Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server

SOHO Server 2008 VPN connection problems.

This is a discussion on SOHO Server 2008 VPN connection problems. within the Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have all the ports forwarded on my router to go to my "server" for the various VPN tunnels and

Closed Thread

Old 01-09-2012, 10:43 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have all the ports forwarded on my router to go to my "server" for the various VPN tunnels and I have Routing and Remote Access installed but I am not sure if I configured it right. No matter what I do I get an error 800. Im kinda new at this stuff so I am sure it something stupid and simple. I am using a DGN2200 router/modem and its firmware wizard is asking for a preshared key. I am not sure how to generate that or if I even need to mess with it.

Old 01-10-2012, 08:47 AM   #2
Management Team Networking

firmware wizard?

A preshared key concerns wireless encryption and is not related to a firmware update. You would never ever do a firmware update via wireless unless you like to turn the router into a boat anchor.

"various vpn tunnels" You configured the server as a vpn server? You only need to foward port 1723 to the static ip of your server for the vpn access. GRE can't be blocked by the router which is a ip protocol not a port.

Old 01-10-2012, 09:55 AM   #3
- Microsoft Support

Do keep one thing in mind when testing, do it from a computer not on your internal network.

From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
Old 01-10-2012, 10:44 AM   #4
Registered Member

Quote: