Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

"Windows was unable to complete the disk check" Stuck on Phase 2

This is a discussion on "Windows was unable to complete the disk check" Stuck on Phase 2 within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I reformatted my computer about 4 weeks ago. Every week I've been doing routine maintenance. Ad/spy/virus check, follow by cleaning


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2008, 04:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



I reformatted my computer about 4 weeks ago. Every week I've been doing routine maintenance. Ad/spy/virus check, follow by cleaning of Internet temp files, cookies etc etc.


After that I would do a scan disk and the last 4 weeks has been ok, it completed to phase 3.

Now for some reason it doesn't complete phase 2.

Anyway ideas?

Windows XP, Service pack 3 installed.

__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 04:53 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



Hmmmm? I just cleared the cache, cookies, etc on firefox which is the default browser I use. Clicked scan disk and it completed pass phase 3.

What the is the relationship between clearing cache, cookies etc that makes scan disk work?. Because it seems I have to clear all those date before scan disk can be completed. Why?

I would have thought clearing cookies, history temporary files via control panel > Internet options > general clears all the data but it seems I have to clear it through firefox too? Why?

What the is the relationship between clearing cache, cookies etc that makes scan disk work?

Another thing. As I managed to complete scan disk. I decided to re check it just incase, at this point I was surfing the net reading some emails, etc and scan disk did not complete.

WHY???

__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 05:14 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Riskyone101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 4,410
OS: XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 sp3, Vista Ultimate SP2, Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


I think you need to be running scandisk offline

and while surfing yes it probably wont beable to finish

the scan. There is no relationship between cookies temp files,

concerning scandisk. Scandisk checks sectors and errors on harddrive.

internet options under control panel is for Internet explorer

Firefox is a separate browser and yes it will require you to clear cookies,

temp files and ect...... here to. Just alittle advice here to save you a little

time, Firefox has settings built in to it so you can have all those files cleared

automatically everytime firefox closes.

to get tto those settings, click on tools tab up at top of browser and click

on private data.
__________________
Riskyone101 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 05:28 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



So why is it I have to clear my cookies, cache, temp files before scandisk is anble to complete?

When I don't clear them its stuck on phase 2?
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 06:23 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



*before scandisk is ABLE to complete
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 06:46 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



Is there any error messages that say anything about the disk being Dirty?
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 06:54 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



No it just says "Windows was unable to complete the disk check"
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 08:26 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



I'm still getting this. Any idea?
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 08:46 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



Hmmm not it works for somereason, after clearing data on Firefox it now completes upto phase 3?
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 08:52 AM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



scandisk is widows 98
run
chkdsk /r
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:09 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Riskyone101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 4,410
OS: XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 sp3, Vista Ultimate SP2, Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Go to cmd prompt (start, all programs, accessories)

Type: chkdsk
__________________
Riskyone101 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:11 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



What happens when I type in CHKDISK?

Whats the reason it sometimes completes scan disk and sometimes doesn't?
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:14 AM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



chkdsk is a waste of time run
in the run box type
chkdsk /r
press enter
reboot the computer
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:22 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



Well I've done scandisk


Why is it able to complete phase 3 one min and not the other?
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:33 AM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



run
chkdsk /r
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 11:23 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



OK I have ran Chkdsk /r. Completed all 5 stages. Although I missed it completing stage 5. I saw it at 92% then suddenly computer restarted. But the rest of the stages had no error reports.

What now???
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:53 PM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



that's normal it's finished checking and repairing the file system
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 04:15 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



So what was all that error stuff that came out during chkdsk?

I rescanned BTW and it completed to phase 3 but I bet you next week when I come to do my weekly maintenance it will mess up again.
__________________
jaaay is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 04:35 PM   #19
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



when you run chkdsk it just checks the file system
you have to use a switch for it to effect repairs to what it finds
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro....mspx?mfr=true
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 07:54 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
OS: WinXP



So if I encounter that problem again, CHKDSK/ R could sort it out?

Was it just bad sectors? Nothing to worry about right?

__________________
jaaay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts