Clock Sync issues

This is a discussion on Clock Sync issues within the Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Time Provider NtpClient: This machine is configured to use the domain hierarchy to determine its time source, but it is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2007, 09:33 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



Quote:
Time Provider NtpClient: This machine is configured to use the domain hierarchy to determine its time source, but it is the PDC emulator for the domain at the root of the forest, so there is no machine above it in the domain hierarchy to use as a time source. It is recommended that you either configure a reliable time service in the root domain, or manually configure the PDC to synchronize with an external time source. Otherwise, this machine will function as the authoritative time source in the domain hierarchy. If an external time source is not configured or used for this computer, you may choose to disable the NtpClient.
How can I correct this, I am lost.

This is from the PDC (only DC in the domain) it needs to be configured as a reliable time source and set up to sync with an external NTP.

*I did notice in the registry the NTP client is enabled, does that need to be disabled for the time sync to work?

When I set up the computer to sync with an external time source and run the "w32tm /resync" command it returns "no time data available"


ANY IDEAS!! My clocks are out of wack!!!

__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 05:46 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System


The way I usually set the DC time source is through the cmd prompt.

C:\>net time /setsntp:time.windows.com

then you have to stop the time service

C:\>net stop w32time

then you have to start it back up

C:\>net start w32time

I have noticed that the time.windows.com site is not always reliable and started to use a different time server.
time.nist.gov

__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 06:14 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



The NTP Server has been set as <69.222.103.98>. I have followed your directions or ones similar to it. Here is a list of NTP servers however most of them are not responding to ping commands.

http://tf.nist.gov/timefreq/service/time-servers.html

Which NTP should I use?

This is the only DC in the domain, how can i initiate a time sync from the command line using the given NTP?
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 06:25 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



The PDC needs to be declared an authoritative time source, which I am almost certain has already happened (all domain clients are syncing with the PDC).

So really the only thing I need to accomplish is to get the PDC syncing with an external time source.

As stated before I have followed you steps and the NTP was set, however even though the service is stopped and restarted, the clock on the PDC is not accurate (not syncing with NTP). I need to verify the accuracy of NTP <69.222.103.98>.

What is the command for initiating the sync with the given NTP?

Thanks.
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 06:27 AM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System


Normally it is

C:\>net time /setsntp:(time server)

I'm going to check this right now and get back to you.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:00 AM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System


I got mine to change time servers but it's not getting the info for the site.
I'm digging into this a little more.
Maybe it's the stupid DST change that screwed this all up.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:03 AM   #7
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System


I changed my time server to time-a.timefreq.bldrdoc.gov and it seems to be working correctly now.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:07 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



C:\>net time /setsntp:time-a.timefreq.bldrdoc.gov

Does the NTP need the suffix x0x on it when doing it from the command line?

then start and stop services?

The clock should now be in sync?
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:12 AM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System


just like you typed it here.

Should work fine.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 12:26 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



Joe,

Followed the steps, even putting the 0x1 at the end of the NTP server string (regedit).

Still the PDC clock remains out of sync. I did read the it can take up to an hour to fully sync, however that can be avoided by typing w32tm /resync when I run that it returns "No Time Data Was Available".
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 12:30 PM   #11
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System


What does it show in the system event logs?
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 12:40 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



It shows nothing as a result of the sync failure, I see about every couple of hours the same message as seen earlier in this thread.

I am following the steps here right now.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929276

Let me know if you think of anything.

Thanks.
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 01:39 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



This must either have something to do with a firewall or DST 2007.

What are the ports for NTP?
I don't run a local firewall, but Symantec AV server is running.

How should I open them if they were to be blocked?
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 02:15 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



This is a Group Policy issue...still waiting to configure policies correctly...looks promising.
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 02:29 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



The following is a GPRESULT on the DC with the error. Do these settings look correct?

FrequencyCorrectRate 4
HoldPeriod 5
LargePhaseOffset 1280000
MaxAllowedPhaseOffset 300
MaxNegPhaseCorrection 54000
MaxPosPhaseCorrection 54000
PhaseCorrectRate 1
PollAdjustFactor 5
SpikeWatchPeriod 90
UpdateInterval 30000
General Parameters
AnnounceFlags 10
EventLogFlags 2
LocalClockDispersion 10
MaxPollInterval 15
MinPollInterval 10
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 06:50 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



All:

This issue was resolved by configuring the group policy. The Default Domain Policy had been configured to NTP Client type "NTP" rather than "NT5DS" which was restricting every computer on the domain, inluding the server from from accessing "out of domain" time servers.

Here is a good link describing the policies.

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro.../26_s3wts.mspx

Thanks.
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 04:17 AM   #17
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System


Glad you got if figured out. And good info too.
Sorry I faded off after 3PM CST. I had just gotten off work.

__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with HijackThis Log
To whom it may concern: Thank you for your assistance and your forum. I have been unable to delete some F2 entries on my HijackThis log. They were not there befor and I just need some assistance with getting it off. Thank you. Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2 Scan saved at 12:32:41 PM, on...
Ummannuseeyah Resolved HJT Threads 19 02-05-2007 02:12 PM
Trojan Progdav
Well, someplace along the way I got nailed by this p.o.s. And, as most have noted, have not been able to clean it thru any conventional/unconventional method. Spy Sweeper won't touch it. Niether Zone Alarm spy scan or firewall do not see it at all. And, of course, MS's mighty Windows Defender...
hobbesotr Resolved HJT Threads 25 01-28-2007 03:39 PM
Is my modem dying? Connection Issues
Hello! I have a Motorola Surfboard modem and lately I have been having some bad connection issues. My connection will randomly cut out. All of the lights on my cable modem will stay on. After resetting the modem after losing the connection it will sometimes get stuck on the send step and...
BMR777 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 10-09-2006 06:37 PM
My modem is restarting itself. A lot.
The topic basically tells you what my problem is, but my modem is restarting itself constantly, and for no apparent reason. At night I can't even keep my internet connection for more than 30 seconds before my modem restarts itself again. The odd part is this rarely happens during the day (My...
Kaoin Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 09-22-2006 07:07 PM
CPU Clock Issues..
Hello. I've recently been toying around with CPU Clock speed because my computer wasnt running as fast as I wanted it too. The issue I have here is that I have been getting crashes on a random basis each day, but when I underclock my CPU the crashes stop.. The thing is that.. I really don't wanna...
Errorsftl. Motherboards, Bios & CPU 21 08-14-2006 04:53 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts