Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Acer Aspire 7720 Screen Changing Colour / Flickering

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire 7720 Screen Changing Colour / Flickering within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This morning my laptop's screen started acting a little strange and has started changing colour and flickering as well as


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2011, 05:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Win7



This morning my laptop's screen started acting a little strange and has started changing colour and flickering as well as the overall quality dropping substantially. I have a video uploaded to YouTube which gives an idea of what the issue is

Thanks for any help you can offer.

__________________
philiplaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 07:24 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,132
OS: windows 7

My System


Hi philiplaw welcome to TSF,

Hook it up to an external monitor does it do the same thing? Does moving the screen affect it any?

__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 08:45 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Win7



OK, hooked it up to my desktop's monitor and there is no flickering, everything is as expected.
__________________
philiplaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 08:49 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,132
OS: windows 7

My System


ok does movement affect the screen at all
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 08:51 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Win7



No, opening/closing the lid and generally moving the laptop around doesn't affect the problem.
__________________
philiplaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 09:01 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,132
OS: windows 7

My System


are you still under warranty?
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 09:02 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Win7



Unfortunately not. That would have been much better.
__________________
philiplaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 09:09 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,132
OS: windows 7

My System


well that leaves two things, inverter or screen itself. inverter would be the cheapest of the two. i would start with the inverter.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 09:11 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Win7



I must admit, that through searching it was the inverter that I was leaning towards, but wasn't certain enough to just order one. Thank you for your help!
__________________
philiplaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 09:13 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,132
OS: windows 7

My System


your welcome, keep us posted on the out come.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 03:18 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Win7



I have just installed the new inverter and sadly that has not solved the problem.
__________________
philiplaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 07:32 AM   #12
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,132
OS: windows 7

My System


then thats would suggest the screen is the issue.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 03:33 PM   #13
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,132
OS: windows 7

My System


i could possibly be the cable also, make sure all connections are good.

__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 5600 Screen
Hi TSF! I have got an Acer Aspire 5600, and it has a broken screen. I am not actually sure if it has a broken screen or if it is just a loose connection. The top quarter of the screen works, but the rest does not. When I press on the side of the screen, the three quarters that is not displaying...
Ooudestomp Laptop Support 27 02-07-2011 11:54 AM
My acer aspire one can't start up. Can someone help me pls?
Hello. Yesterday i logged on my computer and everything was normal but than a software i don’t remember installing or maybe it was part of the acer aspire one laptop that i brought, suddenly popped up and saying that i have 17 item found that were types of malware, trojan, or tracking cookie....
bluepie Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 1 01-16-2011 06:58 PM
[SOLVED] Acer ASPIRE 5520g boot problem (when turned on it turns off)
http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f108/solved-acer-aspire-5520g-boot-problem-when-turned-on-it-turns-off-415617-2.html Got exact the same problem, i was just working on this laptop when it suddently started restarting without reason, havent tried bios flash or anything and now i can`t...
voovode Laptop Support 3 01-15-2011 12:01 PM
Acer Aspire 6920 Blue screen during format!?
Ok the blue screen error is 0x000000E3 and was happening in windows 7 & vista before it, so I had booted from disk to format and half-way through the format it blue screened!!!! I always thought it was a windows problem to have a blue screen but now I'm thinking it could be the bios???any ideas?...
gc28 Laptop Support 9 01-11-2011 06:51 AM
Acer Apire One Linpus Lite, boots to blue screen then hangs
Hi, just found this forum via a google search and hope you can help, My daughters Acer Aspire One netbook has the same problem as in this thread.. http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f64/acer-8-9-linpus-wont-boot-help-317482.html It's running Linpus Lite, and has been working fine for...
Si Cosis Linux Support 2 01-10-2011 08:05 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts