Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Asus UL30A - freezing/locking up periodically

This is a discussion on Asus UL30A - freezing/locking up periodically within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all. Newbie here. I have an Asus UL30A laptop (over a year and a half old). Specs here: Asus

Old 08-31-2011, 07:15 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi all. Newbie here.

I have an Asus UL30A laptop (over a year and a half old).

Specs here: Asus UL30A X32 13.3" 3GB 320GB HDD Laptop Windows 7: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

It has recently started to completely freeze/lock up completely periodically for round about 2-3 minutes a time. It seems to happen when I'm running media (either listening to music or watching videos (whether streaming online or direct from the hard drive)).

I've managed to put a video up of what frequently occurs.

ASUS UL30A freeze, freezing, crashing, soundloop, bug - Help or advice? - YouTube (approx 43 seconds in) (Warning, do put the volume down as it is a terrifying noise (not Lady GaGa herself!)!

I have no idea whatsoever what is causing it. Nothing appears in the event viewer or error logs. I did carry out a factory reset and the laptop seemed to be working well but the problem started happening again recently. I assume it is a problem with the sound card and/or graphics card. Any help or advice would be most welcome.

Thanks!

Old 08-31-2011, 11:31 AM   #2
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello safzx and welcome to TSF,

Does your computer get warm while running videos?

First thing to do is to make sure the cooling system is clear of dust... Grab a can of compressed air duster (available at most office supply stores). Keeping the can upright, blow the air into the cooling vents located on the bottom and rear of the computer.