Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Acer 5520-5912 backlight off, but CCFL and inverter good

This is a discussion on Acer 5520-5912 backlight off, but CCFL and inverter good within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have an Acer aspire 5520-5912 with NVIDIA nForce 630M video chipset, and AMD processor, The problem is three


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2012, 06:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
OS: xp sp3



Hello,

I have an Acer aspire 5520-5912 with NVIDIA nForce 630M video chipset, and AMD processor, The problem is three weeks before i was using it, the screen turned black, but i could see display is working (without backlight) very dim, and after several attempts like folding and unfolding several times, it luckily came again to live. Then the problem was there for 1-2 days, then i restarted it again and again, once it came up and so and so...I dont know how it came, May be random attempt.

Then after that for one week, the laptop worked well without any problem, and suddenly 2 days back, the screen backlight had gone after flickering 1-2 times , my lucky trick never worked. I gave it for service, They said inverter, CCFL is fine, the problem is with Video chip, But i dont agree with them, since i checked with external monitor, it was working like charm. if video chip had failed, I would not have got display in external monitor.

But since they say the CCFL and inverter is good, i wonder what might be the problem, It is much confusing..!!

__________________
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 06:12 AM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


You are right to want a second opinion.

Since you can see an image( dim) and it is fine when connected to the external then the graphics chip is most likely fine.

If you are not comfortable working on the laptop or trying to diagnose I suggest you try another shop.

Usually the most common cause of this is the inverter.

If not the inverter you can then look at the CCFL bulb.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
OS: xp sp3



@ makinu1der2

Thanks. Yes i too suspect same, of CCFL or inverter, Is there any possibility for an rupture in cable connecting between motherboard and LCD, due to folding and opening of laptop?. Just an guess from an acer service personnel, in case CCFL, inverter are fine.
__________________
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Normally when the cable is damaged it is usually around the hinge area.

You can closely inspect the cable for any damage.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 01:17 PM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,872
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



You may find this helpful How to replace LCD screen in Acer Aspire 5520 laptop >> Inside my laptop
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
OS: xp sp3



service personal is arguing that inverter and CCFL is fine, and i had tested and confirmed video chip is fine , by external monitor. Latest update is, they say that.

There is two output from video chip, one to external monitor port, other to inverter, so that must be problem, I am confused. But i doubt whether there will be dual output lines from video chip?
__________________
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:09 AM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,872
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi what about the the lid clip is there a physical one or magnetic if that where sticking it may cause a similar issue
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:40 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
OS: xp sp3



I have not found any physical clip, but i find two wires running on bezel on each side, without any reason, and ends in an simple film like steel, i think it is the thing which acts as an latch lock, but i am confused how it works. It would be helpful if you could send an link of any other magnetic latch switch, so that i can learn their principle.
__________________
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:43 AM   #9
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,872
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Check the link from my previous post
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:51 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
OS: xp sp3



yes, by seeing your above link, i have opened the LCD Thanks for the link. and is that the magnetic switch, which is in bezel with aluminium foil like with two wires running on each side? if yes, i will look into it now.
__________________
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:53 AM   #11
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,872
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



No I would think that was for the inverter or backlight however the link shows you all the parts and I think it may be nearer to the top front of the lcd under the bezel

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This is your TSF Good Morning Talk show with your host !!!!
Good Morning, afternoon and Midnight talk show.:wave: :grin: With your Host, Who ever is available !!! :laugh: This is the show where anything can happen and usually does, From talking about the neighbors dog to talking about the neighbor. From talking about the serious to talking about the...
Direct Current Offline 2354 11-21-2013 05:10 PM
Using an external monitor with an Acer Aspire One running xp
Hi, My darling children have smashed the screen on my netbook, so I need to use an external monitor. Previouly, with other laptops, I have just plugged it in and it's worked. But with this one with the external monitor plugged in it gets to the xp startup page and then switches back to the laptop...
hellyboo Laptop Support 3 03-11-2012 07:51 PM
[SOLVED] First google redirects, then svchost and no internet
Whether you can help me or not, first off I appreciate you taking the time to read this and try. I use my computer mainly for medical transcription so I use Google all day to verify things and often visit websites that I'm not that familiar with as a result. The other day I noticed that...
ChadderCheeze Resolved HJT Threads 5 03-11-2012 06:57 PM
ON OFF BUTTON
my son helped me build this computer 4 years ago and it worked fine then Ibought another computer and turned the coumputer that was built off. it has been off for two years. i recently tried to turn it back on it stayed on for "about" 10 seconds then shut down I tried three times but the same...
oman2 Building 2 03-10-2012 11:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts