Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Winlogon.exe unable to locate component- help please?

This is a discussion on Winlogon.exe unable to locate component- help please? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Folks, I have a Dell laptop, service pack 3. It is about five years old but it has been

Closed Thread

Old 09-03-2009, 05:08 PM   #1
Registered Member

Mistake

Hi Folks, I have a Dell laptop, service pack 3. It is about five years old but it has been running smoothly, never had a virus or any other problem with it. I just use email and some surfing, itunes and photos, very light use. A few days ago when I tried to shut down I got a message that said something about unable to locate component "msoxlgbdru.dll and it would not shut down. I was falling alseep, so I just pushed the button to turn it off, which I have never done before. The next day when I tried to turn it on a screen came up that said "We are sorry for the inconvenience, windows did not start successfully" and then it said to start in safe mode and restore to last known good configuration. I selected safe mode, and a screen came up with a box that says "This application has failed to start because msoxlgbdru.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem. It says winlogon.exe at the top. Then it just sits there and never starts in safe mode.

What can I do?

Also, I know how to do regular maintenance, disc defragmentation and virus and spyware scans, but I don't understand all of the scary lingo so if you have any advice, please talk to me like I am five LOL.

I *really* appreciate any advice! Thanks!

Old 09-03-2009, 05:14 PM   #2
Registered Member

I should add that I also just tried starting in safe mode using the F8 key, and when I choose "Last Good Configuration" I get the message about the msox thing again and it says reinstalling it may fix the problem.

Old 09-03-2009, 05:38 PM   #3