Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Windows Movie Maker won't save movie...

This is a discussion on Windows Movie Maker won't save movie... within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have tried downloading converters and codecs and movie maker will add the file to the timeline. The problem is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2012, 02:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp



I have tried downloading converters and codecs and movie maker will add the file to the timeline. The problem is when i try to save it. It will go through the first the steps of the saving process until it actually starts to save the file. a message pops up saying, " windows media file cannotsave the movie to the specified location. verify that the original source files used in your movie are still available, that the saving location is still available, and that there is enough free disk space available, and then try again." I MEAN, WHAT THE HECK! I have plenty of room on my hard drive and even when i try to use a usb it still says that when i have nthing on the usb! i swear i want to strangle this program... I upload my videos on my mom's computer that has windows 7 and windows LIVE movie maker and it saves fine, but i don't understand why windows movie maker on xp has to be so darn complicated! please respond A.S.A.P please(: THANK YOU SO MUCH!

__________________
desyoyo is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 03:58 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


try this: Windows Movie Maker cannot publish the movie to the specified location - Microsoft Answers

spunk.funk is online now  
Old 01-01-2012, 04:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp



that didn't really help me at all...any suggestions from you?
__________________
desyoyo is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 12:55 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Make sure you are logged in as an administrator and not a limited user. Make sure the location you are saving the file to has plenty of space (twice the size needed for your movie) and the file path is not too long (ex) C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\My Videos\Long file Name\The name of my movie. May be too long of a file path, choose to save it to the Root of the C: Drive.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 01-25-2012, 07:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
OS: win7



The same problem drove me nuts for a while and none of the suggested solutions made any difference.

Temporary solution which actually works was to use a free video converter to change the source files from .avi to .wmv format. (This obviously meant starting the project from scratch with the newly converted files).

My permanent solution will be to ditch Movie Maker and buy decent video editing software!
__________________
Eileene is offline  
Old 06-13-2012, 10:53 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
OS: win xp



I'm having a similar issue with Movie Maker. Since the movie I want to make will be extremely complicated, I've split the overlaying song into small segments and will join all of the movie segments with the final song at the very end when I'm about to finish the movie. I have successfully completed and saved a credits section without incident (only about 7 seconds). When I try to save the first segment (which is eight .wmv video clips), I get the generic "Windows...cannot save the movie to the specified location." message. Yes, I have verified that all of my files have not been renamed or changed location. Yes, the saving location is still available. Space required: 1.03 MB; Space Available: 10.08 GB; yes, there is sufficient room on disk. PF Usage holding slightly under 400MB.
I have a really old IBM Thinkpad T-23 with a Pentium III processor running Windows XP with Movie Maker version 2.1.4028.0. I maxed out the RAM at 1GB. I regularly clean and defrag, so no junk should be getting in the way of me saving. Before upgrading the RAM, Movie Maker hardly functioned (so much better now).
Next on my list of things to try to resolve this problem: codices. I'm really confused about how to use ffdshow. Should I have the program opened for the codices to work...? How will this fix an issue in Windows Movie Maker? Am I even on the right track here? Thanks in advance for any further assistance you can provide.

__________________
Kajin8049 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
virus has taken over
Ok, last week I got a virus that disabled my internet and most programs. I was able to get to mbam in safe mode and change the extension to get it to run. That gave me control of the machine again, but there are lingering issues. The machine runs slower. I have the google re-direct virus. The...
Mundy84 Resolved HJT Threads 25 07-01-2011 07:12 PM
Lets try this one more time
Hello, Randomly after I start my computer (I'm probably connected to the internet too) windows shoots up "Generic Host for Win32 processes has encountered an error and needs to close". After that I receive svchost.exe - Application Errors (The instruction at "0x001a6f64" referenced memory at...
TheCommonUser Inactive Malware Help Topics 21 06-12-2011 10:10 AM
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 08:01 AM
pc blocked
i installed a program ,winmate,and after that my problems started,if i try to open any application ,i get an error, and if i try to run my browser it crashes,so I can only use it in safe mode.I did a scan with antivir and i found an hidden object and 36 warning,now i get a clean report scan ,but my...
ladymushroom Resolved HJT Threads 25 05-10-2011 10:14 PM
Fake Windows Security Program has infected my computer! Please help me remove it!
i was simply browsing the web, and when I hit a link this Windows Security scanner program popped up with several different pop ups and tried telling me my computer was infected with all these particular files. I didn't subscribe to it or anything I just clicked out of it. Now, my computer...
flip25 Inactive Malware Help Topics 4 04-12-2011 11:23 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts