Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Acer 5715Z Fan run constantly at full speed

This is a discussion on Acer 5715Z Fan run constantly at full speed within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Help The fan on my Acer Aspire 5715Z laptop runs constantly at full speed and sounds like a hair dryer!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2011, 04:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



Help
The fan on my Acer Aspire 5715Z laptop runs constantly at full speed and sounds like a hair dryer!
Its an intermittent fault which can start running fast at any time, and once it starts it does not stop!
The CPU is running at only 2%

Things I have tried...

I have cleaned at the dust fron the heatsink and Fans
I have no malisious malware running
I have closed all programs down that are running in the background
I have put the Laptop in the cold garage for 1 hour and its still running fast.
I have remove my anti virus software, then re-installed it when it did not solve the problem.

Please help.

Woody


Acer Aspire 5715Z
Vista
1.46ghz 533mhz FSB 1mb L2 Cache
120gb HD
Intel Graphic media accelerator X3100
2gb DDR2

__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 04:42 PM   #2
Sr. Tech, TSF Team Emeritus Microsoft Support Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,097
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


Hey reeflodge and welcome to TSF. Please doenload the two programs below and post the results. Thank you.

First downloadCore Temp. This will tell us your core temps. Then

Download CPU-Z
CPU-Z is a freeware that gathers information on some of the main devices of your system.

CPU

* Name and number.
* Core stepping and process.
* Package.
* Core voltage.
* Internal and external clocks, clock multiplier.
* Supported instructions sets.
* All cache levels (location, size, speed, technology).

Mainboard

* Vendor, model and revision.
* BIOS model and date.
* Chipset (northbridge and southbridge) and sensor.
* Graphic interface.

Memory

* Frequency and timings.
* Module(s) specification using SPD (Serial Presence Detect) : vendor, serial number, timings table.

System

* Windows and DirectX version.

__________________
mcorton is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 04:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



OK here is the Core Temp
(other to follow)
Attached Images
 
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:05 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



CPU-Z Report
Attached Files
File Type: txt WOODY-PC.txt (79.6 KB, 27 views)
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:19 PM   #5
Sr. Tech, TSF Team Emeritus Microsoft Support Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,097
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


Thank you reeflodge. For reasons unknown I've been unable to open txt files. Is it possible to save it as a doc file? I will say your core temps are too low so I'm thinking your CPU isn't working correctly. Also if you can copy and paste you infor about your CPU it'll help. thank you.
__________________
mcorton is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:49 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



Is this any better?
Attached Files
File Type: doc CPU1.doc (3.10 MB, 28 views)
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-16-2011, 06:03 PM   #7
Sr. Tech, TSF Team Emeritus Microsoft Support Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,097
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


I'm afraid not, Can you make a screenshot of the info below form CPU Z. Also if you will, check the corp temps from your bios.
__________________
mcorton is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 12:55 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



CPU-Z images
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CPU.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	88583   Click image for larger version

Name:	Caches.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	88584  
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 12:57 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



Graphics & Mainboard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Graphics.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	88585   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mainboard.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	88586  
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 12:58 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



Memory & SPD
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Memory.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	88587   Click image for larger version

Name:	SPD.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	36.2 KB
ID:	88588  
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:16 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by mcorton View Post
Also if you will, check the corp temps from your bios.
I'm not sure how to do this?
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:26 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: romania
Posts: 59
OS: win 7 32b



hi !!check in bios .you may have an option to set the fan speed to auto according to temperature.
__________________
xpert71 is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:29 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by xpert71 View Post
hi !!check in bios .you may have an option to set the fan speed to auto according to temperature.
Thanks
Can you explain how I do this?
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 01:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: romania
Posts: 59
OS: win 7 32b



i dont know your bios .enter your bios an go looking for fan setup.or maybe u instal some program from acer which take control of your fan .look in power settings in windows.
__________________
xpert71 is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 02:06 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



I have downloaded the latest Bios settings from Acer V1.45 but it made no difference to the fan running fast and constantly.
I have looked in the power setting and you cant acess the Bios from there.
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 06:02 AM   #16
Sr. Tech, TSF Team Emeritus Microsoft Support Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,097
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


When you boot the computer there'll be a brief screen that says to press a key to enter bios, some call it setup. It's usually f2, f8 or f10. When you know which one turnoff the computer and start it again. as soon as you start it start tapping that key and it'll enter the bios.
__________________
mcorton is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 08:00 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
OS: Vista



F2 key
I have done this but it does not say anywhere "fan Setup" or "power settings"
__________________
reeflodge is offline  
Old 03-17-2011, 09:10 AM   #18
Sr. Tech, TSF Team Emeritus Microsoft Support Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,097
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System


We are thinking that the temp sensor on your motherboard may be failing. You should try to reseat the sinkfan or reapply the thermal paste. Since I can't help you with this I'm going to suggest that you start a new thread at our Motherboard/CPU forum here, Motherboards, Bios & CPU - Tech Support Forum. Provide the information and you can link back to this post in your first post so they can see what we've tried. Good luck.

__________________
mcorton is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown Virus, need some help
Hello ladies and gents, Usually I do these fixes myself, but honestly I do not have the time anymore. Hopefully I can find some aid here. I run Windows Vista (*pukes*) on a Dell XPS laptop here, and am infected with some sort of virus that has downloaded what seems to be at least 10G, if not more...
Hireva Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 03-03-2011 03:26 AM
Graphic card fan is running full speed pc wont start...
palit 8800gt-sonic gigabyte p35-ds3r 4 gb ram ddr2 intel quad 9300 2.4 win7 460W CoolerMaster PSU i had an issue over few hours ego. I was playing a game and my screen turned up black. But somehow i heard sounds about the game while screen is black. After 10-15 second later when happened...
brox64 Video Card Support 1 03-01-2011 08:57 AM
xp bad image error
hey i am having a problem with a error that pops up every time i open a program. i have seen others with this problem and stumbled on a thread which told me to post my hijack this system scan in here so it can be reviewed. i have tried all forms of spyware, malware and anti virus but it isnt going...
miwles Resolved HJT Threads 1 03-01-2011 03:43 AM
Galaxy GTX 460 = Full System Fan Speed
Title says it all. Just bought a new Galaxy GTX 470 card. Everything installed correctly and works, but my system fans are at full speed the whole time (They never wound down at startup like they usually do). I would think it's the PSU, but it's a brand new Corsair 750W from newegg and way beyond...
deleted0612011 Video Card Support 5 01-04-2011 03:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts