a black screen with blinking cursor, top left.

I burned this (http://www.diskinternals.com/download.shtml#cd) Disceternals...to a disc, changed my boot order to dvd rom first, and still no results/changes.

Any suggestions on the next move would be great. Thanks in advance.

Old 02-18-2010, 11:58 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

Hello DP68

Was the laptop new when you bought it?
How old is the laptop?
How does your son operate the laptop? If he is like most kids then it will be something like this;