Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Acer Aspire 7745 loses Wifi connection

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire 7745 loses Wifi connection within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I've got an Acer Aspire 7745 and I am finding that it frequently drops the wifi connection. When I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2010, 02:28 AM   #1
KPS
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Hello, I've got an Acer Aspire 7745 and I am finding that it frequently drops the wifi connection. When I start up my laptop, it finds my wifi signal no problem and has no issues connecting to it. After a while (it doesn't seem to have any sort of typical timeframe to happen), it just stops connecting to the wifi signal even though it will recognize that it's available. If I try to connect to it again, it just says "unable to connect".

When I try to troubleshoot, it goes through the process and eventually tries to reset the adapter. It disables it fine, but when it re-enables it, the computer freezes/locks up making force-restart it. If I don't do the troubleshooting method by try and disable the adapter and re-enable it, the same thing occurs.

If I don't do any of that, once the wifi signal is dropped, if I restart the computer, things seem to connect again just fine (until the next time it drops it).

I originally bought the laptop and found this problem, so I took it back to costco where I bought it, and got a new one thinking that it was just a defective particular laptop, but this one has the same issue has the previous one (same make/model).

I don't have any similar issues with any other hardware that uses the wifi signal.

I use windows 7 and there doesn't seem to be any sort of common "program" that I have running each time the signal loss happens.

Anybody have a similar problem or heard of this?

__________________
KPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 02:54 AM   #2
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello KPS and welcome to TSF,

First thing you should do is attempt to update your Wireless Network Adapter's driver.

You can do this by opening device manager and right clicking on the device and selecting "Update Driver".

__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 12:34 PM   #3
KPS
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for the welcome and tip.

I've just tried that, and it seems that the driver is up to date.
__________________
KPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 03:50 PM   #4
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello again. Do you know what wireless adapter your Acer has?

Go into Device Manager to find out.... It will either be Atheros, Broadcom or Intel
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 10:19 PM   #5
KPS
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



It's a Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
__________________
KPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:39 PM   #6
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Try changing the wireless channel of the router you are connecting to. It is possible there is interference from other electronic devices that, for some reason, is affecting the Broadcom Wireless Adapter more than the other devices that connect to the network.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:51 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by KPS View Post
Hello, I've got an Acer Aspire 7745 and I am finding that it frequently drops the wifi connection. When I start up my laptop, it finds my wifi signal no problem and has no issues connecting to it. After a while (it doesn't seem to have any sort of typical timeframe to happen), it just stops connecting to the wifi signal even though it will recognize that it's available. If I try to connect to it again, it just says "unable to connect".

When I try to troubleshoot, it goes through the process and eventually tries to reset the adapter. It disables it fine, but when it re-enables it, the computer freezes/locks up making force-restart it. If I don't do the troubleshooting method by try and disable the adapter and re-enable it, the same thing occurs.

If I don't do any of that, once the wifi signal is dropped, if I restart the computer, things seem to connect again just fine (until the next time it drops it).

I originally bought the laptop and found this problem, so I took it back to costco where I bought it, and got a new one thinking that it was just a defective particular laptop, but this one has the same issue has the previous one (same make/model).

I don't have any similar issues with any other hardware that uses the wifi signal.

I use windows 7 and there doesn't seem to be any sort of common "program" that I have running each time the signal loss happens.

Anybody have a similar problem or heard of this?

I had the same problem as you and updated the wireless network adapter driver for the Aspire 7745 from the ACER website from 5.60.350.6 to 5.60.48.35. What driver revision do you currently have for the adapter?
__________________
Jay R. Yablon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 07:53 PM   #8
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Thank you for the input and the information Jay, it is much appreciated!
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 08:29 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



I also made one other change I saw suggested on another forum. In the device manager, I unchecked (said no to) "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power." That makes good sense because the wireless adapter is certainly cutting off, and there is a history of problems with windows systems getting locked up after something goes into hibernation.
__________________
Jay R. Yablon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 05:59 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay R. Yablon View Post
I also made one other change I saw suggested on another forum. In the device manager, I unchecked (said no to) "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power." That makes good sense because the wireless adapter is certainly cutting off, and there is a history of problems with windows systems getting locked up after something goes into hibernation.

Sorry to report I dropped the connection again about an hour ago. So the two changes I made (driver upgrade, remove the power off for the network adapter) did not solve the problem.
__________________
Jay R. Yablon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 06:37 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by KPS View Post
Hello, I've got an Acer Aspire 7745 and I am finding that it frequently drops the wifi connection. When I start up my laptop, it finds my wifi signal no problem and has no issues connecting to it. After a while (it doesn't seem to have any sort of typical timeframe to happen), it just stops connecting to the wifi signal even though it will recognize that it's available. If I try to connect to it again, it just says "unable to connect".

When I try to troubleshoot, it goes through the process and eventually tries to reset the adapter. It disables it fine, but when it re-enables it, the computer freezes/locks up making force-restart it. If I don't do the troubleshooting method by try and disable the adapter and re-enable it, the same thing occurs.

If I don't do any of that, once the wifi signal is dropped, if I restart the computer, things seem to connect again just fine (until the next time it drops it).

I originally bought the laptop and found this problem, so I took it back to costco where I bought it, and got a new one thinking that it was just a defective particular laptop, but this one has the same issue has the previous one (same make/model).

I don't have any similar issues with any other hardware that uses the wifi signal.

I use windows 7 and there doesn't seem to be any sort of common "program" that I have running each time the signal loss happens.

Anybody have a similar problem or heard of this?


As I mentioned earlier, I have the same problem. I just did an internet chat with ACER technical support. They wanted me to do a system recovery which is like killing a mosquito with a bazooka, and which would put me out of business for a week before I could get all my programs and files properly reinstalled.

They insisted that I was the first to report this problem, which is one reason they gave for giving me the runaround. Have you reported this? If not, please do. They need to hear this from others. I was told if they heard from more than just me, they would escalate this through their whole technical support team.
__________________
Jay R. Yablon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 11:58 PM   #12
KPS
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Unfortunately the 2 fixes that were suggested didn't do it for me either. I still have the same problem.

Either the techie from Acer wasn't being truthful to you, or for whatever reason, my initial complaint to them didn't get recorded. I did send in something to acer with the first laptop, however I haven't done it since with this replacement one that I got. I will do so...
__________________
KPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 10:14 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Hey KPS...

Did you ever solve you WiFi lockup problem? When I read your thread, you describe EXACTLY what I too am experiencing right now. It's frustrating to say the least. Can you let me know if you or anyone else has had success in solving this problem? I appreciate you input... thanks...

Dave
__________________
DaveInCampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 09:28 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



I am inquiring about a solution to this issue as well. I am having the exact same problem.
__________________
jamstar01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:26 AM   #15
KPS
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Sorry everyone, I had forgotten to post when I did it as it ended up becoming a moot point. After I returned my first one to Costco because of the problem (hoping it was simply an issue with the particular laptop and not the model) and ended up seeing the same issue with the replacement, I took mine back to costco for a refund and didn't get a replacement. So I'm afraid I never had a solution that worked...
__________________
KPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:01 AM   #16
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,090
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello again KPS,

I am sorry it didn't work out for you, I assume you found a suitable replacement you are happy with?
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 11:36 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



I appreciate having this page as this is exactly the problem I've been having right down to having bought the computer at Costco. I have a Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter and just updated the wireless network adapter driver for the Aspire 7745 from the ACER website from 5.60.350.6 to 5.60.48.35. We'll see how it goes. Thank you for the help.:)
__________________
KarlM144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:05 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Win7



Hi everybody

I had this same problem with my ACER 7745 bought at Costco...

I updated my Broadcom driver with this one:

5.100.82.63
from 17/03/11 that can be found at:

Broadcom drivers

So far no disconnection!

Hope this helps!

Gael



__________________
Gael9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 06:13 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 SP 1 64-BIT



Mine does the same thing. I emailed support and they had me check all these updates. They were all updated with the current version of drivers and or settings. I then sent my unit to Acer for repair. I just got it back and within 15 minutes it dropped the internet connection. I looked at what they did. They downloaded all windows updates that included a wireless driver. They said they had no problems with internet connection for 3 hours. (The same thing I did). Anyways called back Acer and they want me to restore my hard drive. (Another thing is I just got the unit back from repair 3 weeks ago because the hard drive failed and they had to replace it.) Why would you need to restore a hard drive when it is brand new. I have been on the phone with them for over an hour and they want me to send it back again. Why so they can update it again and find no hardware problem. I think not. If anyone has any ideas please let me know. Apparently Acer has no clue and I am not losing another 2 weeks of work to have them do nothing. I have no faith in them and will never buy another Acer again and will tell everyone that! Please let me know if you were able to get yours fixed. Thanks

__________________
JenSun27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts