Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Windows updates repeatedly install

This is a discussion on Windows updates repeatedly install within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I received the following updates: KB2497640 KB2507618 KB2509553 These update keep installing (appears successful) with no reported errors. Upon restart,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2011, 09:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
crazydiamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
OS: xp



I received the following updates:

KB2497640
KB2507618
KB2509553

These update keep installing (appears successful) with no reported errors. Upon restart, the same three updates are listed to install.

Please help me resolve this.

Thanks!

__________________
crazydiamond is offline  
Old 04-24-2011, 05:32 AM   #2
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,482
OS: Windows 8.1



Click Start => Run => type in Notepad, press Ok.

Please copy everything from the quote below into Notepad

Quote:
@echo off
echo. Please wait
sc stop wuauserv
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\atl.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\wucltui.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\msxml3.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\softpub.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\wuapi.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\jscript.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\wuaueng.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\wups.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\wups2.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\wuweb.dll
regsvr32 /s %windir%\system32\wuaueng1.dll
sc start wuauserv
Save it as Fix.bat, Set 'Save as type' All Files


Save to to your desktop. It should now look like this :

Double click on Fix.bat, and let it run.

__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 04-25-2011, 11:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
crazydiamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
OS: xp



That got rid of the icon in the tray. But when I restart the computer it reappears and also reappears after a few minutes of running the .bat with the same three update to be installed. I also have what might be a companion issue with MSE.

Attached is a screen shot of the error code.

MSE help gave me the following:

error code:0x80070424 when starting Essential after installtion. - Microsoft Answers

I then went to:

Error message when you use Windows Update or Microsoft Update Web sites to install updates: 0x80070424

Did Methods 1, 2, and 3.

NO change
Attached Images
 
__________________
crazydiamond is offline  
Old 04-27-2011, 11:27 PM   #4
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,482
OS: Windows 8.1



Does MSE load up at all? if nto please do the following?

Do you have any other security programs installed?

Download a new version of MSE from => Disconnect from the internet => Uninstall your current version of MSE => Install the new version that was just downloaded.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 04-28-2011, 08:16 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
crazydiamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
OS: xp



I got MSE to work and it found the virus attached (picture only). Please leave this thread open as I am still working through things.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	virtool_WinNT_Xooba.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	91018  
__________________
crazydiamond is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 01:55 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,619
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You may want to post over at Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help for more help.


NEW INSTRUCTIONS - Read This Before Posting For Malware Removal Help

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 09:01 AM
Malware Redirects When I Click On Any Links
Here is my DDS log and my ark log (gmer). Unfortunatley i cannot make it a zip file like the tutorial had told me because all of my programs have disappeared I just got this malware/trojan/worm virus that makes my applications disappear, constantly re-direct my browser when i click on any link,...
alek1230 Resolved HJT Threads 9 04-19-2011 03:47 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 04:48 PM
I cannot download files like QuiikTime, iTunes, Norton, etc
UNLESS SPECIFICALLY INSTRUCTED, DO NOT POST THIS LOG. IF REQUESTED, ZIP IT UP & ATTACH IT DDS (Ver_10-12-12.02) Microsoft Windows XP Professional Boot Device: \Device\HarddiskVolume2 Install Date: 12/24/2010 5:34:32 PM System Uptime: 1/25/2011 10:07:58 AM (1 hours ago) Motherboard: Intel...
kagyen Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 02-01-2011 12:19 PM
Virus redirecting all of my pages.
My computer is completely screwed! First no sound now this! Almost every time I try to do something on the internet my page is getting redirected to something else! I always have to rush to click the X button to stop the page from loading. But I want a permanent fix! Please help.
TheresMoreToMe Resolved HJT Threads 26 01-26-2011 05:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts