Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Acer Aspire 5672WLMi fan control

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire 5672WLMi fan control within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, I received the Acer Aspire 5670 just the other day that I had ordered. I'm liking it a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2006, 10:45 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt

Hi everyone,

I received the Acer Aspire 5670 just the other day that I had ordered.

I'm liking it a lot, except for one very big thing- it gets very very hot. To the point where keeping it on my lap is extremely uncomfortable. The exhaust fan really only comes on during intense gaming, so when it's off, the heat just dissipates through the bottom (into my lap) and through the touchpad.

That said, can anyone recommend a good program for controlling the fan? I tried SpeedFan, which I'd used in the past, and it tells me the temps of the hard drive and and system (which right now is a sweltering 60C), but won't let me touch the fan settings.

Thanks in advance!

__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 10:57 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 1,246
OS: Windows xp Pro/Vista Beta 2/Ubuntu 6.06 LTS

My System

Send a message via AIM to laboye Send a message via MSN to laboye Send a message via Yahoo to laboye Send a message via Skype™ to laboye
I have no idea. On a Toshiba, you can set "Performance Cooling" through Toshiba's Power Saver control panel.

__________________
Repair Windows XP Guide --- Resolutions
Crazy Computer that I'm saving up for::Antec P180 Case;PC Pwr&Cooling 1kW Quad SLI PSU;Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe;Intel Core2 XE X6800;Corsair TWIN2XP2048 2GB PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM;2xAsus GeForce 7950 GX2;BFG PhysX Accel.;IBM DVD-RAM/Plextor DVD±RW;Seagate 750GB HD 7200RPM;WDX 150GB 10000RPM;Vigor Monsoon TEC Cooler
laboye is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 11:03 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt
I know, I used to have an old Toshiba Satellite 460CDT and even that one had a fan adjustment in the video bios...
__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:04 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt
On Acers, you can configgure the fan to be "always on" the low setting in the BIOS. Other than that, there really isn't anything you can do except get a cooling pad. Acers get really hot, so you don't want to make the fan go off. Mine goes on that really high setting you were describing at about 60 degrees (c). Thats hot. So much that in addition to using a cooling pad, I run it with the bottom pannel thats over the CPU anb heatsink off in the summer.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 09:31 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt
Wow, that's pretty extreme.

Well I've found what seems to be a part of the problem- What I thought was the fan exhaust is actually the intake. You know, the little grille on the right side? And for some odd reason, it blows out the bottom. It's a shame I can't crack the lid and reverse the polarity of the fan. That would probably clear it up somewhat.

But when you mentioned that you can change it in the BIOS... you mean when it boots up, or is there a video BIOS you can access from windows? I just didn't see an option for cooling when I looked earlier.
__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 05:51 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt
The bottom is the intake and the side is the exhale on mine. You can also change it in the Acer eSettings
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 09:20 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt
On further review, the bottom is in fact the intake like I'd thought earlier.

Maybe I need to download an updated version of esettings, because in mine all you can change BIOS-wise is the boot order and passwords.
__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 11:02 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt
Guess that's not an option... The files acer has on its website are super-old, and the old one won't install on top of the new one. Maybe I'll just uninstall this one and put the old one on.
__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 05:54 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox
Maybe I need to download an updated version of esettings, because in mine all you can change BIOS-wise is the boot order and passwords.
Go into boot options and look under power on options, and put an "x" in the box labeled "Fan always Enabled".

If not, perhaps this is the download you need.
http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/for...ords=&areaid=2

I would also get a cooling pad, as this helped a lot with my laptop cooling problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fan.JPG
Views:	136
Size:	101.3 KB
ID:	7395  
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 09:20 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt
Yeah, that's the option I don't have in eSettings boot options... the only check box I'm given is 'enable fast boot'.

I'm going to uninstall eSettings and install the old one; hopefully that'll help. If not, I'm going to go a little more extreme and download the eSettings version for the 3000- it's got to be in one of them, and I'm sure that they're similar enough to be compatible.

By the way, thanks a lot for all your suggestions so far. I really appreciate the time you've taken to help me out with this.
__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 11:51 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
OS: winXP x64


I just got this laptop recently as well, so did the new esetting (or old) work out? Even though I got a cooling pad it seems to remain warm and the fan never turns on by itself.... It would really help if I can get a way to have the fan on.
__________________
123hamster is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 12:23 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt
Unfortunately, the old esettings, while it gave me the option to have the fan always on, checking the box and hitting apply didn't change anything. I suppose the two models are different enough that that doesn't work.

The fan on mine, while on AC, is always on, albeit low. The trick is to make sure that you're not blocking the air intake on the bottom right with your hip if you have it on your lap.

I plan on eventually splicing the fan's power leads and attaching them to a constant power source connector on the bottom. This, of course, will take place some time after the warranty is over.
__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:41 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
TheMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 13,690
OS: Win 3.1, 98, NT 4.0, XP Debian 4.0, Kubuntu 6.06

My System

Send a message via MSN to TheMatt
You have to reboot for the settings to take affect.
__________________
TheMatt is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:56 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
V0lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,771
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via ICQ to V0lt
Really... Well I'll give it a try when I get back.

I tried to merge the two partitions that come by default in partitionmagic, and it totally destroyed my windows installation so I'm in a fresh install with most of the drivers reloaded. It's better this way anyway...

__________________
Antec Neo Power 500W, ABIT IP35-E, Intel E5200 OC'd, Corsair XMS2 4x1GB DDR2-800, EVGA GTX 260, 750GB WD Black
V0lt is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts