Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Acer Aspire 7520 - Reset BIOS

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire 7520 - Reset BIOS within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi How do I reset the BIOS on my Acer. I can't find the BIOS battery or connector... My laptop


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2009, 03:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
OS: Vista and XP SP3



Hi

How do I reset the BIOS on my Acer. I can't find the BIOS battery or connector...

My laptop doesn't boot. It went into a cycle of start/stop/start/stop.....2 sec of start before stop and so on. I had to remove battery pack to end the cycle. The boot process stopped before I could push DEL to enter the BIOS menu. So I will try to reset BIOS, my only option....

OS is Vista

Any idea how to solve the problem?

__________________
Eivind is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:06 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,088
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

When you get in BIOS, check that the hard drive is rec ognized

Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 05:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
OS: Vista and XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
and welcome to the Forum

When you get in BIOS, check that the hard drive is rec ognized
First I had to find out how to reset BIOS, HELP!!??
__________________
Eivind is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 03:20 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
OS: xp



Eivind,

It is a hardware problem. reseting bios won't do anything.
The discussion of this very problem will be found at:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/f210...ff-343165.html

Good luck.
__________________
andrexman1 is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 03:27 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
OS: xp



by the way, if you still wanna reset the BIOS, here's how to do it:
You'll have to remove the Cmos battery (a round battery similar to those you find in watches) for at least 30 min. and the next time you start the computer the BIOS will reset.

The only problem is that the computer won't go into bios, the power cuts off before the screen even turn on..
__________________
andrexman1 is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 04:37 PM   #6
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,088
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Eivind View Post
First I had to find out how to reset BIOS, HELP!!??
To reset . . enter BIOS click on Reset to defaults . .
Old Rich is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 11:18 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
OS: Vista and XP SP3



Andrexman1

Your right, it's logic. It must be a hardware problem since the Acer turn off before the screen turn on. May I have to replace the processor or ...... ?


The case: "Reset BIOS"
How ever, I removed the panels under the laptop, but can't see/find the Cmos battery. Where is it "hide"? Do I have to remove the keyboard panel also ?
__________________
Eivind is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
OS: xp



Yes, the cmos battery is underneath the keyboard. It's not hard to remove it. Just open up the part with the buttons, it's all on clips and 2 screws in the battery compartment, and then just pull the keyboard out.

Good luck, and if you fixed your please tell me how you did it! :)
__________________
andrexman1 is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 02:45 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
OS: winxp,vista



hi its a motherboard fault,take keyboard out,press on motherboard left hand side,use plastic handle,small screwdrivers best,turn on and try different areas,my 7520 now working fine,its probably a bad solder joint.
__________________
falcons is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 06:11 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i think the battery is soldered in on your model

here is a link to your manual

http://support.acer.com/acerpanam/ma...520G_UG_EN.pdf
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 09:43 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7 ultimate 64 bit



thanks i will try some of the tips

__________________
watch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts