Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server

SOHO Server 2008 VPN connection problems.

This is a discussion on SOHO Server 2008 VPN connection problems. within the Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have all the ports forwarded on my router to go to my "server" for the various VPN tunnels and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2012, 10:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Server 2008



I have all the ports forwarded on my router to go to my "server" for the various VPN tunnels and I have Routing and Remote Access installed but I am not sure if I configured it right. No matter what I do I get an error 800. Im kinda new at this stuff so I am sure it something stupid and simple. I am using a DGN2200 router/modem and its firmware wizard is asking for a preshared key. I am not sure how to generate that or if I even need to mess with it.

__________________
w4gn0r is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 08:47 AM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,111
OS: Vista/Win7



firmware wizard?

A preshared key concerns wireless encryption and is not related to a firmware update. You would never ever do a firmware update via wireless unless you like to turn the router into a boat anchor.

"various vpn tunnels" You configured the server as a vpn server? You only need to foward port 1723 to the static ip of your server for the vpn access. GRE can't be blocked by the router which is a ip protocol not a port.

Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 09:55 AM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,685
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



Do keep one thing in mind when testing, do it from a computer not on your internal network.
__________________


From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 10:44 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Server 2008



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
firmware wizard?

A preshared key concerns wireless encryption and is not related to a firmware update. You would never ever do a firmware update via wireless unless you like to turn the router into a boat anchor.

"various vpn tunnels" You configured the server as a vpn server? You only need to foward port 1723 to the static ip of your server for the vpn access. GRE can't be blocked by the router which is a ip protocol not a port.

What I mean is on the router's firmware there is a vpn wizard. I am not referring to firmware updates. So in your opinion, you do not think the problem is with my router?
__________________
w4gn0r is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:43 PM   #5
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,111
OS: Vista/Win7



you write "ports". did you mean port?

error 800 indicates you were not able to make a vpn connection

if you hook a laptop to the routers lan can you establish a vpn connection to the server? if not the server is not configured correctly

did you set a static ip on the server? Is it what is listed for the port forward in the router?
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:38 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Server 2008



My server is statically located at 192.168.0.4 and I am able to ping it sucessfully. I am telling the VPN client to connect to my outbound IP address since I dont have a registered DNS name for it. I am beginning to think that its a problem with Protocol 47 pass through, maybe my router doesnt allow it since I see no option for it currently. Is there a way to DMZ 192.168.04 and then test it?
__________________
w4gn0r is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 08:25 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Server 2008



I also failed to mention that I am trying to access the server via VPN from within my router's lan. Its actually a from desktop connected ethernet to the same router.
__________________
w4gn0r is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 08:30 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,685
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



One question that comes to mind is the comment about the router having a VPN Wizard? Does the router itself function as a VPN Host and is that what the "wizard" does? Or is it a way to configure the router to allow for VPN Traffic to be forwarded to the corrrect VPN Host/Server?
__________________


From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 09:04 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Server 2008



Well it supposedly is letting me forward 1723 to 192.168.0.4. As far as the server side, all I have to do is add the role of Routing and Remote Access through the Wizard right?
__________________
w4gn0r is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 09:27 PM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,685
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



And make sure that the setting are correct for you environment, but basically yes. Make sure the server isn't running a firewall.
__________________


From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 09:52 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Server 2008



I have just tried DMZing the server too... no luck. Maybe it is something with the server configuration. I basically went through and clicked 'next' with the Network Policy and Access role wizard except selecting custom and indicating VPN connection.
__________________
w4gn0r is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 06:36 PM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,685
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



Are you trying to do this from inside the network? See if you can successfully connect from a computer outside the network, connecting to your public IP.

__________________


From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Screen of Death
i get the Blue Screen of Death anytime i watch a video on intenet with hardware acceleration on and i got it after i did a update my pc not the best but i never have had a issue with it till a resent reinstall i atched the dump files incase they would help someone help me
skys_hubby Windows XP Support 4 12-18-2011 04:04 PM
Blue screen VERY often
My computer recently has been getting blue screen very often. It runs a bit slow too. Although I tried to clean it up and it helped but still slow...and also there is problem with sound on my computer which is sometimes flickering...like when the windows opens up the sound of windows opening is...
parisah Windows XP Support 7 08-16-2011 10:46 AM
[Screenshot] BSOD and some info[Help]
just randomly started getting the BSOD i boot back up and everything fine i got this screen shot when i booted back up so ill post it here, I also got info from the BSOD. http://i53.tinypic.com/k3luzb.png Here is the info i got from BSOD thanks *** STOP 0x0000008E (0xc0000005, 0xBF83FD82,...
Scaper Windows XP Support 7 04-26-2011 10:14 AM
Help! BSOD in Vista!
My PC having random BSOD, it can be happened at any time. Every time when I off my pc, my computer goes into bluescreen... with error "PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)" I really have no idea what is the cause of the BSOD.. Geeks, highly appreciate if anyone of you can help me analyze the dump...
AngelinaT BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 02-25-2011 01:01 AM
How to revert back to Internet Explorer 7 - Complex Problem
Hi I need to revert back to Internet Explorer 7 due to a possible issue between Explorer 8 and my version of a music program called Pro Tools. In the pro tools forums, this advice is often given to resolve blue screen errors at start up which is what suddenly started happening. I'm gutted - a...
LilyUK Windows XP Support 7 02-20-2011 08:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts