Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Add graphic card to dell studio 15 laptop

This is a discussion on Add graphic card to dell studio 15 laptop within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have a dell studio 15 laptop and wondering if i can add a graphic card to it. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2009, 11:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win Vista



Hi,

I have a dell studio 15 laptop and wondering if i can add a graphic card to it. I know that dell provides a studio 15 with a graphic card, but when i bought the laptop i didn't think i'll need the card. Does dell provide these sort of upgrades or i'll have to get it done from a local techie.

Thanks for the help.

__________________
achar_varun is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 12:51 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
We need the exact model of this laptop or your service tag number.
The Dell Studio 15 is the series number not the model number

Most laptops have integrated video cards so in order to update/Upgrade them you would have to replace the Motherboard that has the card you want. I believe this series does apply (no upgrade for the Video)

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 01:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win Vista



The model number is studio 1555 and the service tag number S/N is J3JT7K1.
There are models which have the same processor and have a graphic card.

If i have to go in for the upgrade, how much will it cost me?
__________________
achar_varun is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 01:36 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


According to your sevice tag you can not upgrade the graphics card. It is Integrated into the motherboard. This model comes with either an:
Intel Mobile Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD
Or
AMD ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 4570 graphics card.
Both of these cards are integrated and can not be replaced.

The cost to upgrade these graphics cards would be the cost of a new laptop that has the card you want.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 01:55 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win Vista



My windows experience rating shows 3.8 for 3D business and gaming graphics experience. Will i be able to run games like Fear and crysis?

Thanks for your help.
__________________
achar_varun is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 02:41 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


What card do you have installed, ATI or Intel?
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 02:49 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win Vista



intel...
__________________
achar_varun is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 02:54 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Benchmarks:
http://pcgamingcorner.com/wordpress/?p=820

Basically not very well
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:17 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Win Vista



thanks a lot... you were a lot of help... looks like i'll have to get rid of this laptop sooner than i expected!
__________________
achar_varun is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:43 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Sorry, if it was not the info you wanted to hear.
Bill

__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts