Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server

MSE for Windows server

This is a discussion on MSE for Windows server within the Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hai Hope someone could assist. I already have installed Kaspersky License copy on my Win Server.2008.. For checking on adware/spyware,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2011, 12:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 38
OS: winXP service pack 3


Question

Hai

Hope someone could assist.
I already have installed Kaspersky License copy on my Win Server.2008..

For checking on adware/spyware, would installing MSE.2 help?
Is this supported on WIN.SVR 2008?

Please advice
thank you and have a nice day
.d

__________________
sramm is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 06:31 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Dave Atkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 763
OS: Windows XP - Windows 7 - Windows Server 2003 / 2008 - Windows SBS 2003 / 2008 / 2011



Hello,

You say that Kaspersky is already installed on the Server? Is the licence due to expire or something? It isnt wise to put two Anti-Virus programs onto the same PC/Server because they can conflict.

Dave

__________________
Knowledge is our most powerful weapon.


Dave Atkin is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 08:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 38
OS: winXP service pack 3


Question

Hai

thanks for the reply. Yes, i am aware of that. But i suspect there could be some adware or malware on the Server as when i use 'Internet Traffic Agent' software i see there are some many rows of traffic in /out to different ip all around the world.

I was actually hoping to install a software like AD-Ware to check and scan for malware/adware..? But most of those need to buy.

Not sure if Kaspersky is enough for this job?

pls advice.
Thank you and have a nice day
.
__________________
sramm is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 08:36 AM   #4
CEM
TSF Enthusiast
 
CEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Florida / USA
Posts: 660
OS: win7 Professional x64


Send a message via MSN to CEM Send a message via Skype™ to CEM

Kaspersky IS or AV ( Internet Security or Anti-Virus) perfect.If you check setting on kaspersky uncheck proxy server and uncheck IE ports from monitoring. Now best software if you researsch on the setting it will tell you what to do.
__________________
Trust God and walk in His WAY
CEM is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 06:16 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 38
OS: winXP service pack 3


Question

Hai

Thanks for the reply.
But bit unclear...
Questions:
a) how does unchecking those 2 ports solve my problem on whether knowing there is Adware/Malware present?

b) does this mean by doing the above , i would simply see less traffic ?

In the mean time, as per your advice i will do some research.

pls advice
thank you and have a nice day

__________________
sramm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts