block websites

This is a discussion on block websites within the Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i am using win7 and xp in my network and have 12 computers in my network, server i am using


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2011, 05:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
OS: win7



i am using win7 and xp in my network and have 12 computers in my network, server i am using is win server 2008.
I want to block few sites like youtube etc......what should i do.....

__________________
kami_9001 is offline  
Old 12-28-2011, 09:27 AM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,444
OS: Vista/Win7



Put the web sites into the domain restrictions on your internet router.

__________________
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 02-03-2012, 07:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 94
OS: Win7, XP, 2003, 2008



You need to give some basic information how does user connect to internet, the filer can be implemented by different method.
__________________
hoyin007 is offline  
Old 02-04-2012, 02:44 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
buzza24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 146
OS: Windows 8 & Mac OS X


Send a message via MSN to buzza24 Send a message via Skype™ to buzza24

The way I have done it at some of my client is I have used OpenDNS to block various unwanted websites. For those who don't have a proxy server or otherwise firewall, OpenDNS is great. And best, it's Free.

Otherwise you could look at implementing a Untangle router into the network to filter and block internet traffic.
__________________
buzza24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block facebook & few websites from netgear wireless router
Hi, All of my clients are accessing internet through Netgear wireless router. From the router's "Block Sites" option, I've inserted all of the IP address of facebook & this was working fine. I mean no clients can access Welcome to Facebook - Log In, Sign Up or Learn More from my network (attach...
akaki Networking Support 9 10-09-2011 07:40 AM
Microsoft, Vodafone and the Telegraph websites taken down in DNS hack
A Turkish hacking group managed to tamper with Internet addressing records over the weekend, redirecting dozens of websites belonging to companies including Microsoft, UPS and Vodafone to a different web pages controlled by the hackers. According to Zone-H, a website that tracks defacements, 186...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 09-05-2011 12:34 PM
A few Questions
Hey guys I have a few more questions, I have been slowly working on my site and looking for stuff to do it like the software to set up a social site kinda like fb or myspace. well any ways I also wanted to set up a message board for the site for people to get help or talk about stuff, for now it...
Dblanchard1278 Web Design & Development 27 07-25-2011 01:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts