Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Asus eee pc netbook will not boot from hdd.

This is a discussion on Asus eee pc netbook will not boot from hdd. within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a asus netbook that will not boot from the hdd. I will go to the windows splash screen


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2012, 10:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I have a asus netbook that will not boot from the hdd. I will go to the windows splash screen then just get caught in a loop from the splash screen to the reboot options screen. I have tried installing a known good hdd w/ windows installed and it does the same thing. What could be going on here? When installing the new/good hdd do I need to change settings anywhere in the bios or anything? It will not boot into safemode either. Please help.

__________________
neemo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:14 AM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,375
OS: XP, Win 7



I would start with running diagnostics on the hard drive by downloading the diagnostic tool for the hard drive brand and making a bootable disc.

Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.

See this for how to make a bootable cd:

How to Burn a Bootable ISO File

__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:20 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,772
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


If that is Vista or Windows 7 you can tap F8 continuously after pressing the power button until you see a screen with some options the first of which should be "repair Your Computer" and if you choose the "cmd" prompt and type in "chkdsk /r" and then hit "enter" on the keyboard, answer "Y" and "enter" when prompted the computer will have to reboot to do so and then restart. Checkdisk should bring it back to Windows.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 05:59 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I have ran chkdsk on the original hdd and still would not boot that is what prompted me to use my known good hdd and im still getting the same issue. The hdd that ive tried works fine as I can use it perfectly in my other laptop. So it makes me think that something is wrong the mobo or bios maybe?
__________________
neemo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:30 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,772
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Using the hard drive to try to boot up doesn't mean anything though, the hardware is different and no hard drive with Windows on it would boot for you that way. Have you tried installing Windows on another hard drive with a Windows disk.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 05:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
OS: vista



I just tried installing another hdd that i have windows vista installed and its still doing the same thing.
__________________
neemo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:24 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,772
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by neemo6 View Post
I just tried installing another hdd that i have windows vista installed and its still doing the same thing.
Same answer you have to install Windows on the drive in the computer for it to work as all hardware is different. You will not be able to boot a hard drive with Windows installed from another system.

__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts