Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

xp pro says unable to load pro_seg1.swf

This is a discussion on xp pro says unable to load pro_seg1.swf within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. an trying to load xp pro onto a dell gx270 sff with a 2GHz Celeron cpu, 512 meg memory, tried


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2009, 07:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp pro sp2



an trying to load xp pro onto a dell gx270 sff with a 2GHz Celeron cpu, 512 meg memory, tried two different size hds, (size is not important in this case). changed out the cd roms x2, checked the cpu, cleaned the thermal paste and applied correct ampunt, changed out the cpu cooling fan. Each time I try to load xp, get to ~51% and get the message unable to load pro_seg1.swf. I have done a fresh install on 100s of other machines, but this is the first time I have seen this error message. Can anyone shed light on the problem?
Thanks-SM

__________________
stanmart is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 08:22 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
TheEvilPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 19
OS: WinXp Sp3



I would just say try again. and if all else fails order a new cd and say that one is faulty

__________________
TheEvilPenguin is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 08:50 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



The CD is more than likely scratched.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 08:51 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
BCCOMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,286
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi,
I would also test the Ram using Memtest86+ a link is under my signature.
Many issues with files not loading are related to Ram during install.

It would not hurt to check the Harddrive for issues running the Diagnostic software from the manufacture of the drive:
http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287#maxtor

As TheEvilPenguin pointed out it could be a dirty/scratched/faulty XP CD.
Bill
__________________
BCCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts