Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Windows XP Cannot Shutdown, Restart and Log Off

This is a discussion on Windows XP Cannot Shutdown, Restart and Log Off within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi i have a dell laptop which is latitude d630 i was always up 2 or 3 in the morning


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2009, 10:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



Hi i have a dell laptop which is latitude d630 i was always up 2 or 3 in the morning working for a few days and the first night my computer suddenly doesnt shut down, restart and log off i also have a way to turn off my computer which is put it in stand by and turn it off in the log on screen but i dont want to do that anymore if you help me fix this ill pray and to you.

Thank You

__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 01:30 AM   #2
Part Time Repair Tech
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 1,267
OS: XP, Vista, 7, Ubuntu



RUN > Eventvwr > look for red errors around the time of when you tried to shut down.

Run a virus scan

Any applications running in the background when you try to shut down? Ctrl + Alt + Delete

__________________
Blade_Jones is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 04:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



1. I looked at it the event viewer its "Userenv" with a yellow excalmation mark.

2. I scanned the computer with AVG 8.5 and MalwareBytes.

3. I also checked that the AVG closes, wireless connecter and everything else but it doesn't do anything.

I also have found out that pressing CTRL+plus mouse click on shut down well i dont want to do that.
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 05:15 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



The most likely cause is a problem with the APM/NT Legacy Power Node. As the name implies, this is used for legacy systems. Here are a couple of ways to enable it. Try them in order. You may have to reboot before it will work.

1) right-click on the My Computer icon, click Properties | Hardware | Device Manager | View. Check the box labeled “Show Hidden Devices.” If it’s available on your computer, there will be a red X on the APM/NT Legacy Node. Try enabling it and see if this resolves the powerdown problem.

2) open the Power Options applet in Control Panel. If there is an APM tab, make sure the “Enable Advanced Power Management Support” box is checked.
__________________
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 09:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



Thanks spike but none of those stuff are there.
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 08:42 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



BUMP please
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 08:45 PM   #7
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support Team
 
james137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: new zealand, auckland
Posts: 827
OS: win 7 SP1,win xp x64 ,ubuntu 11.10. virutalbox - win xp sp2 x32, win 7 32, vista 32, ubuntu 10&11...

My System


ok best thing to do is either reinstall windows xp is the best but slow solution

2nd is make sure all the drivers are installed and reinstall your video driver if needed
__________________
james137 is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 03:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



I want to do something more easier...
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 03:33 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 448
OS: WinXP



Go back to Event Viewer. Closely look at the sequence immediately after you initiate shut-down. Post the full text of whatever messages appear that may be useful.
__________________
Johnny Tremaine is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:45 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



Windows saved user HOME-38A10D2B39\Mr. Shin registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user's registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use.

This is often caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account.

This is a warning for userenv
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:46 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



I also got this Userenv from 3/21/2009...
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 08:26 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 448
OS: WinXP



If this is the only error, I doubt it is the cause.

Is this the only error.

When quoting error messages, they should be wrapped in quotes for clarity. Point of Forum ettiquette.

The error (as I understand it, could be wrong) is that an application is not shutting down normally as it should when XP tells it to, so XP is forcing it to shut down; hence the message.

You might find out which one it is by using msconfig and prevent everything from starting and see if the error goes away.

There ought to be more than a warning like this.

Are there any more error messages in Event Viewer ?
__________________
Johnny Tremaine is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 06:04 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



thats about it and it still doesnt work
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:33 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



BUMP plz
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 11:12 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 448
OS: WinXP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Tremaine View Post
When quoting error messages, they should be wrapped in quotes for clarity. Point of Forum ettiquette.
You are being ignored I think for not putting much effort into solving your own problem.

Do you want less-helpful responses from people that don't know enough to help you, or do you want to invest some significant energy into fixing your own problem ?
__________________
Johnny Tremaine is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 07:56 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



i dont know but i want to fixed this oh yeah should i do a reinstall of xp not wipe it out???
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:36 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



Bump plz
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:47 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 582
OS: XP Pro x64



what version of XP? pro, home or mce?
__________________
atavist is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:02 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
darkkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 28
OS: Win XP



pro....
__________________
darkkiller is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:34 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 582
OS: XP Pro x64



start > run > type in cmd and hit enter

run this command:

Code:
tasklist
and post the results here.

__________________
atavist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts